We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
NI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one night break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having left our sons off at Dublin airport we had decided to treat ourselves to a short city break in Dublin before heading home. i assume because it was a Saturday traffic was light and using the sat nav it was easy to find on Westmoreland street in the city centre. The on duty door man took our car and parked it underground and we booked in. We had arrived early not expecting to have a room to go to as book-in was not until 3pm, however our room was ready.
Room was well appointed, clean, neat and just what you would expect from a 5* hotel with all the usual refinements including bathrobes, toiletries, tea, coffee and mini bar etc
Staff at all levels were attentive, courteous and helpful at all times
Breakfast was part of our booking and was wide ranging and plentiful with a choice of full Irish or Continental or both for that matter.
Very well located in the city centre close to the Temple Bar area, Gresham St and O'Connell St.
The only down side of the trip was the extra charges added to the bill. Obviously you pay a premium price for a city centre 5* hotel however i would have thought that a hotel of this quality would have had free wifi in the rooms and not just in the lobby. I had to pay 15 euros for 24hrs of wifi. i also had to pay for the car parking another 25 euros for 24hrs.
To finish on a positive note the break was enjoyable and the Westin is perfectly placed to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    648
    171
    53
    47
See reviews for
439
953
138
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is very near Trinity College and the pedestrian shopping area that leads up to it. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff was attentive and arranged for car rentals, dining suggestions, assisted with maps and so forth. There is a small sitting area with a bar and light fare that is pleasant and well appointed. It is a nice place for a small meeting, or a relaxing drink in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello Wanderlust_FW
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments after your stay with us when you visited from Fort Worth. I am very happy to read that you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay. Thank you for your nice comments about the team, I have shared your review with them. I believe you are talking about the Atrium and you are so right it is a lovely oasis of calm in the centre of Dublin city. I hope we will have the chance to look after you again very soon.
Be well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was my third stay at the Westin Dublin, this time 2 nights on a business trip. The location makes it the best choice for both business and pleasure, the facilities are very good, and the service flawless. I like the small but well equipped gym, as well as the lobby and common areas, stylish but not opulent. I had a junior suite, very spacious, well appointed, perfect to rest, to get work done and to relax. The marble bathroom was very big and comfortable.
The continental breakfast I had on both days was perfectly adequate. The choice of breads, pastry, cold cuts, cheese and fruit is plentiful - not extraordinary lavish but certainly more than adequate for any taste. There is even a machine to cook fresh pancakes! I found the (young) staff on duty both mornings extremely polite, professional and efficient, ready to accomodate any request.
In short, I had a perfect stay and needless to say I’ll stay again if I’m back in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingo_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Bingo_the _Dog
Thanks for your nice review after your visit here in The Westin Dublin. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well. I am very happy to read that you were pleased with your accommodations. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you for a fourth time! Thanks again for your lovely comments and I look forward to your next visit.
Vriendelijke groeten
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have spent 3 days in this very conveniently located westin Dublin at the end of our NYE trip to Ireland.

The plus of this place is undoubtedly the location, close to train station, right in the city centre and every bus to the airport stop in front of the hotel.

We had an upgrade from deluxe to Junior suite for a supplement. The room itself was nice and clean, decent size, nice sitting area and huge marble bathroom. Some part of the ceiling was a bit too low for tall people though.

Like in every westin, we had of course nice king size "heavenly bed". I love it so much that I have pruchased the same to equiped my own bedroom so I know quite enough how to do the bed and for that I must say that the housekeeper have some lack of pratice because the bed was not reality well done at all. when you look closer the sheets were very messy and one side was short another was long, duvet not properly inserted in the cover it was quite disapointing for a 5 star westin...

They were no proper turn down service but instead, the house keeping brouhgt water and a bucket of ice at 8.30pm which was quite out of subject. the bed was turn down and she even re-enter the room without knocking eventhough she knew we were inside !!

The breakfast was not as good I would would expected it was a crowdy day around NYE and they were not that much variety of choices, plus some problem in refilling. Floors were quite dirty with food evreywhere as there were many children that day espacially around the couch area. They were nobody to sweep the floor before giving the table to new guests coming-in as I had been observing.

A five star hotel should be more careful of those small details...

The common area was quite nice the lobby was small but cosy there were nothing to compare it with and nothing to complain about as well as for the atrium lounge which was quite like an extension of the lobby as you would prefer to sit in the lounge and in the lobby to have a chat or to be connected to wifi. I didn't have time to pay a visit to the fitness but it was a pity they don't have a swiming pool though

The personnel was friendly and professional eventhough some receptionnists looked a bit stressed I I presume the hotel was fully booked with a wedding going on the 31/12/13...

The check-out was quite efficient and everything went quick.

As conclusion I quite like staying at The Westin and I think it's of the best choice for staying in Dublin. But according to my experience I would down grade this hotel to a 4 star / 4+ star as some detail of the service was not there yet to make it properly a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear ACVK
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us. Thank you for the nice comments about the team and I am happy to read that you found them to be friendly and professional. You are so right we are very lucky with our location right here in the centre of Dublin city. However I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. I have spoken with our executive housekeeper and she would like me to pass along her apologies for how your bed was made up. She has spoken with the housekeeper in question who has been retrained. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the breakfast service, as you say the hotel was extremely busy but this should not have affected the service. I agree that attention to detail is very important and is something I hope we always provide and I must apologise if we let you down on this visit. I do hope we will see you again and have the chance to look after you and improve you feelings about us in the Westin Dublin.
Should you wish to discuss this further I would ask you to contact me directly. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.
Kind regards
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My 3 kids and I spent 5 days in Dublin sight seeing and eating. The Westin was beyond perfect. Our rooms were huge, thanks to the Amex upgrade, and so comfortable. The rooms connected so we felt like we had a suite. It is a perfect way to travel with older kids because everyone has privacy but we are all very near. We ate breakfast every morning in the restaurant. (part of a breakfast included deal) and the choices were great and food delicious. We staff was angelic and made every effort to be helpful. The concierge was always at the ready with great ideas for adventure. The location was perfect. I worked out every morning and the gym was clean and Equiptment fine. In the afternoons while we had a rest hour, I would sit by one of the fireplaces and read. We were all very comfortable at a very competitive price. Westin had me at hello.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Wendy T
It is so encouraging to read such a positive review and I appreciate you taking the time to post it. I am very happy that you and your family had such a lovely stay with us. It’s great that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and the team looked after you and helped you to explore Dublin. have shared your lovey comments with them all and they are delighted, thanks again. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin the next time you visit.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Grand accommodations, ambience and service...from Front Desk to Conceirge to wait staff. Location the best for walking all around Dublin, from Trinity College, Temple Bar, parks, carless blocks for window shopping with fun entertainment at the curbside. Also close to busline should you care to venture further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccapone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ccapone4
Thanks for your lovely comments; I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit from Michigan! We are very lucky with our location and I am glad you benefited from that. I have passed your nice comments on to the team and I do hope you will visit us again the next time you visit Dublin.
Slan agus beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, IE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed over at the Westin Dublin for Christmas, and the experience was second to none. The location is amazing, just besides Trinity College and in front of Temple Bar. Personnel at the reception and the concierge were super friendly and always happy to help. Breakfast was very good, but in case you'd like to have something light you may want to go to the Starbucks that's practically besides the hotel. Another plus is the high quality of the rooms. My bed was very comfortable and even when the hotel is in such a centric location, the rooms aren't noisy. I know a lot of hotels in Dublin, and definitively the Westin is one of my favourites.

In summary, if you're looking for a luxury accommodation with a great bar in one of the best spots in Dublin, look no more and book here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi IrishMX, I appreciate you posting your review following your stay with us. It is fantastic to read that you were happy with your room allocation and enjoyed a refreshing nights rest in our ‘Heavenly Beds’. You are so right we are very lucky with our location right here in the centre of Dublin. I am delighted that the team looked after you well during your stay with us, thanks again for your kind words and I am delighted that we are one of your favourite hotels in Dublin! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing