We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great weekend but expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great weekend but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

When you first discover the hotel, the grounds and entrance are amazing. We arrived late on Friday evening and we were allocated two double rooms on the first floor. We took one look or should we say "sniff" and refused them. This hotel has smoking rooms and not only did the rooms stink, so did the floor and corridors. Initially we were told there was nothing to be done but after much talking two very superior rooms were found but we were informed that we would have to move the following day. This we did and hotel staff were brilliant, not only moving everything for us but hanging clothes and sorting out toiletries. We were asked why we had not booked non-smoking rooms. Have just checked the website and when booking rooms it does not give this option. There is a special requirements box but to be honest, nowadays, it is not something one normally thinks about. Our second rooms were ok but in all honesty, nothing special. Bar food was adequate, a breakfast buffet which was nothing to boast about (or complain) and restaurant staff were not that communicative. Reception staff and the Manager on Sunday morning, however, deserve great praise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m pleased that you were happy with the service that you experienced while moving rooms. I’m sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the smoking rooms and I do hope that we can have to opportunity to exceed your expectations if you return to the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    701
    254
    98
    68
See reviews for
655
1,540
63
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Clontarf Castle is truly a gorgeous hotel, filled with loads of old charm, but all the conveniences of a modern hotel. I dont think I have ever slept in a more comfortable bed anywhere in the world. Great service and very friendly staff. It's a bit far out from the city centre, but for easily accesible by public transport. A real gem!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We pride ourselves on our ability to understand and exceed customer expectations in terms of both service excellence and a high quality product offering and I’m delighted that this was reflected in your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the castle soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We wanted the romance of having stayed in a real castle.
The place was great for everything except that.
As far as we could ascertain all of the really old castle was locked away from public view.
All services were excellent as was the main bar's authentic Irish stew.
We liked it so much we went back at the end of our stay in Ireland.

Room Tip: just stay there and you'll get a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunburnt-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review. I’m pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the castle and that you could make one last stop off before returning home. I hope that we will be welcoming you back to the castle again if you book another trip to Ireland in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our first two nights in Dublin. The bed and pillows were really comfy, room was quite, wifi worked well and service was nice. However, for the money - you can find better. Outside of town - no good restaurants nearby; water pressure and temp too inconsistent to be able to take a shower, Saturday night the bar had live music which you could hear through to the room, no food service after nine o'clock - which we missed because no one came to our table for a good half hour after we sat down. Nice place for photos, breakfast was nice (if you pay for it) but not worth the extra dough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueruby2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m pleased that you had such a comfortable stay in your room. However I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service which you experienced in Knights Bar and that you were disrupted by the live entertainment. I hope you enjoyed your overall stay with us and I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Clontarf Castle for a memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and found this to be a wonderful, friendly environment. Upscale yet comfortable for a family. Great Irish/English Breakfast with Latte and Scones for a great price, cozy and comfortable dinner by the fireplace casual enough for well behaved kids or black tie wear. It was without pretense but upscale.

The bus ride into Dublin was less than 15 min. but maybe the concierge could write up a list of bus lines for people like me who get confused easily as I got lost more than once.

Great hotel, fantastic experience all in all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurotravfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here at the Castle, and that your children could enjoy the warm and welcoming atmosphere too. I hope to welcome you back to the Castle again in the future so that we can have the opportunity to give you another fantastic castle experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Overall this hotel is great! The room was beautiful and well kept. The shower was plenty large and updated. It was a great mix between old and new! There is free parking and the Dublin bus stops really close to the hotel. Take the bus as the traffic can be bad in Dublin. The food was great but the service left something to be desired. It was also a little pricey but there were plenty of options. The bed was comfortable but the pillows a little stiff. The room was large and included free internet which was nice to communicate to those back home. If you want a nice place that is close to Dublin City Center and Howth this is your place!

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our ability of a high standard of customer service and I'm very sorry that we fell short during your stay with us. I do hope you return to the castle again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Finally got caught up from my trip to Dublin and really want to share the experience we had at this hotel for anyone making plans to Dublin and considering hotels.

This property is truly remarkable.

We stayed 9 nights during the week of St. Patrick's Day in Dublin. Having arrived early Saturday morning on a connecting flight from Paris, I wasn't sure if they would have a room available, but they did (thanks Nolan!). I had requested a "quiet room with a view" (as I am sure we all do), and they gave me a great room on the top (4th) floor. This was important to me as I'd read in other reviews that the hotel could get noisy with wedding parties, etc. The quiet and location of the rooms away from the main wedding/meeting/reception areas is exceptional - don't be fooled, its a very quiet hotel.

Parking is complimentary, great as we had a rental car from DUB for the entire time. I concur with other travelers on 2 fronts: don't drive in Dublin proper (as you get nearer the central city, its a zoo) and the hotel is a bit outside of the main areas that you'll most likely be sightseeing. We walked into the central city on days 1, 2 and it is actually about a 25 minute walk to Ha'penny bridge (for example). There is a bus stop right near the entrance of the castle itself, but that's not the one you want...keep walking down Castle Avenue and follow it to Clontarf Road and pick up the bus near the intersection with the traffic lights. Buses come about every 10-15 minutes, and the fare to central Dublin is 1.67 EUR per adult. This takes about 20 minutes (+ 5 minute walk to the stop) so basically the same amount of time. If you choose to walk, do follow Clontarf Road and don't curve along the waterfront (continue straight through the lights) otherwise you end up in the shipping/industrial section of town, not too pleasant. We also took the taxi a couple of times back to the hotel from central Dublin, and the fare was about 15.00 EUR - not bad. There also seemed to be taxi's available for pickup at the hotel driveway whenever needed -- we actually called for a taxi on 2 occassions (once to go to the airport, the night before the other to go into central Dublin) -- they both arrived within minutes of the receptionist hanging up the phone, so its very convenient.

Back to the hotel. Our's was a standard room - probably about 250 sq ft and was perfect size for 2 adults. This hotel appears to have been renovated maybe 3-5 years ago, so everything in the room is fairly new, modern touches (American's you'll be very comfortable, no worries). There is a mini bar in the room with all of your basics, a regular shower and tub (with a separate handheld head) and a little desk and small coffee table.

All throughout the property they have done a great job of adding historical photographs, artifacts, tapestries, etc. - you will love it! The building itself is comprised of the original castle (lobby and front area, partial Knight's Bar/Fahrenheit restaurant) and the surrounding space is all the new construction (meeting rooms, guest rooms, fitness center, etc.). Bring a camera, as this property is incredibly camera-worthy day or night.

There is a small business center area with 2 internet-capable computers (free of charge, 24 hours) which we used to print directions, keep up on email, post pics to Facebook, etc. and pay our E-Flow toll for driving through the M-50 ($4.00 USD each time you cross it).

We dined about 6 times in Knight's Bar, which seemed to have a balance of tourists/hotel guests and local's from the neighborhood (the castle is surrounded by residential homes), a really neat mix and very cool atmosphere. Its casual, pub-style. If you enter from the hotel side, keep going around the corner, past the bar to the other side, there is a huge fireplace and big screen TV's, etc. and a bit more room. The food was good each night we dined there and the beer's...nice and cold! I ordered the chicken panini sandwich on the first night (which was blah) but every other meal was great.

We dined once for breakfast and once for dinner in Fahrenheit (upstairs from Knight's Bar). I was quite surprised that it was fairly empty both times. Our dinner was spectacular (Irish Angus Beef Steak) and service was great. This space is very cool, large and open and lots of nice touches that really make it a romantic atmosphere. I think its location on Level 2 might be a bummer for the hotel as its actually a nice atmosphere. They offer a breakfast buffet in the morning which was 10 EUR per person (and included authentic Irish breakfast options). There is a neighborhood market area about 10 minutes walk with a grocery store, ATM machine, and a couple of restaurants -- we did not go into them, but at least its an alternative.

I also used the fitness center, which was a basic room with standard equipment. If you are a jogger, this hotel is in a perfect location -- at the end of Castle Avenue on Clontarf Road is a long park that lines the harbor, lots of joggers, walkers, bikers, etc. great atmosphere.

The interaction we had with every staff member in every department was truly authentic and kind. The evening desk staff are quite warm and helpful, and Nolan at the front desk was extremely helpful and courteous (checked us in, and out on departure as well).

i can truly see why this place was so busy (both the hotel and the meeting space as well). It is incredibly charming, quiet and you almost feel like you have the castle all to yourselves given the atmosphere and the kind staff. I can't thank everyone at Clontarf enough for making this vacation truly memorable and rewarding.

Room Tip: Hotel staff do read your requests on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bothell2boise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. I am delighted to hear that you were impressed by the Castle and that you had such a comfortable stay with us. I am very pleased that you could experience all aspects of the hotel, including the food in Knights Bar and Fahrenheit Grill. I hope that you will return to the castle again if you visit Ireland in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Mark Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,996 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,753 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Property: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing