We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and beds!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Location and beds!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I had read the reviews about the Westin, the few negative ones as well, and was curious what it would turn out to be. Well, I can honoustly say the Westin was a wonderfull experience! Location: hard to beat. Staff: very friendly and helpfull. And the beds, ahhh those wonderfull beds!!! We were in the Mint bar in the basement as well, and I had read a review complaining about the staff there. All I can say is that they were working hard and were friendly, no complaints whatsoever. There was free Wifi, in the lobby and restaurants but on my room as well. And it was quick enough.
Is it worth the money? Well, in my opinion, Dublin as a city is overpriced, but that goes for pretty much anything. But all in all the Dublin Westin was one of my more pleasant experiences as a hotelguest.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Bart v

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of The Westin Dublin.

It is such a pleasure to hear that you were happy with your stay and you enjoyed your nights rest in our ‘Heavenly Beds’. I am delighted that the team in The Mint looked after you when you visited the bar.
I do look forward to welcoming you again to The Westin Dublin.
Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    643
    168
    53
    46
See reviews for
429
945
136
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel exudes comfort and serenity. Although the Westin is located in the centre of Dublin, it is imbued with great calm and peacefulness. I stayed here for about six nights in February at a room rate of Euro 145 a night. My deluxe room was located on the fourth floor and it boasted a great view over the rooftops of Trinity College and down the full length of Pearse Street. I slept like a dream there, cocooned in the large bed by the all-enveloping mattress and sheets which are designed to make life luxurious for weary travellers. Not being the slimmest person in the world, I was also impressed by the large bright bathroom with its capacious bath and separate shower with high-powered jets of water which woke me up rapidly in the mornings.

Despite negative murmurings in an earlier Tripadvisor review about the breakfasts, I could not fault them. I thought the Irish breakfast was excellent. (I suspect that some American travellers are simply not used to "full on" Irish breakfasts and this is why they are critical of them). And the coffee arrives at your table freshly brewed together with the freshest of orange juices. And for those guests who are not receptive to Irish breakfasts, there is a great selection of fruits, cheeses, meats and fish which will sate your collective appetites for food. The breakfast room itself is a congenial and aesthetically pleasing place, where many of the business guests take the opportunity to unwind by having lighthearted conversations with their colleagues before facing the challenges of the working day.

For casual dining, there are two great locations in this hotel. The Atrium lounge which serves a selection of sandwiches and soups as well as great afternoon teas. It is difficult to beat the ambience of this location on a cold winter's afternoon when the rain lashes the glass roof overhead and you can take solace in the comfort of the armchairs situated just beside the warmth of a roaring fire. The Mint Bar, which is located in the basement of the hotel, serves a selection of tasty meat and fish dishes. When I ordered a gin and tonic there, the man in charge of the place talked me out of ordering Schweppes to mix with my Hendrix gin, introducing me instead to a couple of new herb-based tonics which have just been introduced to the market. I am grateful to him insofar as both of the new drinks (which I tried in separate G &Ts) added a huge zing to my Hendrix gin.

I liked this hotel so much I have booked another week's stay there in early April.

Room Tip: Worth spending an additional Euro 15-25 for a deluxe room with panoramic views of Dublin streetscape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear insightful
I appreciate you taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our hotel. I will be glad to pass your comments, on to our team here which will be very well received.
I am delighted that you felt refreshed and rejuvenated after your rest in our ‘Heavenly beds’. It is lovely to read your description of The Atrium it is truly an inspirational haven of in the centre of Dublin city.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to your visit with us at The Westin Dublin in April.

Kind Regards
Andrew Henning
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Dublin at the end of February 2013. The room with two single beds was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was large and accommodating and included both a shower and large bath tub - a plus! We arrived much earlier than our check-in and although our room was not yet ready, reception happily held on to our bags and had them waiting in our room when we returned from sightseeing. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay!

If the staff and accommodation were excellent, the location was amazing. The Westin is situated right next to to Temple Bar, Dame Street, O'Connell Street and Trinity College. Everything that we wanted to see or do was in close walking distance. Museums, historical sites, restaurants, pubs, live music, shopping, and ATMs were all nearby - even the sightseeing tour buses met close by in the mornings. Amazingly, the Westin was always quiet and peaceful inside despite its central location!

We would definitely suggest the Westin Dublin as a great place to relax and enjoy the great city of Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear happytraveler1902

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable while you visited Dublin and that you could access all the attractions at your own ease. We are very lucky with our location and I am dleighted you enjoyed the calm oasis of The Westin Dublin in the centre of Dublin city.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Dublin.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and it just got better and better particularly the
Staff, who could not do enough for us to make us feel welcome and it was done and delivered in such a genuine caring way that we marked this up as a hotel we would definitely return to in the future.

Room Tip: We wanted to be able to have a view of Dublin City an we were not disappointed - despite the fact we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaghLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear AnnaghLondon

Thank you very much for posting your review of The Westin Dublin. It is so encouraging to receive such kind comments from our guests.

I am delighted to be reading your review at this time and to hear that the team helped make your stay a memorable one.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

What's great about this place is first, the staff and then the fact it is in a cute original georgian building, which is very cosy and then of course the location. They have that featured glass atrium like so many of theirs do, although the one in Paris is hard to beat....Anyway beautifully appointed rooms, zero tolerance for smoking and if you get a room overlooking College green even better..
Very handy for the bus to the airport also which is right across the street.
Afternoon tea with the music in the salon is lovely too especially when its pouring outside, fir lit, scones and tea and a lovely wine list too

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the street as the windows open,,....esp if you are there during marathon or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiMMiami Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear NikkiMMiami Beach

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts after your stay with us in The Westin Dublin.
I am delighted your accommodations suited you and you were afforded some time to enjoy some of the features of our 19th Century listed building. We are so lucky with the fantastic Atrium a calm oasis for afternoon tea in Dublin city centre.
Thank you again and I do look forward to welcoming you back again to The Westin Dublin.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location and so much character!
Love the live music on the weekends coming from the Mint bar, creates an excellent atmosphere in the reception area.
Staff very friendly.
.
Temple Bar 5 minwalk, excellent Thai resto just accross the street.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatKavLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear PatKavLux

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed The Mint bar and you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.

Best Regards
Andrew Henning,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Westin Dublin is a perfect location. In fact it is in the most ideal location in Dublin. Yards from Temple Bar and Trinity College and only a couple of blocks to Grafton Street, the Liffey and O'Connell St.
The hotel is a beautiful conversion from a georgian bank. Well done and somehow done so well it is now has a warm atmosphere. Front desk staff are well trained and friendly. The housekeeping staff is really outstanding.
I only gave it a 4 because of the food standard. One day I had the full Irish breakfast. It was a fairly sad steam table affair. Another, a continental breakfast, was some cereal and fruit but ruined by stale bread, croissants and probably the worst waffle I have ever tried.
The bar in the basement is very pleasant and serves serviceable sandwiches etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear mlk1
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts after your stay with us in The Westin Dublin.
I am glad you enjoyed the features of our 19th Century listed building. I am delighted to read your comments about our front office staff and our housekeeping team.
However I am very sorry to read that you were unhappy with the quality of food in the restaurant. This is not the standard we aspire to and I have passed your comments on to our restaurant manager.
Thank you again and I do look forward to welcoming you back again to the Westin Dublin.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing