We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capable of so much more and bring earplugs”
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I wanted to give this hotel more but it came up short several times.

As everyone else has stated the location is great. Right beside the LUAS or a short walk to town (but not great for the airport buses) We were in a disabled room (on the 4th floor!) so it was a bit bigger than others we saw. Overall appearances were good, decent decor and clean, etc. Spa facilities were good but if you are using the pool bring a cap or be charged 2,50 for something from the victorian era.

That said its one of the noisiest places I've ever stayed. Be prepared for a steady stream of revellers returning home at 3am then continuing the party til whenever. We saw several people smoking out of the windows meaning that our room then smelled of smoke even with the window shut: hotel staff seemed unconcerned at either of these issues.
Only had the cooked breakfast once and it was cold.

You could stay here and get lucky, then again you might not. I've had better for the money, in fact, I've had better for less.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are apparently quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry to hear your stay was not up to satisfaction. Your feedback is most welcome as we endeavor to keep our services to a high standard. We are however happy you found the facilities overall good. In relation to your comment about the airport bus, we do indeed have a direct service that runs from just outside the hotel (16A) and the nearest Aircoach stop is just less than 10minutes walk from the hotel - we apologise if you were given incorrect information in this respect.
We are in a very central location in Dublin so from time to time some rooms may experience some street noise, We again apologise if this was of inconvenience. We always take any comments on board to the GM and we are currently looking into investing in further proofing windows on a couple of the exterior rooms. In relation to smoking, this is something we take very serioulsy and surprised to hear that our staff did not care to act on this. We do hope we have the chance to accommodate you again in the near future under better circumstances. Our reservations staff would be delighted to accommodate you in a quieter room should you choose to return. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
There are newer reviews for Camden Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights with my 7 month old son. The location was excellent and the directions given on the web site made it really easy to find (despite the best efforts of my upside down google maps!).
Having read other reviews, I was concerned about noise, but I can honestly say we didn't find this an issue even with having a room overlooking the main road.
With having a young baby with me I was concerning about the availability of facitities to sterilise bottles, but the staff in the resturant sorted this for me with no hassle.
We used the pool twice and found the changing room very cold the first time, and when we said this at the spa reception the 2nd time they kindly turned the heating up a bit for us.
Overall we found this a good value extremely comfortable hotel in a central location and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a good choice. We arrived in the afternoon, checked in and walked to St. Patrick's Cathedral, Temple Bar, Trinity College, and Dublin Castle. The hotel itself was clean, well maintained, and overall an excellent choice. Parking in the garage was an added bonus so you don't have to worry about trying to find a spot on the street. It is a very nice hotel for the price. We do recommend this hotel if you want to do activities in the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaRock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I attended a conventionin the hotel recently and the facilities and staff were very good indeed.
Couple of things worth noting though.
There are no net curtains on the windows. So don't, like me, throw the curtains open in the morning unless you are fully dressed or you want to give people outside a treat/shock.
The breakfast,which is excellent in every other way, does not have any black pudding - what's that about!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Draiocht12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities. We have refurbished a large majority of our bedrooms and have decided on a more modern feel in which case we have decided not to use net curtains but rather heavy curtains. In relation to breakfast, black pudding is generally available for our guests so we apologise it was not available for you on the morning of your stay - we're happy to know you enjoyed it otherwise. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour.
My room overlooked where the buses stayed over night. It was therefore noisy and since the smoking area was there also, I was able to smell the smoke.
The staff was friendly and very helpful.
The room was clean.
Finding the hair dryer was a challenge.
The hotel was walking distance from a major shopping area and Trinity College.
would recommend this hotel. The pub attached to the hotel had a nice menu with good value.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the buses are noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower-37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry to hear about the noise issues you expierenced from your room, at the entrance area of the hotel. It is generally quite rare that there is a high levels of noise from our guests room in this regard as it is monitored by our staff, so we apologise for this instance. We do hope to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I visited Dublin recently and stayed at the Camden Court Hotel on a 3 night's BB basis. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Although the hotel is a couple of miles from the city centre, the public transport system in Dublin is excellent and bus stops for the hotel are only 100 yards away. So travel to and from the hotel is very easy. We purchased the, 3 day Freedom pass, from the Travel Information desk at the airport for 28 euros. This was an excellent purchase and we used the ticket constantly, especially the hop on/ hop off bus which takes tourists to all Dublin's major attractions. As for the hotel. First impressions were favourable. There is a large foyer in the hotel with the reception desk to the left. The girl at the desk was very helpful and courteous and even though we arrived very early, at 10 0'clock, our room was ready. The lifts to our floor were only a few steps from the desk and they worked very efficiently. We were staying on floor 6, room 4 and we were in our room in less than a minute after pressing the lift button. So there was no waiting ages for the lift. The room was very clean, spacious, had good decor and furniture, a television and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious with an excellent shower. This floor was very quiet, day and night, so it suited my wife and I perfectly. Breakfast was a typical hot and cold buffet in an excellent, spacious dining room. The usual fare was on offer, which was, fruit juices, fruit, cereal, tea and toast, pastries/ croissants and the usual hot breakfast food. The staff was minimal but very helpful. We had a few drinks in the hotel, during our stay, and the prices were reasonable in comparison to Dublin prices. I used the swimming pool and jacuzzi and once again, enjoyed the facilities. The receptionist booked an early morning call for us, to waken us on our last morning at the hotel. She also booked a taxi for our journey back to the hotel. This was the usual, excellent level of service the staff gave us during our 3 night stay. Our only criticism? The central heating system needs attention. It didn't matter whether we turned the radiator in our room, off or on, it was still very noisy. It was quite infuriating at 6 0'clock in the morning being wakened by a gurgling radiator. Time to get the toon plumber in I think. In conclusion, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very courteous and helpful, the room was fine as was the facilities and the breakfast was excellent. Location wasn't a problem due to the excellent bus service and there is always the option of a taxi. Finally, the Jewel in the Crown. Dublin. What a wonderful city it is. So much to see, so much to do and lovely Irish people. We visited the Guinness Storehouse, Kilmainan Jail, Jameson's Distillery, the River Finney Cruise and the Arlington Hotel for the Irish music and dancing show. The hop on/ hop off bus drops you off at all these attractions. So we had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilmarnockKillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. The staff here at the Camden Court Hotel are delighted you had such a great experience with us during your 3 night stay. We're overjoyed to know you would come back to us in the future. Our staff are often commended for their customer service and it is fanastic to get such great feedback from our guests. We will take note regarding your comment on the radiator, this is generally not an issue but thank you for making us aware of this, we will of course look into this. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ideal spot if wanting to stay in central Dublin. The room was a standard size - be sure to request a room to the back of the hotel away from the tour buses at the front loading up at 6.30am. Breakfast was excellent - exceed my expectation. Full cooked breakfast, fresh crossiants/bread, youghurts were organic and Irish - Fresh Fruit and an array of breakfast cereals. There definitely was something to suit everyone.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back where you wont hear the bus tour people loading up at 6.30am in the morni...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah L, Online Reputation Manager at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hi Mary. Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's a fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast indeed is an area we take pride in and serve to please all tastes. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#46 of 150 in Dublin
1,968 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#9 of 150 in Dublin
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $161 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing