We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The building is fantastic, and the room superb. The place is very comfortable if you want to visit the City centre. However, there are works on the street when we visited it last summer. I like the amenities particulary. The people of the Hotel are very friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PatCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello PatCFC and thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments after you visited us from Madrid here at The Westin Dublin. It’s great that you liked your room and enjoyed the hotel and our fantastic location. I am delighted that the team were friendly looked after your needs while you were with us. Thanks again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Dublin.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Westin is an absolute magnificent hotel! Every last detail oozes class. The staff are polite helpful friendly and courteous.The room was amazing with not a single detail missed. The bed to was amazing. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I had a truly 5 star experience. The Mint bar was fantastic. The cocktails were delicious And the food was second to none. If your thinking of luxury then i assure you this is the place for you. Its also located bang smack in the middle of Dublin with everything within walking distance.
It is a must for those of you who wish to experience a 5 star Hotel. I would recommend it to everyone. I also particularly liked the option to donate €1 on checking out to UNICEF. Very nice to see it being offered as a service. 5 Stars

Room Tip: Its only downside is that the don't have a pool Request a room with a view...... Breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishballycotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hi fishballycotton
Thank you so much for your lovely comments after you visited us here in The Westin Dublin. I am delighted to read that your stay was the lap of luxury! I am very happy to read that the team were friendly and helpful. Do give the Mint another visit as we have just finished a renovation there and it has a lovely new feel to it. I hope you will visit us again from Ballycotton and we look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I made reservations at the hotel for 2 rooms overnight from February 2nd to 3rd. This hotel is well located in Dublin close to the Liffey and Temple bar and other attractions in the city. I am a platinum starwood member and generally choose Westin hotels over any other brand including other Starwood brands and my experience is generally very positive. My customer experience at the Westin Dublin was the poorest I have encountered in some years in any premium branded hotel across the Americas, Europe and Asia, From the moment I walked through the door my high expectations of the Westin brand were not met as follows:

Attempted to check in at 11.30 AM ( this is early and generally is not a problem but certainly it is understandable that the room might not be ready). I also understood that the hotel was busy but when I inquired as to when we might be able to check in, rather than the front desk being helpful so we could plan a few hours by checking as to the status of the rooms a, check out time of the incumbent etc etc , I was reminded of the policy for check in was 3PM - ie I was read the policy!!. This is not how to serve any customer in a premier branded hotel, more like a call center response for a budget airline!!!

The same check in clerk then went on to assure me that he would call me when either room was available. I came back at 1.00 PM and was checked in only to get a call from the original clerk at 2.15PM to say my room was ready, clearly good customer service was not high on the agenda.

Generally on check in at a Starwood property, the check in clerk will recognize the status of a member and explain the benefits at the hotel. This did not happen

AT 7PM, I called to have the turn down service come and refresh the room and was assured that "someone would be right up". I returned to the room after dinner at 10.30 to find that there had been no turn down service and therefore towels etc had not been replaced, beds needed to be made, drinking water not replenished

Called guest services in the morning to ask for a clothes brush. Was told that they did not have one....a little surprising.

Breakfast at the hotel is the typical buffet style was the ability to order also, service was polite although slow despite almost nobody in the restaurant at the time

On check out, my bill had 4 errors 3 charges for HSIA which is complementary for a platinum preferred member and an erroneous mini bar charge.

My overall sense was the the hotel aspires to provide the type of service you could expect in a premier branded hotel situated in an international city but falls well short due to spotty service at best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel. Upgraded on arrival, everything was perfect. Rooms clean and spacious, comfortable bed. Bathroom bright and clean. Staff we're exceeding friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Aidan5046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi Aidan5046
Thanks so much for your nice review after your visit with us here in The Westin Dublin. I am delighted to read that your stay was excellent! I am delighted to read that you will visit us again and we look forward to your return visit.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had our wedding here at considerable expense. The hotel provided a very low number of points considering the expenditure that was made - approx .66 points per $1 spent as opposed to normal 3 points per $1. The explanation offered is that the wedding was classified as an "event" and thus doesn't count towards SPG points, which makes no sense to me.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank RoryOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear RoryOF,

Thank you for your review and your feedback.

We appreciate your comments and will continue to address your concerns offline. Please feel free to reach out to me directly

Best regards,

Fred Smits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited Dublin as a birthday treat, the hotel is ideally located, However 5 stars does not merit this property a nice 4 star is the rating I would give. Rooms clean, public toilets shelving was dusty, staff on reception and dinner were lovely and friendly, shame that can't be said for the atrium staff who looked down their nose at us and only became nicer once they realised that we were residents!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AMcK_0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hello AMcK_0305
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us. I am so sorry to read that you felt the team in the Atrium were not friendly or welcoming to you. This is not how I want our guests to feel after they visit us and I am looking into the incident you have mentioned. I do hope that you will return to us for a visit and we get a chance to improve how you feel about us here in the Westin.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went for afternoon tea during day trip to Dublin. Luckily we had booked in advance as turned out to be quite busy. Chose this place based on afternoon tea menu, seemed more interesting and reasonable compared to other hotels. We definately made the correct decision

We arrived early so were encourage to try the Vault bar for a drink. lovely cocktails. Only let down was there was no table service and drinks were a wee bit slow, but I suppose thats only to be expected for traditional cocktails, and they did taste beauiful.

Brought our cocktails to the Atrium where afternoon tea was served and we were wowed by the room. Really bright and beautiful.

service was friendly and prompt. We opted for the "peculiar" afternoon teaand the food was amazing! it was interesting and tasty. not just style over substance. We still talk about our experience here and the exceptional value. Would be prepared to pay much more for what we got!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jc1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi jc1102
Thanks for your lovely review it is always our aim to ensure our guests are this pleased after a visit with us. You are so right our most peculiar afternoon is a great experience. I am delighted to read that the team were friendly and efficient. It’s great to read that you are still talking about your afternoon tea and I hope it is not too long before you visit us for another one!
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $224 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing