We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 22, 2006

We stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago. Booked a double room but we were given a nice, large triple room. Grand bed, clean, tea and coffee facilities, good bathroom. No complaints here. In ideal location. Great value for money. Will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You can get water from a dispenser on the first floor facing the lifts, great as it can be hot!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSSJZZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    1,078
    387
    113
    66
See reviews for
425
1,144
105
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2006

An excellent hotel, in the heart of Dublin. Bedroom was clean and had all facilities. (net curtain was dirty). Breakfast especially fruit was tasty. Would have liked if there had been black/white puddings and mushrooms . Bar meals reasonable but 3 very small potatoes between 2 and no green veg could be improved on.
In saying that would definitely stay there again and will recommed it to friends,

  • Liked — convenience for transport and activities
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This was my 2nd time to stay with The Cassidy. The hotel has been upgraded since last I stayed. The bar is new and more modern (not minamalist) than what it was but still very comfortable. They have added new rooms, (an execuitive wing) with a fitness suite and a libiary which I liked. I stayed in a classic room not one of the new ones and these too have been refurbished since I stayed last year. The face lift gives the place a real lift and the staff as always were very friendly and professional.

  • Liked — Location, Staff & Free WiFi internet access
  • Disliked — Weather
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel has a Book Club where you can borrow books during your stay. Class
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We stayed at cassidys for 7days .We found the hotel to be very comfortable room cleaned daily.Staff friendly & helpfull,breakfast good.We had a couple of meals in the hotel in the evening again very good.
Hotel in a great position to explore Dublin,with the train station 10min walk from hotel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — cost off the black stuff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qqqqqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUNNING SPRINGS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I spent 3 nights here in August of 2004 as part of a tour group on an 11 day tour of Ireland. The hotel offers a very good breakfast in its restaurant which is situated on three levels, each about 5 feet apart in height. My room was very adequate, clean, but no view out of the window. All the sights along O'Connell Street are right at your doorstep, and the walk to the River Liffey is only about five or six blocks. It's biggest plus is it's convenience to everything in central Dublin.

  • Liked — So handy to everything.
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filmcritic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Stayed at Cassidy's hotel for one night prior to attending a conference at Trinity College the next day. I spent ages researching which was the quietest part of town to stay in and Cassidy's was in the perfect location, not as bustling as the Temple Bar area but close enough to walk to the shops and attractions. It was also very quick and easy to get to the airport on the now legendary 747 or aircoach which was 2 euros's more and in my opinion worth every cent.
I requested a quiet room and was delighted that there was no traffic noise and all seemed reasonably quiet despite being opposite a construction site. Unfortunately the peace was shortlived and I was awoken several times in the night, particularly the early hours, by other residents shouting and banging their doors and then the piece de resistance was at 06.15 when the construction workers started banging and drilling and sawing and hammering and it was impossible to get back to sleep.
On saying this my room was very comfortable with a lovely big flat screen TV and clean and cheerful decor, the bed was very comfortable although there were some dubious stains on the duvet and the bathroom was immaculate. The iron didn't work though.
What made my stay better than average was the lovely, helpful attitude of the staff, they could not do enough for you and made me feel very at home.
On discussion with some of my colleagues the next day who had stayed at Trinity College, my experience had been a lot better and quieter one than theirs.
On the whole, if I had to stay in Dublin again I would stay here but be a bit more forceful about my room.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Conferencetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We had booked 3 nights at Cassidys hotel in Dublin from August 21-24. The location is convenient (on O'Connell Street) close to great shopping and a few minutes from Temple Bar.
When we arrived at our hotel at noon they said they did not have any rooms ready and that we had to return at 2pm. We found out that since we booked our hotel through Priceline breakfast was not included with our stay. After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor before our arrival we assumed we would get breakfast so we were a little disappointed.

The room was a decent size with a great flat screened TV. We also appreciated the tea and coffee in the room. However, when we opened our blinds all we saw was a construction site! The noise was unbearable. We were awoken every day between 6:30 to 7am to the sound of jack hammers. I started each day with a headache. We asked the staff to be moved but they did not have any other rooms available.

If you want a peaceful sleep STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Disliked — construction, moldy bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank larsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing