We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of six friends, we recently stayed at Clontarf Castle which was recommended by a friend in Dublin. The accommodation was super, staff extremely friendly and helpful and we were very happy all around. It was also conveniently located near the Dublin port from where we took the ferry across to Holyhead. We enjoyed being away from busy Dublin city but Clontarf castle was a short taxi ride from the city. There is also a hotel shuttle into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chespax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us based on a recommendation you heard. I was really happy to read your comments, particularly that you found the staff to be so good. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,447
    771
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
783
1,755
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a realy nice hotel and very good option if you want a nice play to stay in Dublin without paying $$$ for city centre hotels. The staff was very friendly and always helpful (shout out to Monika for being extra helpful on our first day when our luggage was still lost!)
Yes the hotel is a little out of the way but we knew that going in. You can take the bus (bus stop very close by and 2.80 euro each way) or a taxi (~12 Euro each way). If you are planning on taking the Hop on Hop off tour (the red one only!), they have a shuttle every day at 9 am which was very convenient.
They have a US power outlet in the room which was very useful since I always have problems with converters.
Since there are no places to eat close to the hotel we used their restaurants a couple of times and were pleasantly surprised. Food and drinks were always good and not too expensive for a hotel. Overall we had a great experience and would go back for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really happy to read that you liked the castle and that you found the staff to be so helpful. I'm also glad that you enjoyed the food in Fahrenheit Grill, the restaurant here at the castle. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were not pleased with our visit to Clontarf Castle. It was our last stop on an 8-day visit of Ireland, and our 5th hotel. We stayed at only 4 or 5 star hotels throughout our visit (all more expensive and more luxurious than Clontarf) and felt only the most gracious and welcoming spirits at them all until Clontarf. It was ostentatious to the point of being uncomfortable without the merit of luxury to support it. We arrived in casual clothes after a 5 hour drive, and when we tried to check in at the front desk – literally had to dodge a beautiful bride and her attendants descending the main staircase as they entered the banquet room through the middle of the lobby for the marriage ceremony. The hotel couldn’t have separated it in a way to avoid that? I’m sure the bride didn’t envision that entrance either. They did not help us with our luggage (which was significant at this point as we needed to organize 8 days of purchases and everything from the car before an early morning flight). Our room was the smallest of all our accommodations all week – and the beds were on non-locking wheels so the slightest lean against them sent them rolling into the other bed (less that 10 inches away anyway). One major reason for booking the hotel was the promise of modern and free wi-fi. In fairness, we found reasonable internet throughout Irelend, but on this last night we needed it especially for downloading media before a long international flight and checking into flights, etc. Our room did not get wi-fi at all, and when I called down to ask about it, the snooty receptionist told me we were in the “thick” part of the hotel and internet didn’t reach there. She said she could not give us another room and suggested we sit in the lobby for our internet needs. It also had the least number of electric plugs of any place we stayed because the lamps and other appliances were plugging into what appeared to be proprietary, non standard outlets so neither an Irish, English, or American plug would fit – leaving only the computer desk outlets for guest use. We had dinner in the bar which I will say was good food and good service, and a nice 2-man music group - so that was the best part of the visit. In short – we paid more than we should have for our smallest hotel with minimal service and amenities.

Room Tip: If you need internet - request a room that has it before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really disappointed to read your comments about your stay. I was sorry and surprised to see that you thought the hotel is ostentatious, this is not our intention, however you are very much entitled to your opinion. I am also sorry that your arrival was not ideal. You have my sincere apologies that you did not experience excellent customer service, your luggage should have been carried to your room for you. I assure you that I will personally be investigating this issue and the issue of lack of wifi in your room. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you encountered as a result of these issues. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and your comments provide us with food for thought.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a perfect place to stay! The rooms are large, they have American electrical sockets, and the staff is amazing! The 3 restaurants are amazing and pretty well priced for level of food that you receive. Plus it is the site of the Battle of Clontarf which is interesting. The only downside is it is away from the city of center so expect a 20-25 Euro roundtrip taxi trip to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_G_3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read all your comments, I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, particularly that you liked the restaurants at the castle so much. We are a little outside of the city centre, however there are excellent public transport options available for our guests with a DART close by and a bus leaving a stop very close to the castle travelling to the city approximately every 10 minutes. This is an alternative and inexpensive option for guests wishing to travel to and from the city during their stay with us. Thanks again for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Staff Was Friendly , Excellent Location Hop On Hop Off Bus Picks You Up At The Hotel Local Bus Service 10 Min Walk Outside Hotel , From Chris At The Concierge Keith In The Bar Allyson The Waitress Everybody Treated Us With Great Service Rooms Where A Little Small But Of Course Its 2 Or 3 Hundread Yrs Old The Hotel That Is, Will Be Back For Sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much, particularly that you found the staff to be so good. It's great that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I staying at Clontarf Castle Hotel at the beginning of August. As it was her 30th birthday, I wanted to treat her to somewhere special, and Clontarf Castle ticked the box.

Having arrived early, we were informed at reception that we were being upgraded! This was such a fantastic way to start our break! We grabbed some lunch in the Knights Bar while we waited for our room! And what a room! A 4 poster bed and views of the dublin city skyline was such a fantastic surprise for both of us!

We decided to take advantage of the good weather and took a walk through Clontarf, along the promenade! What was planned as a half hour stroll turned into a 2hr walk, but was really worth it. We walked along Dublin bay, over the boardwalk past the Royal Dublin Golf Club to the end of the pier watching the cruise ships come in!

On return to our room, we found a rose petal turndown and a chocolate cake with a happy birthday message from the hotel. My fiancé couldn't believe it, such a great personal touch.

Dinner was in the Fahrenheit Grill that evening. Both the service and food were of a high standard. The buffet breakfast was also served in the Fahrenheit Grill and was fantastic, offering something for everyone.

Although not in the city centre, Clontarf Castle Hotel has a bus stop and dart service a short stroll away. We took the dart service into town on the recommendation of the excellent reception staff. 15 minutes and we were in the hustle and bustle of Dublin City Centre!

Overall Clontarf Castle Hotel is a fantastic destination for a short break. The staff were all fantastic and made a special break for my fiancé and I one that we'll never forget!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very happy to read your comments and I'm so glad that you and your fiance enjoyed your stay with us so much. I'm particularly happy that you found the service and the staff to be so good and I'm pleased the lovely personal touches were so well received. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. We would be delighted to welcome you and your fiance back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our last day in Ireland wish we had found this place earlier. What a cool place and the service was wonderful. Upon checkin we were greeted and taken care of expeditiously. Very courteous and attentive to our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are just starting out your trip in Ireland so that you get that "castle feel" to prepare you for your future adventures. If by chance I could go back to Ireland I would definitely stay here...now that I know where it is located. Ireland is a bit difficult to get around. Road signs are on the stone walls which are somewhat difficult to see. Check this hotel out a really cool place!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room because we were heading home to the states the next day. I would check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1tendress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service to be so good. We strive to offer our guests excellent customer service, so it's great to read that you experienced this. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing