We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Dublin”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenson Ranch, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in Dublin”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We usually come to Dublin to see family, but we always end up staying at least one night at the Westin. The hotel is beautiful, and unlike many other historical buildings that have been converted into hotels, the rooms are spacious and modern (at least the ones we have stayed in). The location is just phenomenal! We usually can see Trinity College from our window, Temple Bar is just a short walk away, and you are only about a block from Grafton Street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello KimTC
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments after your stay with us. I am delighted to read that we are your favourite place to stay. Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel building and the next time you visit us ask the team to show you our banking hall which is really worth a visit. You are so right we are very lucky with our location we are right in the centre of Dublin. I hope we will have the chance to look after you again very soon.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    666
    177
    57
    49
See reviews for
455
995
142
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night last week. Right slap bang in the centre of Dublin this is a great spot to be. Arrived around noon and managed to get into my room straight away despite normal 3pm check in. Finding your room can be a bit of a challenge and my room was on the 2nd floor which had three or floor stairs to handle halfway around the hall. Once room found the room is modern, clean, decent size and had a nice bathroom. The wifi isn't free but 15 euro for high speed and 3 devices which isn't too bad. Bathroom old fashioned classic style but with modern taps/etc. The only real downside was that around half the tv channels didn't work or where out of signal service.

Would stay again if in Dublin!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello u600358 and thanks for your nice comments I am always happy when our guests say that they will come back to stay with us again. I am sorry that you found the layout on your floor difficult, I don't know if you know but the hotel was originally a bank and the lay out can sometimes be quirky. I have mentioned your issue to our front office manager and she is going to ensure that it is mentioned to our guests on check in. I must apologise that the television was not working and have passed your comments on to our engineer. We do look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spent 3 nights here booked through Secret Escapes post New Year. What a wonderful surprise. A very welcoming reception area and very friendly staff. The room on the first floor overlooked an inner atrium dining area. This made it a very quiet room away from the traffic, but we did have remember to dress appropriately before through opening the curtains!! Most of the dinners gave a smile and a wave :) The room was very comfortable and warm. the bed was fabulously comfortable. The bathroom was also up to the mark.

Complaints : a minibar fridge which was sensor operated so it could be used to store anything personal e.g medication.

A ridiculously tariff for internet usage. We are used to travelling in Asia where it is offered everywhere for free.

Best for location and quality of the room.

Room Tip: Inner facing rooms no access to the outside, daylight or fresh air, but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi PaulMCardiff thank you for your review of the Westin Dublin after you stayed with us, its great to read such nice comments. Thanks for your nice mention of the team and I am happy that you were pleased with your accommodations, I am glad that you enjoyed a restful night in one of our 'Heavenly beds'. The next time you stay with us if you need a fridge to store your medication please do let us know and we will be happy to help you. I hope you had a pleasant trip back to Cardiff and that we will see you again in the future.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Was happy with the room and the service, which was friendly and efficient. There was free wifi included in the rate. Room was not enormous but was comfortable and the bathroom was nicely appointed.

I like the common areas in this hotel. The bar in the basement, the restaurant at ground floor and the atrium cafe on the mezzenine are all nice places to spend a bit of time. Breakfast was good - quality of cooked food was above the norm. Tea was pricey in the atrium cafe - EUR 4.50 for a cup of tea, come on!

Recently stayed in the Westbury for business. Both are good hotels but I prefer the Westin. The common areas are nicer in my opinion and the Wesbury charge extra for cooked breakfast which is a joke given the room rate. Quality of rooms is similar though.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better if you are at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear COL333 thanks for your positive comments after you stayed with us here in The Westin Dublin. Its great to read that you were happy with so many aspects of your stay I am very happy to read that the team were friendly and efficient. I hope you will drop into us for a look at the newly refurbished Mint Bar next week when we re-open. I look forward to welcoming you again back to the Westin.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really like this hotel. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The location is great and everything in Dublin is close by and within walking distance. I recommend the Mint Bar in the basement, especially on Fridays and Saturdays when they tend to have live music.

The only disappointing thing has been the breakfast; not really up to 5-star standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello Sampaholic Thanks for your kind words and thank you fro taking the time to share your comments. I am always delighted when our guests recommend us as this is a through praise indeed. We are in the middle of a refurbishment of The Mint bar and will be finished in a couple of days. I hope you will like it when we see you on your next visit. Thanks again.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Westin Dublin was the perfect place to kick-off our 2-week family visit to Ireland. Location was perfect. Right in the city center, walking distance to Temple Bar area and Trinity College and a block away from an airport bus stop and a hop-on-hop-off tour pick up point. Service was fantastic, including acknowledgement and upgrades for SPG status - even us lowly Golds ;-). We arrived before our rooms were ready, but that was fine...as a light breakfast in the well-appointed Atrium Lounge was a good place to eat, relax and wait - chairs were super lush and - given our trans-Atlantic flight from Los Angeles - it was hard not to drift off to sleep. Concierge rocked...got us a last minute seat at a hip farm to table restaurant nearby. Breakfast buffet in hotel's Exchange Restaurant was stellar - full Irish was of course available, but there were also plenty of standard American options - for those who thrive on pancakes and the like. Check out Mint Bar in the basement...dark woods, low lights, creative and tasty mixology...great spot for an afternoon drink before heading out to dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADayontheLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear A_West_Coast_Foodie
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is lovely to read your comments and to read that you had such a great time with us. I am so happy that the team looked after you and found you great places to eat and I have passed your comments on to them. I am delighted that you were happy with your accommodations, thanks again from all of us here in The Westin Dublin.
Be Well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having left our sons off at Dublin airport we had decided to treat ourselves to a short city break in Dublin before heading home. i assume because it was a Saturday traffic was light and using the sat nav it was easy to find on Westmoreland street in the city centre. The on duty door man took our car and parked it underground and we booked in. We had arrived early not expecting to have a room to go to as book-in was not until 3pm, however our room was ready.
Room was well appointed, clean, neat and just what you would expect from a 5* hotel with all the usual refinements including bathrobes, toiletries, tea, coffee and mini bar etc
Staff at all levels were attentive, courteous and helpful at all times
Breakfast was part of our booking and was wide ranging and plentiful with a choice of full Irish or Continental or both for that matter.
Very well located in the city centre close to the Temple Bar area, Gresham St and O'Connell St.
The only down side of the trip was the extra charges added to the bill. Obviously you pay a premium price for a city centre 5* hotel however i would have thought that a hotel of this quality would have had free wifi in the rooms and not just in the lobby. I had to pay 15 euros for 24hrs of wifi. i also had to pay for the car parking another 25 euros for 24hrs.
To finish on a positive note the break was enjoyable and the Westin is perfectly placed to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing