We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding was amazing the best ever loved this castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We attended the wedding of a really good friend and were thrilled with this venue. The entrance was spectacular with a real castle effect the grand room was amazing the design layout was out of this world never seen such beauty. The meal was outstanding first class and delicious they kept our glasses full and offered extras. This is a very fine establishment probably 5 star by Dublin accounts truly magical place that lifted the minds and hearts of all present at the wedding of the year. Rooms were so comfortable we stayed an extra night and breakfast so tasty and filling. Thanks for a wonderful stay clontarf we will be definitely returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryandke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We attended the wedding of a really good friend and were thrilled with this venue. The entrance was spectacular with a real castle effect the grand room was amazing the design layout was out of this world never seen such beauty. The meal was outstanding first class and delicious they kept our glasses full and offered extras. This is a very fine establishment probably 5 star by Dublin accounts truly magical place that lifted the minds and hearts of all present at the wedding of the year. Rooms were so comfortable we stayed an extra night and breakfast so tasty and filling. Thanks for a wonderful stay clontarf we will be definitely returning.

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm delighted to read all your comments and I'm so glad you enjoyed the wedding at the castle. The Great Hall here in the castle really is a spectactular room for such an event and we always hear great feedback from our guests about the setting. I'm really happy with your comments about the service you received and i'll be sure to pass these on to all involved. Thanks again for your feedback we really appreciate it and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,019 - 3,025 of 4,113 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

stayed here after attending a wedding in the hotel.
reception was first impression and i liked it the staff were informative and nice enough.
food was good not the "wow factor" or anything but it was nice.
room was clean and free of dirt but we were assigned a smoking room when we asked for a non-smoking room anyways were put on 1st floor in room 103 it stinked of tobacco disgusting!.
we complained and then were moved to the 3rd floor room 340 which was much nicer.
the negative i had was the lifts kept squeking in the middle of the night!!!.

Room Tip: choose a good room like the 4th floor it the top and away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRIVATE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended at the castle. I'm pleased to read that you found your room to be clean, however I am disappointed to read that there was a smell of smoke. Clontarf Castle Hotel has been a non smoking hotel for the past couple of months. I'm very sorry if there remained an odour, this is definitely something we are working on eliminating completely.

Thanks again for your review we appreciate your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here one night at the end of a package tour. Great location for your last night, easy access to the city until late, and then 20 minutes to the airport in the morning.

The accommodations are thoroughly, luxuriously modern, while the common rooms are more 'well-restored castle with funky modern accents'. I had my doubts about the modern bits, but it's actually a great mix. It was also the best (and most reasonably priced) breakfast of our entire 'castle hotel' tour and the most lively/least stuffy hotel.

The only minus is the non-existent grounds. A luxury castle like this needs some green around it to really put the experience over the top. There's one tiny patch of green that works for a photo op if shot at the right angle, but beyond that, Dublin's suburban sprawl has taken over. The flip side of all that development of course is that you can catch the city bus right at the corner, so it does make it more convenient!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGrapesArney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm very pleased to read that you found Clontarf Castle to be the most enjoyable out from your tour of Irish Castles. I'm delighted you thought so highly of the castle and it's location.

Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerly,

Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Clontarf Castle Hotel on 16/11/12 to 18/11/12 November. We found the hotel to have a wonderful atmosphere with friendly professional staff and excellent food and good accommodation. When we made our initial booking it included a night at bon appetite restaurant in malahide, friendly professional staff and excellent service This has to be one of the best meals that we have ever had, I have recommended the hotel to all my friends and my wife loves to tell then about the great meal’s we had both at bon appetite & Clontarf Castle, Looking forward to spending another weekend in Dublin very soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad you found the customer service to be so good, our staff are a great asset to us. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My son and I spent the last night of a quick trip around Ireland at the Clontarf. I wish we had more time to spend there! The hotel is beautiful, blending a very modern hotel around an historic castle. The rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable.
The castle is very cool--fun to walk around such history. All in all a great place to stay, but most important is the staff. Concierge Michael couldn't have been more helpful when we had an issue with our car. He helped us out with great efficiency and a wonderful sense of humor. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngoudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad you found the castle to be beautiful and I’ll be sure to pass on all your comments to Michael in our Concierge department. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This beautiful hotel is in a nice residential area, that was made for walking. I used the gym(located in the dungeon) which is a few machines open 24 hours, and had a chance the jog in the neighborhood around the hotel. Very easy area to jog in there were sidewalks for the most part, and very few driveways. I love to jog when I travel to get a sense of the area and it is very lovely, and I was not alone, the irish are a fit group as well. The location was a bit away from the center of Dublin but very easy to get to aboard the transit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad you liked the location and found the castle to be beautiful. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful from top to bottom! You can see the old castle part of it inside and out yet the many windows in the foyer, the bar and restaurant and all were served by very complimentary and capable staff. The room was in an alcove on the top floor and we could look out to the stadium. Loved experiencing the night and morning there!

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet, tucked away and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’ll be sure to pass all your comments on to the staff here. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,418 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,045 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,619 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $148 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing