We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservation yes, room no!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reservation yes, room no!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a long standing reservation for a room at a decent rate off season. In the meantime a convention was booked & rooms rented at a higher rate. When we arrived, we were told that they did have our reservation but would not give us a room. I asked to speak with the manager, but was refused by Mr. Snooty pants at the front desk. You may reserve a room here, but that does not mean you will get one!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m very sorry that this happened to you; unfortunately there was an error in our booking systems. However, in the very rare instances that this occurs, we always offer to accommodate our guests in one of our sister Hotel properties which are all of a similar high standard. You have my sincere apologies for this and the inconvenience caused to you. If you would like to discuss this matter with me further you could give me a call on +353 18332321 or email mlong@clontarfcastle.ie at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    775
    262
    100
    69
See reviews for
787
1,758
71
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I called in here a few weeks ago to inquire about bringing over a 3 day conference for 150 Pax from France next Jan.

While waiting to discuss the booking, I ordered a bottle of non alcoholic beer in the bar and was charged €5.80 for a 500 ml bottle of beer that retails for €4.50 in even the more expensive bars in Dublin city centre.

They didn't even have the right glass for the beer.

I left without waiting to discuss the booking.

Some times, the little things count.

A very very expensive pint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m very sorry that you were disappointed with the price of the non-alcoholic beverage you purchased in our hotel bar. We do have a selection of non- alcoholic beverages ranging from €2:25 up to our premium German 500ml bottle non alcoholic beer. While beverage prices in Irish hotels could be deemed expensive we have implemented a price freeze on our bar prices since last Christmas.
I’m disappointed to read that you didn’t stay to check out the castle as a venue for a conference over the price of the bottle of beer. As I am confident that you would have been impressed with our conference facilities.
However, you have my sincere apologies for this and any inconvenience caused to you. If you would like to discuss this matter with me further please contact me on +353 18332321 or email mlong@clontarfcastle.ie at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a relaxing night in Clontarf Castle, our room was spotless & it was refreshing to go into a bathroom not showing signs of wear & tear or damage to grouting or sealants, as is the case in some 4 & 5* star hotels I've stayed in. bed was excellent as comfortable as I've come across all in all great room.
Staff were very friendly, a special mention to the duty manager who noticed my wife & I couldn't find a table in Knights Bar he asked us to hold on a moment before we left & got us a table. food was very good & good value also.
All in all "happy campers" we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardslushee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at the castle and for your feedback. I was delighted to read all your kind comments. It’s great that you enjoyed your time with us so much and we hope that you will return to visit us again if you return to Dublin in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We finished up our trip to Ireland by staying here for three nights and enjoying Dublin. Short bus ride to the city and the staff is very helpful with giving directions. The main restaurant is excellent, breakfast was amazing! The bar is very crowded so would recommend eating in the restaurant or out in the city. Beautiful decor and comfortable room. We were given an upgrade upon checkin as we were celebrating our anniversary which was a nice addition to our stay. They even have a US outlet in the rooms!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Clontarf Castle Hotel and for your feedback. I’m delighted you had a good stay and I hope you enjoyed your anniversary. I’m so glad you enjoyed the food here; Fahrenheit Grill is a very popular choice among our guests. Thanks again for your review, we really appreciate it. We hope you return to visit us if you return to Dublin again.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

we arrived on valentines. we paid a massive amount to stay here. the reception staff were friendly. the room we got was basic for the amount we paid. we were watching tv in our room at 10 pm when a staff member knocked on our door and told us turn it down when it wasnt even up to a mormal volume. we dined in the restaurant for dinner it wasnt great at all. i got chicken which was just a grilled breast with way too much salt and raw potatoes not quality at all. breakfast the next morning was horrible. we would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. I’m very sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the castle and I’m disappointed that you didn’t like your meals. You have my sincere apologies for and inconvenience caused to you. If you would like to discuss your stay further you could give me a call on +353 18332321 or email mlong@clontarfcastle.ie at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Caisleán Chluain Tarbh (Clontarf Castle) is a fairl modern castle only 150 years old but built on the site of ancient castles dating back to the 1100s. The present building is a combination of up to date and modern facilities with some preservation of the old building it has converged with. The result is pleasing and typically irish the way they fuse ancient traditions with modern ideals. Our weekend here was a romantic getaway and we were not disappointed. We got an excellent package price on the internet for one night and breakfast in a beautiful room for the price of a budget hotel. It is tucked away in a quiet residential area not far from the waterside and the main part of town is not far away but it was also easy to get to from the airport so it was the ideal location for us. There is a restaurant, a bar and a lounge so there are lots of choices on site for whatever you might fancy. The staff and service exceeded our expectations (and we have stayed in many in various countries) as they were well beyond the norm. Breakfast was a buffet in the dinning hall and was very nice. We asked Michael, the concierge, for assistance in choosing the best route out of the city to begin our driving tour of Ireland and not only did he help us choose the best road out of the city, he told us about the best places to make time for, and the places we could afford to miss (due to hoards of tourists) - his knowledge and information proved invaluable to us for our remaining 10-day trip. Our only regret is that we were not able to stay in the hotel one last night on our way out as they were booked solid. This is definitely a gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: Believe the staff - they are very knowledgeable about the hotel and won't knowingly lead you ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Éil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the castle and for your feedback. I’m really happy with all your comments. The castle was completely refurbished in recent years to the standard that you see today so it’s great to read that you enjoyed your castle experience. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and our members of staff are a real asset to us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Michael in our concierge team. Thanks again for your kind review and I hope to welcome you back to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent our last night in Dublin here. The hotel was beautiful and most comfortable. Loved the castle motif. Our room was exceptionally nice--very modern but still felt welcoming. Wonderful bed and nice room layout--gorgeous bathroom. Food was good too. Wish we had had more time here to enjoy the amenities.

Room Tip: High floors have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. I’m delighted to hear that you loved your room, the entire hotel was refurbished in recent years and all our rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. I’m glad you liked the food and that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will welcome you back to the castle again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and for staying with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing