We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Only Stay Here in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Only Stay Here in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a perfect place to stay! The rooms are large, they have American electrical sockets, and the staff is amazing! The 3 restaurants are amazing and pretty well priced for level of food that you receive. Plus it is the site of the Battle of Clontarf which is interesting. The only downside is it is away from the city of center so expect a 20-25 Euro roundtrip taxi trip to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_G_3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read all your comments, I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, particularly that you liked the restaurants at the castle so much. We are a little outside of the city centre, however there are excellent public transport options available for our guests with a DART close by and a bus leaving a stop very close to the castle travelling to the city approximately every 10 minutes. This is an alternative and inexpensive option for guests wishing to travel to and from the city during their stay with us. Thanks again for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,391
    758
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
752
1,726
71
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Staff Was Friendly , Excellent Location Hop On Hop Off Bus Picks You Up At The Hotel Local Bus Service 10 Min Walk Outside Hotel , From Chris At The Concierge Keith In The Bar Allyson The Waitress Everybody Treated Us With Great Service Rooms Where A Little Small But Of Course Its 2 Or 3 Hundread Yrs Old The Hotel That Is, Will Be Back For Sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank star0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the castle so much, particularly that you found the staff to be so good. It's great that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back to the castle.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I staying at Clontarf Castle Hotel at the beginning of August. As it was her 30th birthday, I wanted to treat her to somewhere special, and Clontarf Castle ticked the box.

Having arrived early, we were informed at reception that we were being upgraded! This was such a fantastic way to start our break! We grabbed some lunch in the Knights Bar while we waited for our room! And what a room! A 4 poster bed and views of the dublin city skyline was such a fantastic surprise for both of us!

We decided to take advantage of the good weather and took a walk through Clontarf, along the promenade! What was planned as a half hour stroll turned into a 2hr walk, but was really worth it. We walked along Dublin bay, over the boardwalk past the Royal Dublin Golf Club to the end of the pier watching the cruise ships come in!

On return to our room, we found a rose petal turndown and a chocolate cake with a happy birthday message from the hotel. My fiancé couldn't believe it, such a great personal touch.

Dinner was in the Fahrenheit Grill that evening. Both the service and food were of a high standard. The buffet breakfast was also served in the Fahrenheit Grill and was fantastic, offering something for everyone.

Although not in the city centre, Clontarf Castle Hotel has a bus stop and dart service a short stroll away. We took the dart service into town on the recommendation of the excellent reception staff. 15 minutes and we were in the hustle and bustle of Dublin City Centre!

Overall Clontarf Castle Hotel is a fantastic destination for a short break. The staff were all fantastic and made a special break for my fiancé and I one that we'll never forget!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very happy to read your comments and I'm so glad that you and your fiance enjoyed your stay with us so much. I'm particularly happy that you found the service and the staff to be so good and I'm pleased the lovely personal touches were so well received. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. We would be delighted to welcome you and your fiance back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our last day in Ireland wish we had found this place earlier. What a cool place and the service was wonderful. Upon checkin we were greeted and taken care of expeditiously. Very courteous and attentive to our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are just starting out your trip in Ireland so that you get that "castle feel" to prepare you for your future adventures. If by chance I could go back to Ireland I would definitely stay here...now that I know where it is located. Ireland is a bit difficult to get around. Road signs are on the stone walls which are somewhat difficult to see. Check this hotel out a really cool place!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room because we were heading home to the states the next day. I would check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T1tendress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the service to be so good. We strive to offer our guests excellent customer service, so it's great to read that you experienced this. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before when Bon Jovi played in Croke park and it was fab then - we returned with extended family on 21st aug 2013 and was delighted to see that the castle had undergone a refurb which was amazing. The staff, decor, food and experience were all 100% - we couldn't have asked for more! Well actually we did, we asked to see the royal suite and the concierge obliged, we were delighted. The food is out of this world, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable complete with mini bar and air con. Everything you need. We can't wait to get back and promise we won't leave it so long next time. Well done to all, it's a great place to stay :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I really enjoyed reading your review and I'm so pleased that you were impressed with the refurbishment of the castle since your last visit. €10 million was spent renovating the hotel in recent years, extending the original castle and decorating the entire hotel. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you and your family back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel for the last few years on business related issues. I have yet to find a more accommodating hotel in regards to staffing and facilities. Excellent facilities with a long lost tradition of self service breakfast, no one size fits all here, long may it continue. In regards to staffing, in particular, Ms Louise O'Reilly, unfortunately your ratings only go to five stars. Excellence and efficiency beyond belief. Such a pleasure to visit a hotel where the customer is still King or Queen of the Castle. Could live there, forever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was so happy to read that you had such a nice stay and found the staff and service to be so good. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Louise O'Reilly. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We'd be delighted you welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranelagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Clontarf Castle Hotel. The first impressions were very nice, with the reception located in the centre of the castle. There were various antiques in the foyer, such as knights, tapestry etc. There were ample car parking facilities and the bus stop was a nice 10 minute stroll. The hotel views themselves are average - our room was facing the rear overlooking a housing estate. The receptionist was friendly and directed us to our room. We were disappointed that they did not offer to transport our luggage to the room as we had a few bags to carry. The room itself was very modern, quite small however for a twin. There was air conditioning which was a plus. The room was well equipped with a fully stocked mini bar, internet tv and many more accessories. The bathroom was quite a let down - there was no bath which was disappointing. There was also only one small shampoo and shower cream and this was the same with the tea making facilities. As a result, I had to purchase those items in a nearby shop. The area was very safe and ideal for short walks. The breakfast was superb - very good selection of nuts, fruits, cold meats and the usual's! I really enjoyed my stay and if I can source a good deal - I'll be back again!

Room Tip: A room in the old castle part would be ideal! The second floor rooms are beside the grill, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really pleased to read that you liked the castle so much and that you found the service to be so good. You have my sincere apologies that you were not offered for your baggage be carried to your room and also that you did not have enough toiletries and tea making supplies. I assure you that I will personally look in to these issues. You also have my apologies that your bathroom was not to your satisfaction as it did not have a bath. We do have bedrooms with baths as well as showers, if guests specify their preference at the time of booking we can strive to insure that they are accommodated in a bedroom with a bath. Please keep an eye on our website and our Facebook and Twitter pages for details on any special offers we have. Many thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future,

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing