We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't worry," the bar music stops blasting at 1am.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Don't worry," the bar music stops blasting at 1am.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here based on the Tripadvisor reviews and because we wanted to stay in the castle. The original part of the castle is the lobby and the bar, which are very cool, but certainly not enough reason to pick this hotel. We got little sleep because the bar music went on until 1AM, and was blasting through our walls! We called the front desk at about 12:15 am about this and were told unapologitically, "don't worry, it ends at 1." Ridiculous- we paid for luxury and instead couldn't even try to sleep (and we had to get up early the next day to travel).

In addition, the room was not part of the castle, it was just a regular hotel room, on the small side, and unimpressively furnished. It is pretty far from downtown, which we were ok with to stay in a castle- but since we weren't really staying in a castle, we regretted we weren't somewhere more convenient.

We did have a nice dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Firstly, I'd like to say that I'm very sorry that you were kept awake by music in our bar and for the inconvenience this caused you. Secondly, you have my sincere apologies that you felt a member of staff at reception was unapologetic about this situation. I can assure you that neither of these situations are the norm here at the castle.

Regarding your comments about your room, the castle was completely refurbished in 2007 so while the rooms are modern, they have been decorated with the history of the castle in mind. I was sorry to read that this wasn't to your taste. I'm glad to read that you have a nice dinner in Fahrenheit Grill at the castle. If you do ever decide to return to the castle please contact me on +353 1 833 2321 and I'd be happy to discuss this with you.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,645
    815
    266
    102
    69
See reviews for
856
1,866
78
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were stopping in Dublin for 4 days at the end of our European holiday. We wanted to stay in a castle for its atmosphere. The Clontarf incorporated an old castle with a new hotel built in and around it and we knew this before going. The public areas were part of the old castle and rooms were the new areas. The staff were very helpful and friendly. During our stay 2 of the evenings they were hosting a large formal event and a wedding and although the great hall was packed, we did not hear the remnants of the parties in our rooms at night. Breakfast buffets provided great choices. Make sure if you want the afternoon lunch specials that you get to the Knights Bar and order before 3pm because at 3:05pm they won't let you order from their specials. It was a lovely experience and would recommend to others. PS FInd the little hidden sitting room inear the 1st floor fireplace to share an afternoon tea or evening cocktail

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMarieBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm delighted with all your comments. It's great that you have such a lovely stay and enjoyed the castle, I'm particularly happy you found the staff to be so helpful.

Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This two night stay in Dublin was just about the most comfortable, enjoyable, value for money hotel stay in the capital we've ever had! I booked the Clontarf Castle as a Valentine gift for My wife and from entering the carpark we were not to be disappointed. Good off-street parking in a perfect location. The Hotel is a renovated castle and has managed to hold on to the old classic style while developing a warm, modern, comfortable interior.
Checking in on a friday evening was done quickly and efficiently with a genuine uncontrived Irish welcome at reception. Our room was beautifully decorated and, like the ensuite, was spotlessly clean. Drink prices were more than acceptable and breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.
All-in-all this was a wonderful stay and not only will we return but we intend making this our regular hotel everytime we visit Dublin! Thanks to all concerned. As a side note, we booked through Hotels.com.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonalCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm so delighted to read that your stay in the castle was the most comfortable, enjoyable, value for money hotel stay in the capital you've ever had. Thanks very much again for such lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pros:
-Excellent food ans wine
-Great atmosphere
-Most staff were very friendly and helpful
-Hotel is very luxurious
-Room was spacious, quiet and warm
-Bar had live music

Cons:
-Huge queue at breakfast the following morning when we went down at 10.30. Shortage of food, glasses, staff etc.
-Receptionist(female) that checked us in was rude, unfriendly and made us feel like we were really annoying her and interrupting whatever she was doing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I really enjoyed reading your review, I'm delighted with all the Pro's on your list. Regarding the Con's, breakfast service can get quite busy in the mornings however I'm sorry that there was a lack of food, glasses and staff. I'm very disappointed with your comment about your check in, you have my sincere apologies that you found someone to be rude to you. This is not acceptable and I will be following this up personally. Thanks again for your reveiw, we appreciate the feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner & I stayed at Clontarf Castle for two nights from the 27th January (it would have been 3 only the hotel did not have the availabilty), and my only complaint is that the stay was not long enough. It was a dream to be a guest here. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left, it was pure heaven. The staff were fabulous. Luke at reception was so helpful, friendly and extremely professional. Michael the concierge was so pleasant to deal with and very knowledgeable. We stayed in an executive room and it was so comfortable, there was always hot water, it was well decorated, clean and the temperature in the room was just right. We had a meal in the restaurant and the food was second to none. The restaurant staff were very obliging, nothing was too much hassle.There was a lovely decorated, modern, well laid out grill room if you just wanted somewhere casual to eat in, have a quick snack in or just to relax with a coffee. Breakfast again was first class. We also had breakfast on Room Service and it was very warm, plenty of it and well presented. We got everything that we had ordered and more! The Castle has a large car park which is complimentary. It was lovely to come back from Dublin on a wet, windy afternoon/evening and sit by the open fire and enjoy a drink in very comfortable surroundings. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, all over the world and I have to admit that this was def well within my top favourites. There was so much to look around. A beautiful snug if you wanted to just be on your own and just think or have a quiet read. There is a lovely cosy bar if you wanted a bit of craic and live music. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked again to return at the end of March as part of my 40th Birthday celebrations and are in fact bringing my parents with us to let them enjoy the amazing hospitality that is offered here at Clontarf Castle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydolittle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted with all your comments, it's great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thans again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for my wife's birthday on the 9th Feb 2013. We had booked the one night romance package which was obviously on offer for this time of the year. We live a couple of miles away so this was a break from the routine. We weren't doing the tourist thing in Dublin City. Our room was a deluxe double which was lovely. Very Luxurious. The bathroom was spectacular. The reception area is full of character and checking in and out was done in a very efficent manner. We dined in the Fahrenheit Grill in the evening, had a few drinks in the Knights Bar and had breakfast delivered to the room the next morning. The service was top notch in all these areas. The Knights Bar has a great atmosphere and is a nice place for a few drinks after a meal. Our package covered one night stay, evening meal for 2 and breakfast the following morning. We felt it was good value for money. Summing it up Clontarf Castle is lovely place and we plan to return again later in the year for another short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm so glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. We strive to offer our guests a great experience so it's great that you had a great weekend break away and would recommend us in this regard. Thanks again for the lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would be happy to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay here for 3 nights last fall (October 2012) on our first trip to Ireland. We had booked their online 3 for 2 special which was an incredible deal! We also included with our reservation an airport taxi pick up which was appreciated after a long flight. Upon arriving at the property we were immediately taken by the beauty of the hotel and the quiet location. The lobby was lovely with its castle walls and fireplace. Michael the concierge was absolutely fantastic in recommending certain sights and arranged for a taxi to take us into the city and later a premium whiskey tasting at Jameson's Distillery- which was a definite highlight! Taxis can run you 15-20 euro one way but for other reasonable transportation Dublin Bus 130 stops near the hotel and coins can be purchased at the Front Desk (@2.90 euro o/w). The hotel itself was charming and we had booked a deluxe double room which was perfectly fine for the two of us. The room was quiet, clean and well maintained and had US and European outlets which was a great feature along with free Wi-Fi! The lobby also had a computer to print boarding passes or to check emails. We did dine at Fahrenheit Grill which we both enjoyed and our waiter was attentive as can be. We particularly liked the Knights Bar with its cool atmosphere and cozy seating. On one evening we had returned to the hotel late and hungry after an all day tour, the kitchen had just closed but they managed to get us some generous appetizers of ribs and wedges which went well with our pints of Guinness! It is true that it does get busy over the weekend with weddings and other events but we delighted in meeting other folks in the bar and lobby. If that is not your scene than consider staying on a weekday instead. Overall we received top notch service throughout our entire stay and would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cinnamon808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I was delighted with all your comments. It's great to read that you had such a nice stay with us and that you would come back to stay with us in the future. We'd be happy to welcome you back again. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,503 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing