We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
$229
Hilton Garden Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$271
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
$169
Croke Park Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$408
$388
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$270
$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,777)
Filter reviews
2,777 results
Traveler rating
1,718
745
194
63
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,718
745
194
63
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrinity collegeatrium loungeheavenly bedexchange restauranttemple bargrafton streetperfect locationdeluxe roombeautiful hotelfleet streetlarge bathrooman upgradebar downstairsdublin castlethe heart of the citymintconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,575 - 2,580 of 2,777 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Even though we are Dubliners, we stayed in the Westin on New Year's Eve. We checked in in the afternoon and the service was very good, plus we got a glass of champagne which was very nice. I rang in advance to book a car parking space, but I wasn't told over the phone that the charge was €20 for the night! Only when my car was being parked did they mention it.

Anyway, the room was nice, not huge but comfortable. I expected a little more from a five star hotel however. The view looked over Trinity and College Green, which was great.

The bathroom was nice but the shower kept going cold and hot and cold again which was annoying. We headed to the Mint bar before going out; watch out for those cocktails as they cost nearly a tenner! And the beers are generally over 5 euros.

We returned late after ringing in the new year, looking forward to our "heavenly bed". However, heavenly was the last thing that crossed our minds. The mattress was so soft that anytime one of us turned over, we risked rolling the other off the bed! Being a queen sized bed, we found it quite small as we are used to a king. I would've expected big beds to be the norm in a five star hotel. We had a very bad sleep.

We got breakfast in bed the following morning, and, like every hotel I have ever stayed in the world over, the toast was cold. Is there no one willing to invent something to keep toast hot?? Paying €20 each for the privilage of breakfast (about 6 slices of cold toast, two crossaints, two danishes, a small cereal bowl and a pot of coffee) didn't exactly make me feel any better. We should've gone to a local cafe and got something we knew would be good.

So we checked out and our car was waiting at the front, however I had to adjust the seat back to my own driving position and turn the radio off when I started the car. I didn't really expect staff at five star hotels to start fiddling with your seat and your radio as they park your car. As I drove off home I was slightly irritated that we had paid nearly €300 for what amounted to a fairly average stay.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RayCathode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We stayed at the Westin fromm DEc 26 to Dec 31. We had come in to see Christy Moore sing at the Point. We found out later in the week that the head concierge had given all his front dest Irish staff four days off. The concierge we tried to deal with was a traine with poor command of english who knew nothing about Dublin.. My wife asked if he could arrange a trip to the neolithic tomb at New Grange, and he asked if it was a restaurant in town. WE used internet access to make arrangements until the other staff returned. The internet access was 28 euro ($35) a DAY. On leaving, our bill included 20 items from the mini-bar, when we had used two. I was told the refrigerator had electronic sensors, that charged every time an item was picked up, even if it was just moved or returned. They removed the charges, but it made a distastfull end to the stay. The positive is that the physical facility is excellent, but the other problems left a bad overall impression. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davidls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2005

We recently had a long weekend at The Westin Dublin. It was great. We flew in early Friday morning and arrived at the Hotel around 9:30 AM. They did not have our room ready for us (as we expected) but promised that they would do their best to have it between 12 and 1. We checked back at 5 minutes to 12 and they had it ready and had our bags sent up. We had booked a Junior Suite and it was very nice, on the top floor (5th) of the hotel. It was a very large room with a nice sitting area with a sofa, armchair and 2 large ottomans. The bathroom was huge and had a separate standup shower (which was rather small by American standards but over the top by Euro standards) and more than usable and nice. It also had a large soaking tub and lots of space to spread out.

Naturally, the Heavenly Bed was as advertised - Heavenly! Everything else was great, our chambermaid did an excellent job and always seemed to get in to do her work as soon as we left in the morning and get out by the time we were back.

The Mint Bar was pretty cool although the service in there was pretty bad on Sat. night. It was crowded but we were pretty much ignored at the bar for 20 minutes while others were walking in and getting served. Finally one of the waitresses came over and served us.

Overall, the Westin is solid and as nice, if not nicer, than any other we have stayed in other parts of the world. It is luxury but not over the top. Very comfortable and easy to relax in. A bit expensive but you do get what you pay for.

6  Thank Klug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stayed at the Westin for 3 nights in early September. About a week before arrival, we upgraded our room to a deluxe. Checking in at 11.00am was not a problem. I advised the clerk at check in that we had our 6 month old son with us, so the bigger the room the better. He graciously checked us into a huge room with 3 separate seating areas, and views of the rear of the hotel, which partly looks onto Trinity. The marble bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The bed was as good as any other Westin. We did not eat in the hotel but did try the Mint Bar in the basement, which was very nice, and not too badly priced for a hotel bar. We had originally planned on staying two nights, but liked it so much we asked for a third night, which they gave us at the same price, even though the hotels in the city were at capacity due to Ireland v. France match. Overall the staff were extremely professional and polite. We will definitely be staying at the Dublin Westin again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travalot07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2005

After nearly two weeks traveling around Ireland we ended our trip with 3 nights at the Westin. Our stay at the Westin and the City of Dubiln were the highlights of our trip, The hotel could not be more perfectly located, next to Trinity College (be sure to see the Book of Kells!), and within minutes of Temple Bar and Grafton Street. The rooms are equipped with everything you could possibly need, robes, coffee maker, mini bar, hair dryer, safe, internet connections, in room movies, etc. Our first night complimentary slippers were left for us, and each night two bottles of mineral water and glasses were supplied. There was a nice reception one night with a sample of Guinness and seafood. Staff was very helpful as well. Would definitely stay here again.

10  Thank Debkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews