We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We went to Dublin for the New Year, and for my 40th Birthday. We looked online and found Cassidys, contacted them and were told they had entertainment on New Years Eve, and always have a live band in on a Friday, We decided that as this was my birthday that we would stay at the hotel. We booked a table in the restaurant for new years eve and looked forward to an enjoyable stay.
The serious of events started with a usual delay from Ryanair, which made us late arriving at Cassidys. We checked in and asked for a little longer to change into our 'New Years Eve' party gear, we were told that the restaurant closed at 9pm and they could therefore not give us any extra time. Therefore we had 15 mins to change and get down into the restaurant. Upon arrival there was a bit of confusion as to wether we could go into the restaurant. After the manager came through we went in to eat. The waiter came and dropped the tray at out table covering myself and my husband in drinks. The meat was undercooked, which then put my father off the rest of his meal. We were rushed all through, and all this at a charge of £40 a head, (including the kids there was no lower charge for them) We decided to give that up, and retire to the bar and enjoy the entertainment. After looking around and spotting nothing, my husband went to the reception to ask what time were were to expect the start of the festivities, to be told there was nothing on tonight, but there definately would be on Friday. Dissapointed we sat inthe bar watching telly, drinking the overpriced drinks and waiting for the new year to come. Only one side of the bar was open, so the few peoplein the bar were at least together! We were given a complementary glass of bubbly at midnight. We couldnt go anywhere else, as there is a law that forbids any under 16s to go into bars after 8.30pm. (of which all of us were unaware of)
At 12.30 we went to bed. After a new years day of walking around Dublin, no shops open (we were misadvised about this also) we went to Flannagans to eat, ordered a meal to be told afterwards that most of the menu was unavailable, and when they did bring the food, half of it was missing!. The next day - My birthday! Started off in the breakfast room, my family were told there was no pins or bluetack available for them to put up any decorations!
We went out for the day and came back to get changed and have a party in the bar. At 8.30pm we went into the bar and once again couldn't see a band. We asked where the group was, and were told there was no entertainment, and hadn't been since August. We were disgusted. We booked this hotel only for the entertainment they claimed to have. We were told we couldn't go to another hotel as they wouldn't let the children in ( my kids are 16 and 12 - hardly babies) We were offered 2 free drinks each, and played cards in an empty bar. We were all extremely dissapointed in the hotel. The bathroom was moudly, the floor outside the bathroom door was broken, the carpets in the hallways were rucked up and very dangerous, one of the lifts was broken. The gym was 'under' the hotel in a very scary walkway of uneven concrete covered by a rug.
There were other hotels on my shortlist and i wished i had booked one of those. This hotel ruined my 40th birthday, and offered 2 drinks as compensation. HORRIBLE.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank pandaCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,024 - 2,030 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the Cassidys Hotel for 3 nights from 24 November. The airport bus stop was just down the road so very handy, and the city bus tour bus stopped right outside the hotel! A great central location to explore the city. A pleasant hotel, our room was at the back so very quiet. It was also lovely warm room, so no complaints about the heating, a double bed and a single bed, but the double was so small we ended up one in the double and one in the single! The lampstand on the desk/dressing table didn't work and even though we asked at reception for it to be fixed it wasn't. The only real negative comment to mention was that the bathroom had seen better days, a bit mouldy around the shower door and the bath itself was a bit old and tired but it was a good size room with hot water, clean towels each day if you requested them and plenty of shampoos and gels. The breakfast was very good, we didn't have to wait to be seated either day and the staff at the front desk and restaurant and bar were all helpful and friendly. In all good value for money and we would go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

took my sister to dublin for her 40th birthday, the hotel is in the heart of dublin, we were able to walk to all the sights.
reception staff on check in were great. i brought balloonsand banners for our room for my sisters b.day asked the girl if someone could put them up for our return. this was no problem, my sisters face was apicture when we finally got back to our room !
rooms are clean and everythingo you would expect even had a safe which i thought was a great idea.
the hotel bar was open till 3.30 on sat night and 1.30 on monday, great for the celebrations !!!!!!!
the only thing that lets this hotel down was breakfast time !!
went for b.fast at 10.30 told we would have to wait not a problem i thought finally got in at 11 to be told hot food was all finished ! but we spoke to chef and managed to get what we wanted.
its a shame as this seems to be a complaint mentioned alot on tripadvisor why cant they sort the problem ?
over all the hotel was great and i would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

whilst this hotel is friendlyand clean we did have a problem with our breakfasts for the four days we stayed there.
The breakfast is based on a buffet self service and served from unmanned hot plates which other inconsiderate guests constantly leave with the lids open. this results in the food quickly going cold.
The kitchen is also slow when refilling these hotplates and on several occassions some items of food are not available.
At busy times because of the limited seating in the dining room, guests are sometimes having to wait 15 - 20 mins to be seated.
All in all this is a very disorganised method and not really acceptable.
On a positive note the waitressing staff do their very best under these circumstances dispite the stress involved. So if you can tolorate a cold breakfast after a 20 min wait ...............Cassidy's may be for you

Thank SpiritofWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Great location & staff were very friendly. They provided good recommendations for restaurants and everything was handled very well.

Rooms were clean and nice, and very good value for money. Breakfast was good, nothing too fancy but nice enough to start off the day, the usual bacon, eggs, cereal, hash browns.

Would stay here again. Walking distance to temple bar, shopping and all the sights of Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aka_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Booked a weekend treat through Octopus Travel website to stay at the 3* Cassidys. Great Location & staff v.pleasant when we arrived at 12:30pm. Able to leave luggage at the hotel prior to rooms being ready at 2pm.

Hotel happy to help with tour bus etc, and so off to the sights. Rooms of very high standard when we picked up the keys later, very clean, and great value for the price paid.

Hotel bar great for Guinness drinking into the small hours, but the Gym beckoned on Sunday. Small but functional although not all TV monitors were working. Hey what a minor issue!

Breakfast - get down early as may have to wait in overflow park to get a table- handled pleasantly enough by the staff, and liquid refreshment available whilst we waited.

Checkout - easy & hassle free.

Great choice of hotel within walking distance of shops/Temple Bar, but not sure if high heels are your thing!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

It's a fantastic hotel right in the heart of Dublin on Upper O Connell St. It was ideal for us for Temple Bar, Guinness Museum, walks along the river and shopping.

Staff were friendly and efficient and the room was a good size, nice and clean and the bed was very comfy. There's a nice reasonably large bar downstairs and the breakfast was good.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgencyManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $87 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing