We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect solution in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bolzano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect solution in Dublin”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everything positive about this hotel, starting from the personnel, the place, the room tidiness and comfort. I just found the room heating system not working in an excellent way.
A few information for foreigners like me: clontarf is a kind of residential neighbourhood of dublin. I took for example 40 minutes by feet to reach the city centre (nothing special to see during the trip). Using the bus (line 130) it takes 20/25 minutes. Clontarf castle is the last stop of the bus.
very good irish breakfast.
I would come back to clontarf castle

Room Tip: Maybe the second floor is better than the first, but I stress: maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm delighted that you had such a good stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's great that you recommend us so highly and that you will be coming back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,643
    814
    266
    102
    69
See reviews for
853
1,866
78
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chris and I loved our experience at the Clontarf Castle, our first Hotel in Ireland last October. The staff and some of their long term guests were wonderful and helpful in so many ways. They helped guide us around the city, recommended awesome pubs and there was a patron who even gave me information on our Coursey ancestors who he says may have originated from Vikings. We were led to De Coursey court in Dublin and then on our last day for 4 at the castle the patron gave me a copy of a document he had from one of the Courseys who visited his pub. The hotel is part castle built several thousand years ago..You can google it for more information. We loved it and highly recommend a visit there if you are going to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiacgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted you liked the castle so much and really enjoyed reading your review, it seems like you had a great trip. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance brought me here for my birthday.
Clontarf Castle is located just a bit outside of "Dublin center". The best way to get into the city is by bus (very cheap) or taxi (cheap, but not as taking the bus). You can also walk, but it takes 45 min - 1h.
The staff is polite, and will help you when you are in need.
The restaurant serve a lot of delicious food, and they have a great breakfast.
The rooms are comfortable and big, especially since it so cheap. You really get a lot for your money!
We actually loved Clontarf so much that we desided to get married there. So Im sure I will go back to Clontarf many times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forssten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I loved reading your review of your stay at the castle and am delighted that you loved Clontarf so much that you decided to get married here. I wish you and your fiance the very best of luck with all your wedding preparations and we will be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in a family room which had two big double beds and plenty of room. The breakfast was good and great value as the room was only 20 euros extra for b&b. The staff were all courteous and professional at all times. We had to book the room at short notice and the rate was good value. All four of us slept very well. The bar for was very good and the service was prompt. We stayed for one night in March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your feedback on your stay with us at Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and found your room, the food and the service to be so good. Thanks again for your kind review, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerly,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clogher, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and stayed for the weekend The hotel itelf is located in a leafy suburb within walking distance of the Sea.
Its a great spot to unwind and if like us you didnt want the hussle of dublin on this occasion a great way to relax.
The hotel itself was great the room we had was fine and the food was fab great service. The bar was packed on the sat night and we found it hard to get a seat.
Overall would visit again great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was happy to read you found the location of the castle to be so good, we feel we our location provides our guests with the best of both worlds: a peaceful setting but also close enough to the city. I'm delighted you found the food and service to be so good. Thanks again for your feedback, we'd be happy to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great weekend, food fantastic all the staff were very friendly. Breakfast included in price and would last you until tea time! In a lovely leafy area of Dublin and local restaurants are also great. Would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted that you would recommend us to anyone and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night break including dinner. Room was very small with paper thin walls. We could hear everything from next door. Bathroom had a shower, no bath and again was quite small.
Dinner was included in the price as I mentioned but it was very average food and the menu was quite limited. Breakfast was enjoyable with a nice variety of pastries& hot/cold food.
Not a place I would book again for a special night away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmissgiggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I was disappointed to read that you didn't think the castle was anything special. You have my sincere apologies that your stay didn't impress you as much as it should have. Our bedrooms do vary in size, however they were all refurbished to a high standard in recent years. I'm sorry to read that you felt menu options were average for dinner, we actually have a new menu since your stay as we strive to constantly improve our service. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast at the castle. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,503 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing