We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel/wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My son and I spent the last night of a quick trip around Ireland at the Clontarf. I wish we had more time to spend there! The hotel is beautiful, blending a very modern hotel around an historic castle. The rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable.
The castle is very cool--fun to walk around such history. All in all a great place to stay, but most important is the staff. Concierge Michael couldn't have been more helpful when we had an issue with our car. He helped us out with great efficiency and a wonderful sense of humor. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngoudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad you found the castle to be beautiful and I’ll be sure to pass on all your comments to Michael in our Concierge department. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,197 - 3,203 of 4,299 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This beautiful hotel is in a nice residential area, that was made for walking. I used the gym(located in the dungeon) which is a few machines open 24 hours, and had a chance the jog in the neighborhood around the hotel. Very easy area to jog in there were sidewalks for the most part, and very few driveways. I love to jog when I travel to get a sense of the area and it is very lovely, and I was not alone, the irish are a fit group as well. The location was a bit away from the center of Dublin but very easy to get to aboard the transit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m glad you liked the location and found the castle to be beautiful. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful from top to bottom! You can see the old castle part of it inside and out yet the many windows in the foyer, the bar and restaurant and all were served by very complimentary and capable staff. The room was in an alcove on the top floor and we could look out to the stadium. Loved experiencing the night and morning there!

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet, tucked away and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with and for your feedback. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’ll be sure to pass all your comments on to the staff here. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We began our honeymoon with a couple of nights at Clontarf Castle and our stay couldn't have been better. Beautiful, comfortable lobby and clean, convenient rooms. The employees were incredibly helpful and we got some great tips from Michael, the concierge. Cabs into City Centre were about 10 euros, took about 10-15 minutes, and the hotel was helpful in calling one anytime we needed. Per suggestions, we headed to Howth for a day and it was one of the best of my life. That little town is beautiful. We took the entire cliff walk in Howth. It takes about 2 hours and we are VERY novice hikers. The walk doesn't require any special gear, but I do suggest a couple bottles of water, and a hat or something for the wind and, of course, your camera. The views alone, are worth the walk. Great fish & chip spots in Howth as well as a couple of warm, great pubs. We wouldn't have even known about the town had it not been for the staff of Clontarf Castle. Thank you folks, for getting our honeymoon started on a perfect note!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your honeymoon. I’m delighted with all your comments, it’s so great to read that you loved the castle itself and found it to be so comfortable. I’m really happy you enjoyed your time in Ireland and I’ll be sure to pass all your comments on to the staff here. Thanks again for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back if you ever return to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here from the 14-20 November. The main entrance to the hotel will have your jaw hitting the floor, its stunning.

I was working for an event in the hotel and the staff couldn't have done any more for us. Everything we asked for was brought immediately without hesitation. As I had to set everything up for the event (24 tables, 300 chairs, and media and staff stands) I asked the hotel for someone to help and he was waiting for me the following morning. his name was Jason and he did everything i asked at a moments notice, extra tables, chairs, table cloths. And he helped with our tables too even though they weren't the hotels tables. Keith in the bar kept the drink flowing when we finished at night and he always had a kind word and a bit of banter for us. David the F&B manager and Lukas the DM were excellent at looking after us, the second we asked for something we were told yes all week, the staff don't know what 'no' means, its fantastic. If you want to have an event here or just treat yourself to some luxury you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. I’m absolutely delighted with all your comments. It’s so great to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. I’ll be sure to pass on all your comments to everyone in the relevant departments. Thanks again for your fantastic review, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Last month I visited Ireland for a week with a group of friends and spent the last night at this great location as part of a package. The food was great, the rooms and the castle and property were beautiful. The special services provided by the concierges, Chris and also Michael B, were outstanding. Chris arranged for me to have high tea in my room the afternoon we arrived and it was wonderful. Thank you so much for the outstanding attention and catering to our every need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiatraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I’m particularly happy to see that you found the customer service to be excellent and I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to Michael and Chris in our concierge department. Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate the feedback and would love to welcome you back to the castle if you return to Dublin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and I had 2 wonderful nights here on the 10-12 November. The staff are helpful, the rooms were lovely the bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. We booked the romantic 2 night spellbound offer, and had champagne and chocolates in our room and a pre-booked dinner on a night of our choice. John said without doubt it was the most delicious meal (lamb cooked to perfection) that he had ever tasted, and it wasn't the head chef cooking, it was his night off, so well done to his second in command, my ribeye steak was also delicious. The hotel is a 15 minute bus ride into town which only cost 1.90 euros each which was a bargain, however after a trek round the city centre and several guinness later we had a12 euro taxi ride back to the lovely warm welcoming Castle. Thank you Clontarf we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-JohnnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I’m delighted to read that you had such a good time during your stay in Dublin. It’s great that you liked the Spellbound romance package we offer at the castle, it’s a very popular choice and we often get great feedback from our guests. It’s fantastic to read that you loved the food so much. Thanks again for your kind review, we really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,778 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $154 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing