We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great City Centre Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Great city centre Hotel, stayed for 2 nights in March 2010.
Basic bedrooms a little small but got an upgrade to a larger bedroom with sitting room for €30 extra per night & well worth it, you should probably ask for an inward facing room as oppossed to the bedrooms that face Westmorland street as they would be a lot quieter.
The Mint Bar in the basement of the Hotel serves great barfood & excellent cocktails (Cocktails probably a little overpriced). Friday night is a Salsa night & the place was packed !
We did not have Breakfast in the Hotel as it seemed expensive (especially if you have it in your Room)
Staff in the Hotel are excellent, very professional throughout, especially Peter at the Concierge who could not have been more helpful & friendly.
Will definitely stay here again & would highly recommend it for a stay in Dublin !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esquired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
Dear Dwyeresquire,

Thank you very much for posting your review of The Westin Dublin.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad to hear you think our associates are helpful and pleasant to our guests.

I'm also happy to inform you that we have recently reduced our breakfast prices considerably and you can now enjoy breakfast in the hotel from €7.00. We also provide a selection of breakfast "to go" items available from the restaurant from €2.95.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the The Westin in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    650
    171
    53
    47
See reviews for
442
955
138
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Hotel is one of the most recommended places to stay at.A little costlier, but its well worth the bucks paid for! Bed is really heavenly along with the mint bar which rejuvenates the tired soul.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varaprasad143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Dear varaprasad143,

Thank you very much for your positive review on The Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Westin experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again during your next visit to Dublin

Best regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

There isn't a hotel with a better location in Dublin. Right in the City Centre, next to Trinity College, easy walk to most of the sights of the town. Fantastic bed, roomy accommodations, no street noise, full wi-fi, flat screen TV, etc. Thinks it is a 5-Star and has 5-Star prices, e.g. martini for $15.00, room service breakfast for $45.00, etc.

But the poor maintenance of the facility negates its supposed 5-Star rating. Our room had a shower whose water temperature fluctuated radically, a sink that wouldn't drain, a bathroom fan that ran 24/7, a thermostat that did not function, a crazy system of lights where you couldn't read in bed with your bed lamp without an overhead light on, no plug in the bathroom for a hair dryer so you had to use it over the work table. The lobby had two welcoming hearths, but they were only lit 25% of the time in the evening; the concierge was a rookie; and they wanted to charge a 5% commission on a traveller's cheque in euros (that's 1800% interest!). Great place to stay, but only if you get it for a big discount as otherwise you will find it doesn't measure up to a true high class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarKhayyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Dear OmarKhayyam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn you enjoyed our central location.

However I am disappointed to read that we did not meet all your expectations and for this I do apologise . We will investigate these matters further and take your comments into consideration as we make future refurbishment plans. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin in the future and please contact me directly so I can personally take care of your reservation.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Just back from a romantic weekend in Dublin and I couldn't be happier with our hotel selection! From the minute we walked in - I was impressed.
The location is perfect for everything - Temple Bar, Trinity College, and Grafton Street for shopping. I was constantly surprised at how close it was as we arrived to the door!
The rooms was great - we changed rooms as our reservation was for a King and we were initially put in a double. It was rectified immediately and we stayed on the 4th floor (SPG Gold members). The 2nd room was ACE - spaciious, very clean, loads of mirrors and plugs, the bathroom was massive with a separate shower/tub. Very luxurious.
And the reason we always choose a Westin didn't disappoint - the bed!! By far the most comfortable (consistently) bed in any hotel (and I travel all the time.)
Service overall was pretty good as well.
We didn't eat in the restaurant nor bar, so can't comment there.
Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soshbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 5, 2010
Dear soshbfly,

Thank you very much for your positive review of The Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Westin experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again during your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Had the pleasure of a quick overnight in Dublin at the Westin. The hotel has a great ambience, is freshly decorated and the public rooms and bars are in excellent order. Our room was also very clean, well decorated, fully featured and the bed was truly a pleasure to sleep on. We grabbed a late burger in the Mint Bar (along with a Guinness of course) and I have to report that this was one of the finest home made burgers I've eaten - a real surprise and delight. Location of the hotel is perfect for pleasure or business - just yards from Temple Bar and the Grafton Street shopping experience... Hotel staff were all positive, friendly and helpful which really made us feel welcome.
To get to the hotel we took the Aircoach from Dublin Airport which dropped us off 200 metres away and the bus stop for the return to the airport is directly opposite the hotel itself. (Very efficient and comfortable service and excellent value at 12 euro return each). Would we return to the Westin? Oh yes - and soon I hope!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M&DBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear M&DBristol,

Thank you very much for your positive review of The Westin Dublin. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Westin experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

I have never bothered to review anywhere I've stayed but thought this time I should. The hotel was beautiful and not too big so you didn't feel like 'just another guest'.
The staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel very at home.
It was our first trip to Dublin so wanted to see all the sights, many of which were on the doorstep which was ideal. Temple Bar is just across the road which was fun to see but very expensive to have drinks anywhere - tourist prices I guess!
We didn't have dinner in the hotel but had a great breakfast (didn't need lunch after that!!) and I was treated to afternoon tea before we left which was fantastic. They have it in the Atrium which is a beautiful place to sit. Only negative - delayed flight on the way home. All in all, a great weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Dear isabella143,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Westin experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Dublin for another weekend break soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Westin. We had a finely appointed room overlooking the atrium. The room itself was well decorated and spacious. The hotel is pleasantly bright and the bar downstairs is a lot of fun (there was a salsa night when we were there).
It is a fantastic location right in the heart of the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubsthcentralboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinDublin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear dubsthcentralboy,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Westin experience as well as our Salsa night in The Mint Bar, which is regular Friday entertainment.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again during your next visit to Dublin

Best regards,

Andrew R. Henning
General Manager
The Westin Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing