We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cheap and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #45 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice cheap and clean hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

the hotel not far from the city center of dublin offers a nice, cheap and clean accommodation. The stuff is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and quite. I can recommend this small hotel and next time when we get the chance to come to Dublin we will try to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stixi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Hanna, General Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    885
    237
    89
    29
See reviews for
312
663
64
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend for our anniversary and for the marathon. I had asked for a quiet room and was given a room which faced the courtyard at the back. The curtains were heavy and the bed comfortable so I slept well.
The location is great, 15 minute walk to Grafton street and 20 minutes walk to temple bar. On Camden Street itself there are plenty of nice cafes, bars and restaurants (Cafe Sophia is really friendly and Yum Yums is packed on a Sunday for the fabulous breakfasts.) On our first night we had burritos from a great little mexican - Burritos and Blues, on the corner of Cuffe Street - highly recommended (cheap, tasty and filling).

The room was modern and felt very clean. There were only basic facilities though - kettle, iron, hair dryer and t.v (with poor reception on some channels) and the toiletries consisted of 2 shower caps, shower gel and soap. Don't expect fluffy robes, trouser press, nice shampoo or biscuits here. The bar was expensive - but thats to be expected. The shower screen leaked a little and the bath was small.

However these are all minor details and I cant say really affected my stay.
The staff were helpful, allowing us to return after we had run the marathon and shower in the gym even though we had already checked out.

It wasn't luxury but I don't go on holiday to spend my whole day enjoying the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Hanna, General Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Camden Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend away for your annerversary. We hope that next time you visit Dublin you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Visited Dublin for 3 nights, had great time, we had one of rhe refurnished rooms, very modern, clean, within 10 mintues or so walk of the center, great pubs nearby. Free safe underground parking which put my mind at ease and kept our motorbikes clean and dry. Wifi in the rooms too which was handy, our room was at the back so very quiet, nice thick curtains kept it nice and dark too.

Nice pool/ jacuzzi, bit annoying having to wear a swimming hat tho.

The bar was expensive, we went out to the pubs nearby for food and drink, there was a great cafe called yum yums where we ate every morning. Overall very pleased with the hotel, a quality hotel within good distance of everywhere at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreasandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Hanna, General Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. I am really glad you enjoyed your trip to Dublin. It is great that you enjoyed all of the amenities here at The Camden Court Hotel. We hope that if you are back in Dublin that you visit us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights to meet with friends.

the hotel is not right in the city centre but is pretty close - you can walk into the city centre in 10-15 minutes or get a bus for E2.20.

In general, I was pleased with the hotel - the room was clean, the bed comforable and the staff generally pleasant. The lobby is pleasant, with lots of big, comfortable sofas and chairs.

My room rate did not include breakfast - I did have breakfast one morning (at a cost of 13E) - there is a buffet of cereals, yogurt, toast / pastries and full cooked breakfast. Portions were generous and there was good choice, but it was very much 'generic hotel breakfast' - it'll fill you up if you want a solid start to the day.
(if you have time to go out,, the Cake Cafe in Pleasants Place offers excellent breakfasts, with treats such as soda bread, pancakes and cooked breakfasts, cooked to yur order !)

The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very pleasant - I didn't use the fitness centre but it appeared to be fairly well equipped.

however, there were some relatively minor issues which stop me giving this hotel 5 stars:

- The toiletries provided seemed rather cheap and unpleasant. I was a little surprised that they provided generic shower gel/shampoo. It was adequate a shower gel, (although with a rather unpleasant scent) but hopeless as shampoo. A disappointment as, due to the airport restrictions I had not brought shampoo on the basis that a good quality hotel woud provide this.

- Staff were generally very friendly and helpful, once one could get ttheir attention, but I noted several occasins where staff seemed to ignore guests - for instance, on 2 separate occasions I saw staff at reception dealing with filing / printouts while ignoring people waiting at reception (without even acknowledging them) - a quick apology and mention that the guest woulld be seen very soon would have gone an awfully long way!

- There was free wi-fi in the hotel but, rather irritatingly, no information in the 'guest information' folder in the room about how to access it.. Similarly, the information provided about the TV channels available was inaccurate. Neither of these is a major issue but they are little things which could easily be fixed, to give a more professional impression.

- The hairdyers in the rooms were very old fashioned, fixed to one of the drawers in the desk, and very feeble. (The dryers in the changing rooms for the swimming pool were much more effective)

- there was tea & coffee provided in the rooms, however, given that the hotel paces itself as a luxery hotel, it would have been nice had biscuits and herbal teas been provided.

All in all, a pleasant hotel, and one I'd be happy to stay here again, but a few small improvements would back a big difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Hanna, General Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and we will be definitely amending some of these issues right away. We hope that if you return to Dublin you try out the Camden Court Hotel again and notice a difference in your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Good location and nice rooms. Breakfast was very good and abundant. Very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieclaireduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

A great hotel, had everything you could possibly need. Great location near all the nightlife of dublin and only a 5 minute walk from stephens green. Fantastic staff very helpful and attentive. Secure parking in the hotel and a pool in the basement for an early morning swim. The only problem was the room was street facing and so traffic noise was the only issue. Although great value hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Hanna, General Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us while visiting Dublin. We hope that next time your in the city you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

this is a below average hotel.Our room was freezing cold as the heating only comes on at 5pm!there were stains on our sheets i had to ring reception to get clean bed clothes.That night the rad in the room made fierce noise it sounded like we were on a run way at an airport.once again i had to complain at reception. The girl at reception was nice and gave us a different room. This room was ok only the rad didn't work so the room was freezing all the time.The breakfast was only ok nothing special the glasses for the juices were dirty.i was never so happy to leave a hotel! the only good thing about this place is the location and the swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cork86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dean
The Dean
#71 of 153 in Dublin
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#51 of 153 in Dublin
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Property: Camden Court Hotel
Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing