We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a really nice location. When we arrived our reservation was not in a system from some reason, but that was not a problem for the Front Office staff. Not only they were very professional but also upgraded us to an Executive room with four poster bed. Our bed was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. Very clean room that had everything we needed. Restaurant was a little busy so we went down to the bar to eat, and that was quite nice. The hotel was very busy at the time due to storm in the US, so that was probably the reason for it. Breakfast was ok, it could do with more items like tomatoes, cucumbers, and more sliced meat/cheese selection but overall it was all fresh and tasty. Altogether it's an excellent hotel with first class service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINIPolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the castle and for your kind review. I’m really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the bed in your room. All our rooms are to the same standard and we often get complimented on our memory foam beds. I take you comments regarding breakfast on board and it provides me with food for thought. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope that you will return to us in the castle if you come back to Dublin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,525
    787
    263
    100
    69
See reviews for
810
1,796
73
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

First of all I have to say that this is a really beautiful hotel - one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Room tastefully decorated and clean and all public areas absolutely gorgeous! The location was ideal for us - just a couple of miles outside the city in a residential area. We stayed in Room 011 for 3 nights (1st to 4th November) - the deal included dinner on one night and breakfast on two mornings. The morning of the 2nd (my birthday) we went for breakfast at about 9.15. We had to queue for about 10 minutes before a table was available. We then had some cereal and juice and proceeded to get our hot breakfast - another queue which did not seem to be moving. It transpired that they had run out of sausages, bacon, black pudding and mushrooms - another 5 to 10 minute wait until bacon was brought out, then after a couple of minutes sausages - couldn't be bothered waiting for the mushrooms or black pudding. After that I went up to get a Danish pastry but they too had run out - don't know if they were replenished as we didn't want to wait any longer We went out for the day and returned to our room for a rest at 3.45 - the room had not been made up! Had to ask at reception for this to be done. Having said this, the hotel, the food and the atmosphere was excellent and I would really love to give it 5 stars and despite the breakfast/room issue we would definitely love to return. Being fair there was no problem at breakfast the next day and we had dinner, bar meal and Sunday carvery, all of which were delicious. I expect that they were just very busy that day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audajohns1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us at the castle and for your feedback. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. However I’m disappointed to read that there were issues at breakfast and with your room not being dressed earlier. I’m very sorry that this was the case. You’re absolutely right that the hotel can be quite busy at times, with 111 bedrooms it can be quite challenging. We do strive to offer excellent customer service and the best possible experience to our guests, even at the busiest times. Apologies again that there were some issues with your stay; I will look into these issues with the managers involved. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A table for 9 for 1930hrs for a meal. Nice place in fact its a lovely place. Its super clean, I loved it. The staff are super and kind looked after us that is untill we went to eat. Ok its a nice clean place to sit and eat. Once seated then it took so long to get the table sorted for the water/wine bread menu in fact other tables with 2 or 4 seems to be seated and eating before our table was dressed, so to say. It seems we were not welcome our party perharps was to big maybe..
Anyway we move on the orders taken and meal arrives all ok with the starters main course comes then a slide downhill the steak fatty and tough, Heavy handed pepper season why do they do it why can we add pepper to our steak. Pepper is not to everyones taste.Before the meal is over the tables around us been cleaned down for breakfast, can they not wait till we finish.
Minus points Bottle of Water €5 steaks very poor carried a supplement €5.00 each the bill €300 bill and food very poor. Told the waiter that was a waste of time, next time we will try else where for dinner. Would stay here for Bed & Breakfast a great loaction and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toursmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it. I’m very disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your meal in the restaurant and you have my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused to you. I’m really surprised that this was the case as we rarely receive negative feedback about the restaurant and we often receive praise regarding the food and service. However, your comments really concern me and I’ll be sure to follow this issue up with the manager of the restaurant and the chef. Thanks again for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Clontarf Castle is a beautiful hotel in a quiet neighborhood that's not too far from city center in Dublin. My wife and I were initially worried about getting into city center because of the distance but once you figure out the bus stops and routes it's a short walk to a stop and a short (and inexpensive) ride into city center. Our room was clean with a decent view. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They brought us coffee in the lobby while we waited for our room to be readied since our flight got in at 5:30 a.m. and then pointed us to a nice place a few blocks away to grab some breakfast. The hotel restaurant was quite nice as well when we ate there for dinner on night. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infinite_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Clontarf Castle Hotel. I’m delighted to read that you liked your room, the food in Fahrenheit Restaurant and the helpfulness of the staff here at the castle. I’m also glad you liked the location of the castle. We are located a couple of miles outside the city, however with excellent public transport links as you mentioned, we feel we offer our guests the best of both worlds: a quite relaxing break while being close enough to the city to visit it as often as they like. Thanks very much for your feedback, I really appreciate it and would love to welcome you back to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here as a family holiday during the half term october break. We where on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The rooms where modern and very clean. No noise was heard throughout out stay. There was ample parking for many cars and the hotel was very busy towards the later half of the week. We where greeted very well and informed of closures and details of tours.
We had dinner in the pub down stairs 3 times and the food was good. If you order the Ribs to share they really mean to share they are big. We had a walk down to the sea front it took about 10mins. The buses run nearby but we did not use them as we had our car.It took 10 mins to the centre of dublin by car. The hotels wifi worked well both in the room and reception area. Would I stay here again most likely if we come back to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pin054321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us in the castle and thanks for your feedback. I’m really happy with all your comments; it’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy to read that you liked the food, your room and that you found the staff to be informative. It’s great to see that you would return to visit us if you come back to Dublin, we would love to welcome you back. Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate the feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here two weeks ago for one night a. This hotel is a little piece of heaven close to Dublin city. Most of the hotel is modern built mixed with the old castle walls. Our room was very spacious with two double beds, bath and a shower, plasma TV and lots of storage in a walk-in wardrobe. I believe this was a standard room as this is what we had booked. We had dinner in the bar which was part of the old castle building and the food was very good and reasonably priced. We did not try the restaurant. The staff were always attentive and they were more than happy to help us with directions. Overall we really enjoyed our short stay at the Castle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilof22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for staying with us and for your kind review. I’m really happy with all your comments and it’s great to read that you enjoyed your room, the food and found the staff to be helpful. Excellent customer service is very important to us so I’m delighted that you had a good experience while staying with us. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back to the castle if you return to Dublin again.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed on two seperate date during our trip to Ireland. The first night I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Freindly, helpful nice room, good restaurant ect.. It was mid-week and I do not believe the hotel was ful.The second stay was like a differant hotel. It was a Friday and I believe the hotel was ful.We did not get the same room.( even though we were told we would have the same room at the time we intially book the second room ). The room was located right over the loading of the kitchen and the walkway to the trash. They rolled out very noisy carts until 11:30pm and started again at 6:30 am. The restaurant was not large enough to accomadate the amount of guest. For lunch we gave up waiting and went into Dublin. For dinner we ended up at the bar. They did their best, but the service was moderate at best. The stall was still friendly. The exterior is still beautiful with a great location, but they do not offer good service when busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. I’m really happy to read that you enjoyed your first night so much. You have my sincere apologies that your second night wasn’t as good as your first night. You’re absolutely right about us being fully booked. This does make things more challenging; however we always strive to offer our guests a very high standard experience no matter what the situation. Thanks again for your feedback, I’ll be sure to pass your comments onto the relevant departments in order to investigate the issues you raised.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing