We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I arranged to meet a friend at Clontarf Castle for a drink and a quick catch up while passing through Dublin. I had the dog in the car and after we were settled in by the huge fire in the foyer area I asked if they would mind if I got the dog to sit beside us. The concierge said he didn't mind as it was fairly quiet but would check with the duty manager and who also gave us the thumbs us.
The concierge on duty was great, a really lovely personality to add to the hotel as was the duty manager! The dog got lots of attention. I might be bias but she's a lab and just seemed to complete the picture stretched out in front of the large fireplace. She even got her photo taken by some other guest.
I stayed here a four or five years ago and it was a nice experience then also.
We stayed a lot longer than we planned and had a lovely evening. Thanks for being dog friendly on this occasion. I've found it's quite rare for Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaleenBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. It's great to read that you had such a lovely experience while meeting a friend in the hotel. I'm glad that the staff here treated you so well and that your dog also felt at home! Thanks again for your feedback and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,035)
There are newer reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,888 - 2,894 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clontarf is really a castle. Although, it's been heavily modernized, there are still some remnants of the ancient appeal. You can't beat the price! It seems like a place a lot of locals use for graduations etc (as we saw when we were there). We were there for 3 days during the final leg of our honeymoon.

The only downfall I would say is the location. Be prepared to spend money on a taxi because it is 15 - 20 minutes from the actual center of Dublin. I would recommend, start your days early and come home late to avoid too much in taxi fares.

It's a fantastic cozy, relaxing place to stay though!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the caslte, particularly as it was part of your honeymoon. The castle is located a couple of miles outside the city in a quiet area of Dublin. However, with excellent public transport links, we feel we offer guests the best of both worlds. Thanks again for your feedback and we'd love to welcome you back to the castle in the future if you return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a birthday celebration - 8 adults & 2 toddlers. We got a really good deal through Travelzoo. Checked in early with no problems & headed into the bar for lunch. Very busy but with a lovely atmosphere & very efficient staff. Great selection of bar meals at good prices & our choices all tasted very nice. Rooms were a good size & well presented. Dinner in the restaurant was very good - although they had got our booking a bit mixed up. That was soon sorted by the very efficient, friendly staff. All the staff throughout the hotel made our stay very enjoyable & they were very attentive to the needs of the 2 toddlers in our group. Breakfast was self service with a varied selection of hot & cold food. Excellent fresh fruit salad & good quality bacon & sausages. Again the staff were very attentive & offered to bring hot milk out for the little ones breakfasts. Lots of lovely relaxing seated areas throughout the hotel which was great for our group as we didn't want to spend the evening in the bar with 2 toddlers. I would certainly return to this hotel as would the rest of our family. The only thing missing from this beautiful hotel is a swimming pool & jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted with all your comments and i'm really glad that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us. It's particularly great to read that you found the staff to be efficient and the food to be so good. These are just some of the areas that we pride ourselves on and strive to offer our guests the best possible quality. Thanks again for the great feedback and we'd be happy to welcome you and your family back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed overnight with my husband for a post-christmas treat. Couldn't praise the place enough and don't know where to start. This is a genuine irish castle and everything you'd expect to see in that regard is there. We spent a very pleasant few hours in a cosy nook of the old castle furnished with three comfy armchairs around a little table and were left to ourselves chatting away which was just what we needed following on a busy family christmas. My husband brought down with him the complementary bottle of prosecco from our room and we had a very mellow evening supplemented with some rum and cokes from the bar. Earlier we had dinner in the restaurant where the decor , while spotless and modern, retains all the character with which I remember Clontarf Castle as a young visitor MANY years ago!!! Dining room service was impeccable and the food very tasty. While we did not wish to drink the complementary bottle of wine at the table we were warmly invited to "take it home" with us - how genuinely warm and typically irish!
We were especiall pleased with the room. Spacious, spotless and while modern in that it had all the comforts expected and then some - it was very warmly inviting and we would love to have been staying for longer to enjoy it. Flat screen tv with personalised welcome, tea and coffee making facilities with all the trimmings, discreetly stored iron and board, well-stocked mini bar at very reasonable prices you could ACTUALLY avail of if you wanted a little treat and sure why not- you're on your holidays (even if it is only the one night- it honestly felt like more because there was so much to enjoy)! Special mention of the room lighting- well impressed at the softness of the reading lights at the side of the beds - ample to light your reading material but completely unobtrusive to your bedfellow.
The bathroom was spotless and had ample towels and complimentary toiletries. Plenty of hot water for more than one bath and good pressure in the shower.
Staff, without exception, impeccable.
Bracing walks along the front of the irish sea a stroll's distance from the hotel and some lovely sea-front pubs for a pub-lunch eg. "The Yacht" . Five minute bus-ride to city centre.
Looking forward to return visit so-
Well done the Castle!
If you're looking for the very best in genuine irish hospitality at an affordable price make your reservation now, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Our first stay and made no requests - room we had was perfection
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm so delighted with your whole review, it's absolutely great to read that you and your husband had such a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed all the different aspects of the hotel like the food, your room, the staff and the decor. Thanks again for giving us such a glowing recommendation, we truely appreciate it and would love to welcome you backk again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my partner here for his birthday for the weekend there and he loved it, so did I! Unreal castle features mixed with expensive modern ones. Very tasteful hotel with reasonable prices for dinner etc. We had a wonderful experience and found the staff to be very welcoming and accommodating especially the concierge! I would go back in a heartbeat. The Fahrenheit Grill restaurant and the Knights bar were great. We ate in the hotel both nights which we don't usually do but we just love it so much. The breakfast is great, amazing selection and I loved that we were able to take what we wanted and as much as we wanted! We just kept finding new amazing features all the time.
The city centre is very accessible too, you just have to walk on down the road and get the bus which is only about €2.15 per person and about a 10 minute journey. The Castle is located near the sea, unfortunately when we went the weather wasn't so great so we didn't get to see the area in all it's glory. The hotel is surrounded by a very large residential area so it is nice and quiet round there and is great if you just want to be away from all the hustle and bustle that the city centre brings.

I don't usually take the time to sit and write reviews but that just shows how amazing this place is!!!! This place is a must!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are away from the car park. Even the standard rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm delighted with all your comments, it's so great to read that you loved the castle itself, the food and the staff. I'm also happy you like the location and I completely agree with you, I think it offers guests the best of both worlds in that they can relax and enjoy a peaceful break in a quite location while also remaining close to the city. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and we'd be happy to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found the hotel an excellent place to stay for a short break although a good half hour from Dublin's busy City Centre. Food was excellent and the rooms were adequate.

We were at a loss what exactly to do and we found the concierge, Michael Byrne, to be an excellent tour guide and a great help with suggestions on where to eat etc.He definitely made our stay a most enjoyable experience.

David and Patsy, Co. Down

Room Tip: Do try for a room at the front. Better views
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review of Clontarf Castle Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food and staff to be excellent. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to Michael in our Concierge department. The castle is located a few miles from the city but with excellent public transport links we feel that we offer our guests the best of both worlds. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerley,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently enjoyed a lovely weekend stay in Clontarf Castle and was impressed by the whole experience. The hotel itself is a mix of old world charm with the benefit of modern comforts and technology located just a ten minute bus journey from the city centre.
The reception area is impressive and a comfortable space to relax and watch the world go by. There are also other seated areas around the hotel that can be utilized and so affords some quiet space to relax in your own company.
The room itself was spotlessly clean, with good facilities. There was a minibar, Smart TV, Wi-Fi, and good tea/coffee facilities. The only disappointment was that the six foot bed was actually two large single beds put together. This is a pet hate of mine, although the bed was very comfortable and extra pillows were stored in the wardrobe.
The food is of a very high standard. We ate in the restaurant and I would highly recommend the fillet steak and the curried monkfish, both of which were cooked to perfection. I also ate in the bar and the ribs are some of the best I have ever tasted. Breakfast was self-service, with a good selection of continental breakfast and the traditional 'full-Irish' breakfast.
Staff in all areas of the hotel were pleasant, hard-working and helpful. I hope that I can return to this hotel for another relaxing and enjoyable stay in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your review. I'm delighted with all your comments about your stay at Clontarf Castle Hotel. It's so great to read that you liked the castle and found the food and the staff to be so good. We would be happy to welcome you back to the castle again in the future if you return to Dublin. Thanks again for your feedback, it's really appreciated.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,339 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,994 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $150 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing