We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't sleep but great location”
Review of Blooms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blooms Hotel
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Came here with a few friends for my birthday and even though we like a few drinks and were out every night, there comes a point when you just want (well, need) to sleep.. most nights we were home between 12-2am and couldn't get to sleep until 4-5am as the queue to the downstairs nightclub was so noisy and then the streets would be washed and the bins emptied by the local counsil. Plus the rooms were so hot (even though it was like 10C outside) so we had to sleep with the window open, otherwise it was really hot and uncomfortable.

Otherwise, a great location for myself and 3 friends. Free wifi was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for the night of my office Xmas Party. I had mixed feelings about this hotel but there were more pros than cons to my stay here.
First the positives: Good Location and more importantly, good price for the location - €60 for Double room. My request for a room on the third floor was granted and all rooms were non-smoking. Discount rate on parking close by and decent enough room and ensuite (although there were some noticeable stains on the carpet). Girl on reception was friendly enough and she provided me with 2 drinks vouchers.
Now the negatives: Breakfast was average and overpriced at €13 each. Drink was way overpriced, €6 for most lagers and name your price for Whiskey/cocktails. Thankfully I didn't have to drink or eat there that night as I was at an Office party in Fallon & Byrne.
Up-front deposit of €50 required on top of room-rate for 'extras'. No residents bar, which I thought was unusual for a busy Thursday in December with the amount of Office parties going on in the area. Even though the room had a Flat Screen TV, the reception was terrible and there was a very limited selection of channels. But I hardly used it anyway so it didn't bother me too much. Overall, a comfortable stay and no real noise issues, however, if management focused on providing a better quality/value breakfast, new carpets for the rooms and a decent TV subscription, the hotel would have warranted a higher rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our room was tiny! No carpet the most basic room not even tea or coffee making facilities?... Would not stay again or recommend. Stay at Fleet street hotel had a recent refurb much better value for money

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princessjazmunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the trendy temple bar area. You will be able to walk out your door and easily get to anything you want to do. No need for a cab if you stay here. If you have a car, ask them where to park, its called the Fleet St Garage and its 1/2 price.

Hotel has free wifi

The only negative is that the room is really small, plain and barren, but who cares, you are in Dublin! Room was clean and plenty for us! I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The location was great, only one block from the main street in Temple Bar and one block from the main road Dame Street, just south of the river. It is very noisy during night time since a nightclub is located in the ground floor of the hotel, which could be of concern for light sleepers. The rooms are quite large and clean. The wirleless Internet network is not guaranteed to be accessible in all rooms but seemed to work okay in the corridor outside out room. There is lots of pubs and some nightclubs is the area which is a bit touristy. On the other side of Dame Street there is also nice pubs and live music places, frequented by more locals. There are also lots of shopping, nice coffee shops and restaurants there. For malls and larger clothing chains the shopping area on the other side of the rive is not far away. I would stay here again if I got the same nice price. Dubliners are very friendly, helpful, polite and fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not face Cope Street where a noisy night club is situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

For the price we paid in the centre of town I was expecting something grubby and tiny but I was very surprised when we walked into a comfortable, clean, warm room. The location is great - right in the middle of the city centre and a very short walk to all major attractions. The only downside for me was that we had no tea/coffee facilities in the room but there is a Starbucks and Costa on the same street. We also couldn't access wifi in our room because we were on floor 4 which was a shame.

The staff were very friendly. We were given some vouchers for free drinks in the pub attached to the hotel, we were offered a map of Dublin and anything else we needed was never a problem.

If I came back to Dublin I would stay at this hotel again because it's location is perfect - lots of restaurants and pubs nearby. If you can't deal with the noise then don't stay here or in a central hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well located a minute or so from central Temple Bar, Blooms offers a good location to stay in this vibrant city with its own bar (and good live music!) and basement nightclub (which residents get into for free!).

It may be a little bit noisy (unsurprising because of the location) but the twin rooms size and facilities are sufficient to keep the majority of vistors pretty content for the duration of their stay.

Try the Mongolian BBQ restaurant just next door for fresh basicallly DIY, choose your flavours and content BBQ food, and Oliver St John Gogarty's at the bottom of the road, a Dublin must visit pub and music venue. Just great!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,334 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,196 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 150 in Dublin
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
938 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooms Hotel

Address: 6 Anglesea Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $77 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blooms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooms Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing