We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

What can I say? This hotel was a breath of fresh air at the end of our vacation. The hotel is beautiful, staff friendly and helpful. The room was gorgeous and well appointed as was the bath! I dinged them 1 star for comfort and overall because the bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have expected. Woke up with a sore back. Wish we could have stayed here longer anyway. Situated in a quiet neighborhood. And the WiFi worked!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I'm disappointed you found your bed to be uncomfortable, this is very rare as we often receive compliments on how comfortable our beds are, however I take your opinion on board and will investigate this. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is wonderful - the rooms are well appointed and clean with comfortable beds. Mini bar prices are reasonable as is room service. Ate in the bar which was excellent value for money and the food was great. The service was fantastic with very enthusiastic staff who are keen to please. The public areas are nicely decorated and retain all the old world charm of the original castle in some areas. The hotel has been tastefully refurbished over the years and would be an excellent wedding venue. Nice patio area outside to soak up the sun. All in all a fantastic hotel we could not fault it- we will definitely stay again when we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm very happy with all your comments, particularly that you enjoyed the food so much and found the staff to be so enthusiastic and keen to please. I'll be sure to pass all your comments on to staff members. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to do that. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel, our daughter had stayed here earlier in the year and thought we would like it, she was right we did. The room was a good size, very clean and air conditioned [most welcome ]. We stayed one night and had breakfast the next day, there was a very good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit and cooked foods. We used the 130 bus to get in and out of Dublin and the service, a short walk from the hotel was very regular .All the staff we encountered in the hotel were helpful and friendly. We usually stay in central Dublin when we visit but the hotel's amenities and location were such that we will certainly return here. Many thanks to all the Clontarf Castle Hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really happy to read all your comments. It's great that you enjoyed the food so much and found the staff at the hotel to be so good. I'm delighted to read that you will be returning to stay with us in the future, we'd be delighted to have you back. Thanks again for the feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here on 14th and 15th July for a wee break away from the kids, on a 2 night luxury break. From the outset, we were treated like royalty!

We were given friendly advise as to how to get to Phoenix Park for a concert, times of travel, a spotlessly clean room, superb service and were also given the opportunity for a free upgrade the next day for my husband's birthday. This was a true luxury experience in the King Suite (amazing room (s)) with four poster bed, claw-foot bath and separate living room and dining room - fabulous for celebrating my husband's birthday.

The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and couldn't honestly do enough for us. Full Irish breakfast was great both mornings, and the staff were great serving right up until close of breakfast, and even cooking extra fresh food for us when breakfast really had closed.

Our 4 course meal on the second night was wonderful, with the staff doing everything they could to please us with the food and wine menu.

Totally relaxing break with fabulous staff - we will be back Clontarf Castle!!! thank-you!

Room Tip: The King Suite was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really delighted to read all your lovely comments and I'm so happy you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the caste, from the food to the staff. We aim to offer our guests excellent customer service so I'm glad you experienced this. I'll be sure to pass on all your lovely comments to our staff. I'm delighted that you will return to us in the future, we'd love to have you back. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a two night break including one dinner. The staff are most friendly and our room was very comfortable with 3 armchairs in it, which is quite unusual these days!
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of fruit and hot food.
The evening dinner was also excellent, the presentation of the food and flavours was very good indeed.
The hotel is in a lovely area north of Dublin and within easy reach of the picturesque towns of Howth and Malahide.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PD_1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was really happy to read that you liked the castle so much, particularly the food and the staff. We strive to offer excellent customer service so I'm happy you you found our staff to be so friendly. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Clontarf Castle is beautiful and the rooms are clean and well appointed. It is close enough to walk to the bay and shops/restaurants nearby. We were extremely happy that the room was air conditioned since Ireland was in the middle of a heat wave. The only reason I did not give Clontarf Castle 5 stars was because we reserved a "family room" and it was only able to comfortably accommodate 3 people. The photo on the hotel website showed a family of 4 next to the room description for a family room. We were surprised to find a queen size bed and 1 twin bed, and towels/glasses for 3. Since we were only there for one night I decided not to say anything. If we were there for any longer I would've asked for a different room. Make sure the room you're reserving is what you expect it to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the castle, we've had some gorgeous weather recently so the air conditioning in all our rooms has been a blessing for our guests. I was very disappointed to read that your room was not big enough to accommodate your family, we have different sizes of family rooms to suit different amounts of guests. You have my sincere apologies about this mix up. We would always recommend that guests tell us of any room problems as soon as possible so we can look after them and arrange a more suitable room if possible. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the luxury midweek package and feel it was excellent value for money. We were blessed with the weather, so made the most of the lovely new decking area. 30 degrees in Dublin??? We arrived at the hotel before 8am and were lucky enough to have a room ready for us which was great to enable us to get changed & have a full day out along the coast in Howth. which was only a 20 minute journey on the DART. The DART station was only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
Dinner in the hotel was included in our package & even though the menu was limited there was something to suit all tastes & everything was delicious.
Our room was clean, had all the facilities you would need including iron & ironing board which may not bother some people but if you're like me (a little freaky about creased clothes) is quite important.
Every staff member we encountered was really friendly & helpful & the knowledge they have about the surrounding area & how to get about is great. A taxi in to Dublin was around 10 euros and the bus was about 2 and a half euros and ran every 10-15 minutes.
It was my partners birthday during our stay and the hotel sent a gorgeous little chocolate cake & Happy Birthday card up to the room. A lovely touch.
The hotel itself is very impressive & has a real olde worlde castle feel & great chilled out atmosphere.
I have visited Dublin several times, always staying in the centre of the city, but after this stay I can't envisage us staying anywhere else.
Thank You to Clontarf Castle & all the staff for a superb stay.
I

Room Tip: We had an executive room in the main building & had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was really happy to read that you had such a lovely stay with us at the castle, the weather has been really amazing so I'm glad you got to try out our new decking area. It's also great that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly, we pride ourselves on having excellent customer service so I'm very happy that you experienced this. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing