We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and service”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding location and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed at The Westin for a total of six nights during a two week period. Our overnight flight arrived early and we were so very grateful to be able to get into our room early in the morning having been traveling for hours with multiple flights. The location is idea, next to Trinity College and close to major downtown attractions. The staff was helpful in arranging tours, printing boarding passes and dealing with luggage. The doorman, front desk staff, laundry service and housekeeping were all top notch. The Mint is great if you are too tired to venture out to eat. Kudos to all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    666
    177
    57
    49
See reviews for
455
995
142
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed here as a birthday treat for 2 nights. Very good location for centre of dublin, temple square and shopping.
arrived early and was checked in easily into nice clean but fairly average room. Small bed, but very comfortable.
Bathroom clean and good towels- although the shower was powerful it was far too low and couldnt be adjusted-and im 5ft3!!!
cant really comment much about food or staff as didnt eat in or really see any staff coming in and out.
Over priced- but find me somewhere that isnt in dublin!!!!
Nice hotel but stayed in nicer, location is the key here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarafriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear tarafriel,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Westin Dublin.

I am sorry to hear you had difficulty with the shower, if you could contact me directly with the details of the room you stayed in and I will have this issue addressed.

Yours sincerely

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed for two nights in January for a busy few days.
Check in was good and valet service good and also punctual on checkout.
While I love the location for convenience, I hated it for the traffic noise. We had a lovely room, spacious, comfy etc The bathroom, while large (entering through double doors), was a little dated. The shower, when running, was backing up with a blocked drain. Service was excellent; we requested a champagne bucket to the room as we checked in, and staff came immediately with it. He looked after the champagne for us, filling the ice bucket and suggesting how long it required to chill. He was right! We went out to our function and came back to a perfect bottle. The first night was a late night, socially for us, so we weren't in the room long that night for sleeping, but the second night I really noticed it....I was counting Dublin buses!
I like the Mint bar, downstairs,(I'm a sucker for the cocktails) but the night we went in, it was hopping with loud music; I don't know what it was, possibly Afro-Caribbean music, with lots of very sweaty dancing people! I have to say, with the low ceilings, it was unbearable..we left without a drink (unusual for me!)
Had afternoon tea the second day. It was good but I've had better..Irish coffee was good, but overall a little expensive, although I'm mad about the location in the Atrium. Didn't have breakfast or dinner in hotel as we had a hectic social schedule that weekend

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikies_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

took me a while to get on and upload this short review. Cost us abuot 20euros in cab from Dublin airport, not a far journey. Arrived and efficient staff, very elegant hotel with grand entrance right opposite Trinity College and great location for all teh areas and sights of Dublin (good base). Room was large and clean (internet not free though) sep shower and bath, molton brown toiletries. Good restuarant, great room service, livley bar in lower basement. Not much else to say (or that I can remember now). I'd defo stay there again when go back in June (for a wedding) and would recomment - although haven't stayed in other hotels so can't compare it. (ps they ahve a gym that you can use and a lovely courtyard bar that has a glass roof)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclePBallieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Westin Hotel is located just around the corner from Grafton St and the Tourist Information Centre. It is opposite Temple Bar, close to Tara St DART station and a few minutes walk from O'Connell St. So it is in a brilliant location!

Staff on reception were efficient and welcoming. There are a wide range of choices for eating and drinking within the hotel itself, and lots more close by. We would recommend MJ O'Neills pub in Suffolk St for good food, live music and a good choice of what would be known in Britain as real ales!

After a meal and a few beers it was a lovely hotel to return to. The beds are described a s heavenly beds and they certainly are! My partner described it as the best sleep she has ever had in a hotel. The robes were very comfortable and there was both a bath and a shower! Little touches were everywhee, there were lights in the wardrobe that came on when you opened the door, beautiful toiletries and a quality TV!

We were very sorry to leave, and would stay there again ina flash! The only small negative is that you have to be lucky to get a good rate, and there is no pedestrian crossing outside the hotel - you have tow alk to the end of the street to cross the road! But these are small points that don't detract form the quality of the Westin.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RojBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Dear RojBlake, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted that your trip to The Westin Dublin was a positive one.

The Exchange Restaurant recently introduced a new menu and this is proving to be very popular with both guests and the public.

I am glad you enjoyed our renowned ‘Westin Heavenly Bed’, which is celebrating its 10th year this year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin during your next visit to Ireland.

Best regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We chose the Westin Dublin for one reason...location, location, location.....and let's be honest here, the expectation of quality that went with the price. It did not disappoint. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This Weston was fashioned using 3 historical buildings that were combined and then beautifully remodeled in an "old money" style. If you prefer a contemporary ambience, this may not be your hotel. But, if you enjoy plush surroundings, muted colors, a hushed atmosphere, and some of the most respectful and caring staff you have ever met, this hotel will meet your approval. It is located 1 block from from Dublin's upscale shopping street (Grafton), and if you walk to the LAUS (light rail) station at the end of that block(St. Stephen's Green) you can get a train to the Dundrumman Mall, which is a huge contemporary shopping mall with trendy stores like Harvey Nichols. The Luas is a very clean/safe mode of transport that snakes through the southern portions of Dublin, and runs every 3-8 minutes.
Overall if you want to be tenderly cared, for in very plush surroundings, with some of the best shopping at your fingertips, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing