We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Annagh House(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,391)
Filter reviews
4,391 results
Traveler rating
3,036
890
282
108
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,036
890
282
108
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknights barfahrenheit grillindigo loungereal castlefour poster bedmodern amenitiescity centreamazing hotelbus stopdublin airportirelandweddingvijayarmourconciergehowtheuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,017 - 4,022 of 4,391 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Just returned from a stay at the Clontarf Castle Hotel, and while it wasn't a horrible experience, we did expect so much more from a hotel that bills itself as 4-star. Visually, this is a beautiful property and the rooms are nicely decorated and modern. It's also a very clean hotel.

But that's really where it all ends. I guess we just expected more guest ammenities for a place billing itself as a luxury hotel. After several days staying at homey B&Bs we were expecting more of a pampered feel once we got to Dublin.

Unfortunately, what we discovered was a level of service you might find from a business travelers hotel, rather than a tourist holiday destination. This place could learn a few things from, say the Ritz Carlton chain, when it comes to customer service.

Here were some of the things that disappointed us about our stay:

1. Woman at the front desk was borderline rude at check-in, and laughed at my wife sarcastically when called to ask how to turn on the freaking lights in the room. Seems you need your room card to activate the lighting, something we had never seen in a hotel before. To be honest, she made us feel like fools that we didn't just know that without asking.

3. After getting lost trying to find the hotel, we arrived after 9 and were exhausted from our travels. Considering that, we decided not to make the 20 minute journey into the city center and attempted to order room service, But even though it said on the room service menu that bar food was available until 11:30 p.m., the rude woman at the desk told us they stopped serving at 9 for some reason that evening. No effort was made on her part to try and offer us other options, so we ended up lugging our tired bodies into the city center.

2. No pool, no spa, and a sub-standard workout room. No robes in the rooms. And poor air conditioning. Again, maybe these things are OK for a business hotel, but this was sold to us as a place to spend your holiday in "luxury."

3. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the evening, but breakfast (which was included in our rate) was horrible on all levels. Eggs were undercooked and had an odd taste, and service as sub-par. Took forever to have a coffee cup re-filled. Food trays were also not kept well-stocked for the buffet.

4. Location! This hotel is located in a leafy Dublin suburb. Looks like a very nice place to live, but it's really a long way from all of the Dublin attractions. One way in a taxi to the city center costs about 15 Euro. The bus line is close by, but buses in Dublin only run until 11 p.m., so if you want to followup dinner with a pub crawl, you better plan on a taxi ride back. Would not suggest driving into the city: traffic and parking are a nightmare!

Overall, I'd have to say that Contarf Castle Hotel is just an average place to stay, So, if you can get a good rate, it's an OK place for a good night's sleep. But just don't expect a luxury hotel experience. It doesn't exist here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank racroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2008

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate all kinds of feedback from our guests as it allows us to improve our services and guarantee a high level of professionalism.

Clontarf Castle Hotel is a four star deluxe property which has recently completed a €10 million refurbishment. Dating back to the 12th century, this castle is located in the leafy suburbs of Clontarf which is only 2 miles from city centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport.

Indeed we do not have a swimming pool or a spa, however I am pleased to confirm we are located just 5 minutes from Westwood Gym which has an Olympic sized swimming pool as well as spa facilities.

My apologies for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay and once again, thank you for your review. I will most certainly pass on all of your feedback to management and very much hope that you return to Clontarf Castle Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I honestly can't see how anyone didn't like this place - reasonable price and the food on offer is absolutely top notch. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FionnbharrMacGiobuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2008

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Clontarf Castle Hotel and even more so that you found the food to be "top notch" and the price reasonable.

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. Here in Clontarf Castle we welcome the opportunity for guest feedback and appreciate all of your comments and feedback. On behalf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

If you read Jimmyjangle review as the same happened to me yet the hotel says this was a one off.

Booked online and recieved email back which im sure counts as a contract, however i was phoned back two days later and told that the price isnt available and there was a "technical glitch which wasn't there fault" and i would have to pay 100 euros extra per night, the hotel didnt even apologise or offer a discount! They did offer refund however the company they use Bookassist.com sends an email stating it was non-refundable and on top of the credit card booking fee which wont get refunded, is it worth taking the chance or booking with a reliable hotel might be the safe option.

Does this only happen with overseas personel?

However im sure i will get the mandatory reply that it wasn,t the hotels fault etc etc take it or leave it !

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
Thank mac6552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2008

Dear Guest,

Due to a technical error on our booking engine for 24 hours, a rate was shown on our website of €12.80 instead of €128.00.

The rate of €12.80 showed for every day that we were really selling at €128.00.

We received some bookings based on this rate and as such contracted all guests as soon as possible who had made bookings to apologise for the inconvenience and to explain that due to a technical error that the system had missed a decimal point.

We were extremely apologetic about this malfunction and explained that a deluxe 4 star hotel would not sell accommodation rates at €12.80 and offered to either refund the guests credit card for the deposit paid on the €12.80 booking or offer the correct selling rate of €128.00.

Clontarf Castle would like to strongly convey that this was in no way a scam. It was a genuine error for which we apologized deeply for and reacted to immediately.

The €12.80 rate was a one off error that was caused due a technical fault.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sale Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I saw what was a good rate for a two night stay in there hotel so made the reservation using credit card. Confirmation arrived inside ten minutes but noticed breakfast was not included so rang them up that afternoon (Saturday) to be told that there is nobody to help me with this and would have to ring back next week.

The following week after telling my girlfriend of our future trip I rang again to ask about adding breakfast to the bill, put on hold for a bit whilst they found my reservation. Then was told the rate for the room already agreed on the confirmation was not available so would be paying €100 extra per night which I could not afford. Had already booked the flights at a cost of £100 so now trying to find alternative accommodation at short notice to not lose the flight money.

Seems like a bit of a scam and would not honour the reservation due to them saying there has been a technical hitch. Said I would meet them half way and pay for one night at the inflated new price if they threw in the second night as that was all I could afford and they said they could not do that.

A very poor experience and an unhappy girlfriend makes me very unhappy!

AVOID IF YOU DON'T LIKE YOUR ROOM RATE INCREASED AFTER BOOKING!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank JimmyJangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2008

Dear Guest,

Due to a technical error on our booking engine for 24 hours, a rate was shown on our website of €12.80 instead of €128.00.

The rate of €12.80 showed for every day that we were really selling at €128.00.

We received some bookings based on this rate and as such contracted all guests as soon as possible who had made bookings to apologise for the inconvenience and to explain that due to a technical error that the system had missed a decimal point.

We were extremely apologetic about this malfunction and explained that a deluxe 4 star hotel would not sell accommodation rates at €12.80 and offered to either refund the guests credit card for the deposit paid on the €12.80 booking or offer the correct selling rate of €128.00.

Clontarf Castle would like to strongly convey that this was in no way a scam. It was a genuine error for which we apologized deeply for and reacted to immediately.

The €12.80 rate was a one off error that was caused due a technical fault.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sale Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

First day:
Outside was so pretty & even checking in the lobby, however it was too modernized and upscale. It was extremely hard to find. The staff did not take us to the room, which means we were not shown how to use the thermostat or run the lights (must put your room key in the slot for them to turn on – took 20 minutes to figure that out). Bed was comfortable yet not a lot of room to move around in. And the room never did cool off. We needed a pass code to make the TV work, which was not located in any of the materials at all, nor were we informed of this while checking in. The clerk at the front desk even had to ask someone else what we were to do to make it work. The next morning we were awakened to the sound of crashing glass as there was a glass recycle bin behind the hotel. Breakfast buffet was warm, not hot & not quick to refill the items when they were low. Not recommend when doing a castle tour of Ireland.

Last day:
Upon checking in I informed the clerk our stay the first time was not the best and he was apologetic. This time he showed us the in's & outs of the room and put us away from the recycle bin. I was feeling better about this place until we did not get our wake up call in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2008

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Clontarf Castle Hotel is indeed a 12th century, four star deluxe property that has combined the old with the new.

Here at Clontarf Castle we greatly appreciate all kinds of feedback as our Vision Statement is: "Making history through our passion for excellence".

I wish to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your visit and very much hope that we are given the opportunity in the future to regain your confidence.

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Siobhan Fagan
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews