We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i liked it”
Review of Camden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Camden Court Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i liked it”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

stayed here in jan for a concert in the o2..handy & within walking distance of st stephens green and all local pubs..had a good time..arrived late and the girl on the desk was great. REALLY GOOD BREAKFAST :)..housekeeping good, would go back...just the parking was a pain..there is very little of it...would defo go back :) thanks for everything :) forgot to say the guy in the gym was nice and chatty too :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are good :) everything was good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    900
    245
    91
    29
See reviews for
318
680
65
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

As a mature couple, we stayed here to attend a nearby concert in the National Concert Hall, a few minutes away. That was the best thing about this hotel. The room was dowdy and neglected, with ill fitting window and shabby curtains and uncomfortable beds. Room only cost was €165.00 for one night not including breakfast; this was a total ripoff. Went to breakfast in the morning and were asked to pay €13.00 per person before going into the breakfast room. I explained that I only wanted coffee and toast, as did my wife, but were told that we had to pay the stated price up front, and that it was "standard procedure", whatever that means. As it was a wet morning, we had little option, not wanting to wander nearby Camden Street in the rain.
Staff were quite courteous but it was overall a soulless corporate experience and very bad value. We stayed there before but never again. It would be better value to pick a nicer hotel even if not so central, and then taxi to the place you want to visit in Dublin.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbermanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseCorboy, Director of Sales at Camden Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to send us in your comments and bringing your concerns to our attention. It is only through constructive feedback like yours that will enable us to maintain and improve our standards.
I have spoken to the housekeeping and maintenance departments and please allow me to apologise for your experience during your stay with us . We have very strict procedures in place to ensure our standards do not slide, so please let me assure you that what you experienced was very much the exception rather than the rule.
We hope to proceed this winter with next phase of our bedroom refurbishment including a considerable upgrade to the soundproofing of the windows, but as of yet not all of our rooms are the same. If you would like to contact myself directly the next time you are considering a trip to Dublin, I would be happy to look after your reservation personally to ensure a favourable rate and one of our newly refurbished room where possible.
Once again thank you for your comments and please except our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.
Kind Regards

Denise Corboy
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked the hotel for the location and it looked well on the web site. We were delighted to be able to check in early. About 1.00 pm. Unfortunately when we got to our room it was very “Shabby” . The furniture was different from the web site (dated and looked a bit the worse for wear). The walls were dirty and had loads of scratches on the paintwork from the bed, lockers and other areas. 1 of the handles was missing off the bath. Just not a welcoming feel. We did ask for our room to be changed (not something I would generally do) and the new room was slightly better, but I do stress slightly. The carpet was sticky, obviously from previous use and not a special non slip coating for safety purposes. The bed clothes were well worn and aged. We did have dinner in the Bar and the food was good but just lacking in atmosphere. In the morning when having breakfast I noticed that a number of the breakfast bowels had food still stuck to them. And on check out we were not asked if everything was OK. This may be due to a fear of the answer.
So in short, not 1 that I would be recommending unless you need to be very near there and get a very good rate on the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed one night on business trip.Have stayed here many times over the past half dozen years and have no complaints. The staff are friendly rooms clean and comfortable. The location is good and only about 10 minutes walk takes you to St Stephens Green and Grafton Street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights arriving early on Sunday morning. Upon arriving we went to speak with reception to see if our room was going to be ready any earlier than the check in time of 12, we were told by the receptionist that a room wasn’t available yet but they placed us on a list to enable us to have the first room that was ready and were happy to take our luggage from us and store until we checked in. We came back just over an hour later and our room was ready so we checked in about 10.30.

Room (532) was spacious and spotlessly clean, very comfortable king sized bed, décor in the room was modern and had everything you needed for your stay. (tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer, trouser press etc) The hotel also offers a free WIFI service which we found useful when researching where to go.
Clean bathroom with a good sized bath with shower over, powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Temperature in the room was ideal even without air-conditioning with the option to have the window open if needed. Room was overlooking the car park and we had no problems with noise even with the window left open overnight.

Swimming Pool, Sauna and gym very nice and clean, with a separate pool for children. You do need to wear a swimming cap to go into the pool but most people were just wearing the free shower caps provided in the rooms. Gym also clean and well equipped.


Location of the hotel was about a 10/ 15 min walk to the Temple Bar area/ city centre with the St Stephens Green Park and shopping centre also about a 10 min walk. Walk to the centre is a straight walk along the main road, the area does look a little run down but would say it was relatively safe area with plenty of people around when we walked back to our hotel at night, road lined with shops, bars, cafes etc, taxis and a number of buses run frequently up and down the main road if you don’t fancy walking. The number 16 bus stops just across the road from the hotel and runs to the airport so we chose to get this rather than a taxi for our journey home, cost around €3 each and took approx an hour.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the car park and had no problems with noise even with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
260 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here two nights on our Ireland trip, one at the beginning and one at the end. Everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good, rooms were clean and had plenty of space.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a street side view gave a good scene of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonamo9638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Modest rooms, but the windows open to the fresh Dublin air. clean rooms. Pool and jacuzzi indoors. Steam room and sauna. Two restaurants, nice bar open til 3am. Hop in pub next door.
Free TV and Wifi. Super friendly staff. Walking distance to all main attractions, or 1.40 euro bus ride. Date of stay , June 2012

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwendolin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dean
The Dean
#69 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#53 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Court Hotel

Property: Camden Court Hotel
Address: Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin D02W086, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#44 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden Court Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located in Dublin city centre, Ireland. The hotel is located on Camden Street, Dublin 2 which is within close proximity to Harcourt Street and St.Stephen's Green. It is also within minutes walk of Dublin's famous shopping area, Grafton Street. Nearby attractions include the National Concert Hall and the Iveagh Gardens. The hotel boasts 251 high spec bedrooms, as well as excellent conference and leisure facilities. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and access to the TLC leisure centre (gym, 16 metre swimming pool, kids pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi) are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Camden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Court Dublin
Hotel Camden Court
Camden Court Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing