We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at The Westin for 5 nights and really enjoyed it! It is centrally located and we walked everywhere! Shops, restaurants and pubs were steps away. There was a nice irish breakfast buffet in the restaurant on the first floor that we enjoyed and the Tearoom on the second floor was lovely with a high ceiling. Apparently the hotel used to be a bank. The Mint Bar in the basement used to be the vault and we loved the atmosphere and enjoyed live music there at night. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. The only issue we had was a musty damp smell in the room. When I called about it they were nice and tried very hard to fix it. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Betsy m
Thank you so much for your nice comments after you and your family stayed with us for five nights here in The Westin Dublin. You are so right we do have a fantastic location here in the centre of Dublin.
It is good to read that you were happy with your accommodations when you have stayed and that you enjoyed breakfast with us.
I am happy that you found the time to enjoy our afternoon tea in The Atrium; it is such a lovely experience, thanks again.
Slan agus Beannacht
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    650
    171
    53
    47
See reviews for
442
955
138
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are Starwood members so we always like to try out their hotels when we travel. The Westin chain is never a disappointment. As usual with this hotel they are in one of the best locations to walk everywhere. Temple Bar and Trinity College are across the street. Most places are in walking distance. We had a great room, comfy and quiet. Their breakfast is good and their service is very good too. Lovely Atrium inside for tea or a pre-dinner drink. Good value .

Room Tip: Rooms not on the main street are quiet , high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybeachsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi sandybeachesareus, its great that you recieved a wonderful Westin welcome from the team. Here in The Westin Dublin we are so lucky with our city centre location which means it is really easy to go sightseeing and explore Dublin. Its great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Thanks for sharing your comments with us.
Be Well
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

great location, friendly and well qualified staff, nice rooms (the larger deluxe rooms are really nice), good room service, great breakfast in a nice setting, clean and fresh appearance overall

no doubt, will return when back in dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review its great to read comments like yours. I am delighted that your five star experience means that you will return the next time you are in Dublin - that is our ultimate goal and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second stay here: we thought our son and his fiancee might appreciate a weekend in Dublin (they did), and would like a bit of luxury (they did). At this rate, they won't need to worry about inheritance tax...Not cheap, particularly if you succumb (as we did) to the offer of an upgrade when we arrived. Full marks to the desk staff for letting us choose from the various types of room available. Massive amount of wardrobe/drawer space, which seems to be less and less common these days. Couldn't fault the staff: brilliant concierge, really helpful reception, excellent bar. Can recommend the Friday night salsa as viewing entertainment rather than participating. Free bottled water, replenished, in room: a nice touch. Unlike some other reviewers, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast (included in our room rate). On top of all this, the location is absolutely unbeatable.

Room Tip: Ask Reception nicely if you can view possibilities on arrival (or ring them beforehand and try and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi John B and thanks for your lovely review of The Westin Dublin. It’s great to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. I am delighted to read that the whole team helped you to enjoy your stay with us. It’s great to read that you were happy with breakfast and the entertainment in The Mint.! Thanks for your nice comments and the team in The Westin Dublin look forward to your return visit from The UK.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dublin was busy and was attending a trade conference with some work colleagues - Our usual haunts were booked out so stayed in Westin.:

Location excellent , Concierge pleasant & valet parking appreciated - Good start.

The Foyer was nice and we had a drink & snack in pleasant surroundings in bar before going out to dinner in Shanaghans ( Beautiful meal by the way ).

On our return we still had plenty to discuss and decided to head to residents bar - there was none. We requested a drink from the night staff who said it was only available in bedrooms. We asked to have one charged to room but delivered to atrium or foyer but none available.

We had one drink sent to our bedroom and resumed discussions/negotiations , but shortly had a request from neighbouring room to be quiet. We were not drunk or rowdy , and merely discussing business but felt forced to cut short our discussions and retire for the night.

Our requests to have a drink and somewhere to talk were treated curtly ( rudely ) by night staff and marred our trip significantly.

On reading the in room literature it said the breakfast was available until 11.30. We nipped out for a stroll and chat before returning for breakfast at 10.45 only to be told that breakfast was over & nothing was available. ( We could order to the bedroom until 11.30 but otherwise breakfast stops @ 10am). Our mistake for not checking properly but we were never told of cut off time when checking in .

Summary ,
Great location , nice foyer & bar area , dated and slightly musty corridors/rooms but overall not a bad package.
For any social event or work related activity where you might want late facilities to socialise or work it is not suitable & night staff are not interested in any kind of service or facilitation of requests.

Had to go to Cafe for breakfast due to miscommunication so can`t comment on that. Might stay again for location provided I planned to be in bed early , but would hope usual hotels ( Fitzwilliam or Merrion) were available instead .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello James C
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in The Westin Dublin.
Thanks for your nice comments about our concierge team, however I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with a couple of aspects of your stay.
I would like to apologise to you as you were unhappy with the service you received while you stayed with us. I have passed your comments to our Front Office manager and we are investigating them as we do not accept anyone on the team being rude to our guests. I am very sorry that there was a mix-up with the times for breakfast; I am going to change our signs to inform our guests that breakfast is available from 7.00am till 10.00am.
If you would like to get in contact with me directly I would be delighted to speak with you about these issues thanks again.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Westin Dublin and liked the hotel very much. Our room (a "Writers Room") was excellent, quite spacious with two windows, a large flat screen TV, excellent tea and coffee making facilities and a mini-bar (oddly with little in it). Bottled water was free and was replaced daily. There was loads of drawer and wardrobe space, a welcome change from some other recent experiences. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern with a tiled floor ( a bit cold - could have done with slippers to go with the robes!) Everything was beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. Service from the concierges was excellent; they helped a great deal with the problem of a bag missing at the airport. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We ate once in the Mint Bar, where both food and service was lovely. The only disappointment for us was breakfast. On the first day we paid 19.50 euros each for the full Irish breakfast, but it really wasn't good enough for that price (scrambled egg, not great and no other choices, unpleasant sausages). We stuck with the continental breakfast after that, which was 14.50 and quite acceptable. One day I ordered a special granola with fresh fruit and yoghurt, quite small and nowhere near worth the 11.50 charged. Service at breakfast sometimes got a bit chaotic. The breakfast disappointment was a pity, as otherwise our experience at this hotel was extremely positive. If you take a car and plan to be out and about only to leave it overnight, you may wish to avoid the hotel's car park charge of 25 euros by parking across the road (off Fleet Street) for 9 euros (from 6pm to 9am). As everyone else has said, the hotel is superbly situated.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front - on the 4th floor overlooking Westmoreland Street. We were not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello curlycat
Thank you for your lovely review after you stayed with us here in The Westin Dublin.
I am delighted that the team looked after you while you visited, and helped you locate a lost bag. It’s great to read that you were happy with your room and enjoyed a good night’s rest in our ‘Heavenly bed’. However I am very sorry to read that you were unhappy with the quality of the food that you had for your breakfast. I have passed your comments on to our chef and he is investigating this problem.
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit from the UK.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 weeks over a long business trip.

Overall the experience is great - excellent location in city center, clean, classy room with good amenity. For instance, it is not common to have 24/7 gym facilities at a good hotel in Ireland. I was training for marathon and it's almost impossible to run outdoor in Dublin during the winter - so the 24/7 gym was my best friend. The Irish buffet breakfast is nice and hearty - staff in the restaurant are friendly and could address me by name after my first week of stay (can't match Four Season standard yet).

However, I am not super impressed with some of the service. For instance, as some other reviewer pointed out, there is no staff standing at the front door. When you arrive with your luggage, no one will come out to help you haul the luggage. This is even worse when you find there is a few steps to climb before reaching the reception desks. I pointed it out to the manager but it doesn't seem to be solved yet.

SPG recognition seems to be poor too. During my entire stay of 7 weeks, there was nothing other than some fruits on first check-in night. Granted that my whole stay was considered one stay as I didn't check out, but thought they could have done a better job rewarding a long term loyal customer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shusang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear shusang
I would like to thank you for choosing The Westin Dublin and also for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the service during your stay and I would like to take this opportunity to offer my apologies for any frustration you experienced during your stay.
I would ask you to get in contact with me directly if you would like to discuss the issues you mentioned in your review.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.
All the best
Fred Smits
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing