We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice option for touring Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2008

After touring Dublin it was nice to be staying a bit outside the city (15-min bus ride) in a very safe and quaint residential neighborhood. The hotel maintains some of the old castle charm with modern rooms and amenities. We got a good rate on the website for advance booking. It did not include breakfast which was 20Euro so we just went to a nearby coffee shop. The hotel itself was very nice. Our bed was very comfy with colored lights in the headboard! Also had a plasma TV on the wall and a little table and chairs to enjoy the tea and biscuits in the room. The bathroom was big and the shower excellent. The concierge was very helpful in giving us maps, directions on taking the bus in and out of the city, and tips on which places to see and those to skip on a tight schedule. Our only complaint was that it seems to be a popular place for events (2 going on during our stay) and we were awakened several times during the night by rowdy guests roaming the halls at 2-3am. This is obviously no fault to the hotel and I'm sure we would have had the same experience or worse staying in the city.

*One tip on Temple Bar area-- go early evening or be prepared for complete chaos if you stay past 11pm like we did. Given it was a Saturday night, but it was totally crazy with people fighting in the streets and trying to weave through a drunken maze of stag parties!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank dinerdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,810 - 3,816 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2008

This hotel was the last of our tour on CIE- We truly enjoyed our stay. Exceptionally lovely interior to appear medieval. Concierge Staff was very accommodating.
Breakfast was OK and included dinner from tour co. was good however service was a bit slow.
I would have continued my stay here but we had prebooked a hotel in heart of Dublin that was rated 3stars and no where as nice as Castle. except for location

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Overall, I loved the place. The old and new were a harmonious mix, which has been lacking in some other castle hotels. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and more than most could handle. There was everything imaginable and it was high quality. However, unless you have the B&B rate, you would pay 23 euros for it. I enjoyed exploring the hotel and had a good meal when I ordered room service. I would stay here again, though I usually prefer more remote settings. It is a wonderful place to stay when touring Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Coppergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2008

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor, your review is much appreciated.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

The old and new harmonious mix is due to our €10 million interior renovation. While we have still maintained the original 12th century castle 'feel', we have also incorporated the luxuries of a four star deluxe property.

On bealf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This was our first night in Ireland our Honeymoon and my husband's birthday. We loved this place the people were amazing the castle was soooooo beautiful the room was spotless and the castle has so many place to photograph from the stone fireplace to the lions out front. The resturant was amazing we had the best steak we have had in the Grill room the staff again were fantastic and helpful when we needed anything.
Please stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank honeymooncouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2008

Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here in clontarf Castle Hotel and fould the 'best steak' here in our Fahrenheit Grill Reastraunt. The restaurant specialises in steaks using dry aged Irish Beef.

Many thanks for your review on TripAdivisor. Here in Clontarf Castle we welcome the opportunity for guest feedback and appreciate all of your comments and feedback.
On behalf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer McNulty
sales department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

we have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay in Dublin, to make the break feel special we decided to book this castle, with excellent reviews and honest opinions it looked too good to be true. We were not dissapointed atall during our stay, the staff were excellent, the hotel was exceptionally clean and welcoming, all the staff were very helpful and informative. We upgraded for the larger room as a treat, the rooms are totally modernised with built in plasma TVs, internet access, trouser press, hairdryer, tea making facilities and a clever telephone system advising the weather conditions. The staff were very helpful with local information including bus information. It cost on average 15 euro to get a taxi into town, we mastered the busses and got the 130 outside the hotel into town for just 1.70 euro each. All the bus drivers were very helpful, we even found our way to the Guinness Factory without getting lost, it really is very simple. We reccommend you see Temple Bar area early evening as later means getting served harder especially when football and rugby on the same day!! I would deffinately reccommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rubysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_Coordinator, Marketing & Internet Executive at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2008

Dear Guest, ]

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor, your review is much appreciated.

I am pleased to hear that your stay in Clontarf Castle Hotel was enjoyable and that you were not dissapointed at all.
The staff do their best to ensure you have a pleasant and enjoyabke stay and aim to exceed your expectations.
On behalf of all the team here at Clontarf Castle, we very much look forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

Jennifer McNulty
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

The castle is a really cool looking hotel. The inside isn't necessarily any different from a normal hotel except for the couple of tin soldiers in the main lobby. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable. There were only a couple of things that I wasn't happy about; one was that the bed didn't have a sheet in between you and the comforter, it was just the comforter on top of you. The reason why I didn't like this, was because if you get hot during the night you have an option of comforter or nothing at all. Also, I fee more piece of mind knowing there was a sheet because I know they wash the sheets more than the comforters in most hotels. The other thing I wasn't happy about was the shower. While the shower had good pressure, it didn't ever get hot hot. It only got warm hot. Which might not be a big deal to some, but thats just my personnel preference. Overall it was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NJsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Has all the facilities you would expect from a four star, but surprisingly for such a historic building, lacking in atmosphere and a little dark and dreary. Didn't get the wine we ordered until we checked out, and the staff always seemed to be busy and innaproachable.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank sellyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,451 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,671 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing