We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service”
Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was met by a very friendly and service minded staff.
We were upgraded to a king size suite for free, and the room was great. Big, clean and comfortable beds.
Its about 1 minute walk to the Temple bar street, so the location is perfect.

If you choose to stay here, be sure to check out the hotel bar, Mint Bar. Good loking bar, with good drinks served by a friendly staff.

I will most likely choose a Westin hotel the next time i have the choice. This is one of the top 3 hotels i´ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Chris k
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, it is fantastic to read such a positive review which will be well received by all our team here.
I am very happy to read that you had a great stay with us when you were with us in The Westin Dublin and I am delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,738 - 1,744 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I recently stay at The Westin in Dublin and had a amazing time. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to explore the city or is there for business. A lot of major sights are just steps from the door or a short taxi ride.
For a room in Europe ours was big. The hotel staff was nice and friendly and our room was always clean when we came back from our day.
After being this spoiled I don't think I'd stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear tara2487

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of The Westin Dublin.

We have a fantastic location here right in the centre of Dublin and I am happy you could enjoy that. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We are SPG members and stayed on points. Our room was located on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor (#4).

We had no problems with the check in process. The concierge service was wonderful every time we used it, which was often for recommendations for restaurants, tours and directions. The issues were mainly with the room, too soft of a bed, street noise and the room was very warm. The lack of an outlet in the bathroom to dry your hair should be corrected. Who wants to wake up someone else to dry your hair? The internet fee is excessive, $15 euro per day/per device. In this day and age with multiple i-devices that can get very expensive quickly. The afternoon tea was a wonderful experience, I recommend doing it if you can. We had breakfast at the restaurant on the main floor once, it was not worth it. There are so many other cute places to eat.

Overall, this is not the Westin standards that we have enjoyed at other locations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Pamela F
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to The Westin Dublin.
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay, at The Westin Dublin we strive to deliver a high standard of personalised service to all our guests and in this case it appears we let you down.
I am somewhat mollified to read that our afternoon tea expereince in The Atrium and concierge team were able to help you enjoy your time with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.

Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed, for a weekend, in this hotel recently - very disappointing experience.

Phoned ahead to enquire about the parking facilities. The receptionist couldn’t tell me if there was anywhere to pull up outside the hotel. Was referred to the concierge, that wasn’t available. Seemed like a “its not my job answer” situation.
On checking in, at 5pm, we were told that our room wasn’t ready. Not the end of the world, we could plan around it. Sought a rough estimate on how long we would have to wait. If 20 mins we would wait and let our event know we would be delayed, if 2 hours we go ahead to our event. The receptionist couldn’t tell us. A very frustrating wait later we finally got checked in. Check in consisted of a swipe of the credit card, been given the keys and an attempt to sign up to a “loyalty card” - that was it.
The courtesy, at check in, of a basic orientation to the hotel and its facilities would have been very useful if not expected. Never the less we managed to find the elevator to the room ourselves. It did however limit greatly our utilisation of the hotel.
The check in experience tainted our weekend stay in the hotel. The smell of vomit that remained in the reception for over 6 hours on Saturday afternoon also didn’t help.
My understanding is that hotels get their star rating from a combination of facilities and service. The service experienced, as described above, was below what I expect from a 3 star hotel. The facilities available are still a mystery to me, as is the Westin retaining a 5 star rating.

My last minor bone of contention relates to their parking arrangements. When the hotel facilities are full they have an arrangement with a near by multi story car park. The preferential rate is a 3 euro reduction in the over night cost. From 28 euro down to 25 euro a night. I know that a 3 star hotel across the street has a rate of 10 euro a night in that very same multi story car park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Dillon79
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us; however I would like to offer my apologies for the poor service you experienced while you were with us.
At the Westin we strive to ensure that we deliver a high standard of personalised service to all our guests and I am disappointed to learn that on your visit you did not experience this fully.
I have addressed some of your highlighted issues with our Front Office manager and our Executive Housekeeper and we are looking into all the problems you experienced whild here.
However I would appreciate it if you could take the time to get in contact with me directly so we can I hope go some ways to resolving these issues.

Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a can't go wrong hotel. Centrally located warm and welcoming. With all the amenities one would want of an expensive hotel. The rooms a clean and superbly quiet. A bar in the basement where local professionals hang out after work. Everybody within the hotel is helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaivon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Kaivon r

It is a great pleasure and so encouraging to receive such positive feedback from our guests. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Westin experience and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.

Kindest regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Was very surprised to find that my room had two windows, which both opened onto an interior atrium - overlooking a mezzanine lounge. Therefore, there was no possibility of opening the window to get any fresh air and worse, could not open drapes, as windows looked directly onto lounge. Even as a Starwood Preferred guest, there were no other rooms available. Hotel services were very good and breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the outside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear RobinMaryLand
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in The Westin Dublin.
I am disappointed to read that you were not completely happy with your room while you stayed with us. I would ask you to get in contact with me directly the next time you are staying with us in the Westin Dublin and I would be delighted to take personal care of your reservation.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Westin Dublin.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The old adage is true; the "nicer" your hotel, the more you'll pay for your wifi. Honestly, after dropping a decent sum on a room, a 15 Euro a day charge for in-room wifi is pretty fresh, particularly when it's free at any of the 3 nearby starbucks cafes.

The main problem was that I couldn't get a good night's sleep here. There was constant street noise at this location, not pub noise, as you get in Temple bar, but traffic horns and sirens at least once an hour through the night. The worst part was a very old, too soft and "springy" bed. I stayed 3 nights and my back was WRECKED when I left. Not to mention that I booked a double room with two twins and was given a double bed, in fact, a rather short double bed. (I am 5"4' and my feet kept hanging off the edge unless I scooted all the way up to my headboard). I feel as though the room was small and oddly shaped, thus a short bed was a compromise they made.

Minor complaints were that there was no outlet in the bathroom for your hairdryer and the tile all needed to be regrouted. It had been touched up in the shower itself, but the floor was a little run down and black in some spots in the grout. The tub was also a bit discolored and grungy. Finally, the bar was hit or miss; good fish and chips and a nice Spanish wine, hard to find in Dublin, but the most disgusting "lamb burger" ever.

Good points about the hotel: Location, friendly staff, many ammenities inside the hotel so you don't need to leave if the weather is bad---except, of course, if you want to use wifi.

For the price, I can only go 3 stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the back. My room was facing a side street and the traffic noise was very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Laura S
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to The Westin Dublin.
However I am disappointed to read that we did not meet with all your expectations in terms of our product quality. I am disappointed that you were unable to enjoy a renewing night’s sleep. I would like to assure you all out ‘Heavenly beds’ are of a standard size, our standard queen (160x200) and standard King (180 x200).
Should you decide to return to the Westin Dublin I would kindly ask you to get in contact with me directly so I may personally take care of your reservation.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Andrew Henning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $222 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing