We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably nice!”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
CT, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reliably nice!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

After traveling over night it was wonderful to arrive to a clean and comfortable stay at the Westin. We were able to get into 1 of our 2 rooms early which made things easier for all of us. Location was great, we walked around easily to pubs, restaurants, trinity college and shopping. The doorman was very kind and helpful. It was a bit disappointing that of all 6 places we stayed while in Ireland (and by double the most expensive) it was the only place to charge for WIFI. overall this was a great starting point for our Ireland vacation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 6inourfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 6inourfamily, thank you for taking the time to share your comments following you and your family's stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted to read that you were all happy with your accommodations and were able to take advantage of our location right here in the centre of Dublin city. I hope you all enjoyed your trip around Ireland and had a safe trip back to the US.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    667
    177
    57
    49
See reviews for
455
996
142
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

You expect high quality service, fine features and spacious accommodation when in the Westin. We get that every time we stay. Ross the concierge is more knowledgeable about Dublin city centre than several seasoned doormen in NYC hotels where we stay. We booked several complex taxi journeys through the Westin and discovered the hotel has a business arrangement with a taxi service that feels like a luxury travel option. I appreciate the aroma of fresh cut flowers in the main lobby and believe Westin's atrium is one of the best places in Dublin to read a newspaper. Its tea service is impeccable as well. TIP: Be careful walking around Trinity (300m from the front door) after 11PM at night. You need good street sense to avoid loud and obnoxious people crawling home from the pub.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear topgold thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments after your most recent stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am delighted to be reading your review and all the lovely things you have to say about the hotel and the team. Thanks for your special mention for Ross on our concierge team, he is a great asset to our team and I have passed on your compliments to him. I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back the next time you visit Dublin.
Al the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel in Dublin. It is a fantastic location. The staff is unbelievably accommodating and helpful. The room was nice. However, what was not helpful was the fact that I had booked the room before leaving the states telling them by phone that I had a 15 year old with me who is very tall and would need a bed brought into the room. Upon arriving, I was told that we would have to pay extra for the bed of 45 euros a night. I showed them my confirmation and they didn't honor the price I was quoted. Then when we went back to the hotel after our travels and before leaving for home, the price included the extra bed and was cheaper. Also on the last night they tried to charge us for WiFi. I guess my thought is that one should be very careful upon booking to get a price quoted and have them stick with it. Otherwise, nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, this is a great place to stay if you want to be in the centre of Dublin, and stay in comfort.

Very central location, walking distance to most things.

Fantastic bed!!!. Can not fault the bed in any way. You could stay in it 24/7.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianSG_visiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi BrianSG_visiting Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your three night stay. It is lovely to read your comments and to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am delighted to read that you would stay with us 24/7! Thanks again and we all look forward to your return visit.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We loved staying here, right in the centre of dublin, with very big rooms. The staff were very friendly and had rooms with very nice views. it was a charming hotel with some of the biggest hotel rooms we have ever come across. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the centre of dublin in a large hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 210Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear 210Jenny thank you so much for your lovely comments following your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodations and the team were friendly and helpful. I hope your trip home was a safe and comfortable one.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Located steps from Dublin's famous Temple Bar district, River Liffey, and airport bus, the Westin's location location couldn't have been more convenient. The staff, however, seemed perpetually flustered, and couldn't answer basic questions about the city without referring to Google (e.g., bus stops, relative locations of historic landmarks, etc.) and were sometimes downright inattentive. Though I was the only person waiting, it took 5 minutes to get a receptionist to acknowledge me at check-in. Breakfast was not worth the €24 fee, and compared to every other hotel in Ireland I stayed in during my trip, the €15/day wifi was outrageous. Also beware of the slippery marble floors in bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Evan F thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us here in the Westin Dublin. I am sorry that you were unhappy with several aspects of your stay. I am sorry to read that you found the concierge team to be unhelpful or lacking in knowledge, I have passed your comments on to the head concierge and he is investigating them. I am sorry that you felt this unhappy following your stay as this not how we ant our guests to feel. We appreciate your comments and if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend. Like a lot of others we had booked for the Garth Brooks concert but we had decided to go on ahead and didn't consider cancelling. Peter the doorman is the most welcoming and friendliest member if staff. It was lovely to be greeted by such an affable dubliner. I really hope the management appreciate him! All the staff were efficient and welcoming; smiles and greetings were turned on everytime you walked through the lobby; it was nice but a bit over the top at times. We had a room over looking Westmoorland street and the view was fabulous. Noise was not an issue even though we were steps away from templebar. The cleanliness and comfort was second to none. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and the bathroom was just lovely. I liked the little touches such as lights inside the wardrobe and the iHome docking station and alarm clock. Any requests we made were met imediately and the staff could not have done enough for us. It was a very relaxing stay and definitely a cut above the surrounding 4 star hotels but if I had any niggles to complain about it is the lack of free wifi. Practically everywhere in the city centre provide free wifi. Other hotels do and I don't see why the Westin can't. There is wifi in public areas but it is slow. once you get to your room you have to pay! The staff are extremely professional but a little too professional at times. There was very little conversation or banter entered into. I would like to see the staff be a little more human and less robotic but I Couldn't fault their level if service. We will most certainly be back at the Westin as the location is just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi cmcn2011 and thank you for your lovely comments following your stay with us in the Westin. I am delighted that you decided to come and stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your special mention of Peter he is truly a wonderful asset to the team and we really do appreciate him! Its great to read that you were so happy with your accommodations and you enjoyed a restful night in our 'Heavenly beds'. I am happy that the team looked after your every request and that you will be back to stay with us again. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back to the Westin.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing