We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #10 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly the location is excellent ,I should know I live in Dublin ,the entrance and lobby is very non descript ,featureless.the rooms are ok clean and a standard you'd expect from a five star hotel.Bar very expensive,ordered breakfast was an extra 40 euro all in all for one night with two drinks and breakfast 280euro ,a lot better value to be had out there and better quality I feel ,but for location great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danield150769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear danield 150769
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in The Westin Dublin.
I am disappointed to read that you were not completely happy with your stay while you were with us. Our breakfast menu has many items that you could enjoy; the continental breakfast buffet is €14.50 and A La Carte menu options start from €9.00. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the breakfast; I do believe we offer excellent value and our prices are very competitive compared to other five star hotels in Dublin.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Westin Dublin soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    667
    177
    57
    49
See reviews for
455
996
142
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was treated to A very Peculiar Afternoon Tea on Saturday afternoon at The Westin. A Victorian Mojito served in a beautiful china teapot (Hendrix Gin) The food arrived on 3 black slates balanced on a stainless steel frame, which looked amazing! Prawn cheek on a silver spoon in Stilton Aioli, Prawns in a Charcoal Cone, Spiced Roast Beef Wrap, Oak Smoked Salmon with Caviar Cream a wicked Black Olive Tepenade with Goats Cheese, Walnut & Banana Bread, Tarragon Cookie with White Chocolate & Lime Ganache, Popping Marshmallows, Fragipane Tart, Toffee Popcorn Crumble & a Chocolate & Sea Salt Brownie. The flavours were stunning! I could talk about this for day's! Service immaculate, surroundings in the Atrium second to none. If you want to impress someone this year or anytime this is the one. Amazeballs!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear snoopy036

It is a great pleasure and so encouraging to receive such positive feedback from our guests. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience, and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our team in The Atrium.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.

Kindest regards
Andrew Henning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A nice hotel centrally located but the rooms were quiet. The bedroom was a good size (and the bathroom had a great shower) and had everything you'd expect other than free wifi. 15 EUR for 24 hours.


If you step outside the hotel there is free Wifi all around and not sure why a supposedly good hotel could not provide the same.

I found it unusual that housekeeping didn't replace the shampoo & shower gel bottles but turned them upside down. The shampoo was terrible and left my hair in a mess (and my hair is not fussy about products normally) so if I go to a Westin again I would bring shampoo with me. With the limitations on liquids on flights the toiletries provided by hotels has become more important and they are often poor quality. I don't know why hotels don't just get Dove or similar brands and offer those.

Mint Bar had well trained staff who made a great cocktail. Food was so-so

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Myself and a few work friends recently enjoyed a lovley night in the company of Cary Posavitz and his band in the Mint Bar. The music was excellent and it made for a most enjoyable night! I would recommend it as a nice night out to enjoy great music in a lovely venue!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MM0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MM0710

Thank you very much for the response you have posted and the time you have taken to do so.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your night out in The Mint bar; the Gin and Jazz is an entertaining night and the ginspritional cocktails are enjoyed by all!
I do hope to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Best regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My room was beautiful and even though I had a window looking down into an interior banquet hall where a wedding or some event was taking place, I couldn't hear any noise. The hotel's location is great. It is right beside Trinity College and a very short walk to the Temple Bar area and Grafton Street for shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr1ms0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear cr1ms0n

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of The Westin Dublin.

We have a fantastic location here right in the centre of Dublin and I am happy you could enjoy that. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Consistent Westin experience at a great location in the heart of a wonderful city. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Five minutes walk to Trinity College and right next to Temple Bar. They hotel allowed us to check in early which was greatly appreciated coming from the USA with a 2 year old who hadn't slept on the flight. Room service was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS2012910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear LAS2012910

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

I am pleased you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We are very lucky with our central location and I am glad you were able to benefit from that. I am happy the team were able to accommodate you with an early check-in.
I do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Your best location in Dublin for a Luxury Hotel. You are in front of the Temple bar and the University. Every buss stop in the fron of the hotel. The staff is London friendly. If you speak Spanish, look for the staff tha comes from Spain, you are going to have a blast with all of them. Room are spacious (not the clasic small european room). We arrive early morning and they were very diligent to acomodate us. Nightime walking around the hotel is a must. My only other choice is staying in a castle.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Drmelendez

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of The Westin Dublin.

We have a fantastic location here right in the centre of Dublin and I am happy you could enjoy that. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and the team helped you enjoy your time with us.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing