We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #49 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our first trip to Dublin and first stay at this hotel recommended by a family member who stay here every year. It was lovely would defiantly stop here again great location lovely atmosphere and staff :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireyp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    1,025
    369
    107
    65
See reviews for
394
1,087
98
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at Cassidy's Hotel in early March for one night with some friends. Great hotel, very central and across the street from the Gate Theatre. Staff were very friendly and polite. Rooms were spacious and clean. We at the back of the hotel, so not much of a view. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel. First stayed here 2 years ago with our then toddler. Hotel couldn't have been better. Myself and my husband went to the gate and hotel have a fantastic babysitter so we were able to enjoy show. We have repeated the experience since. Couldn't fault this place. Only problem is it's often not possible to get a room as it books up early for popular weekends! My first choice also if I'm driving!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived in Dublin one day before meeting our tour group and picked Cassidys for a one night stay. I wish it had been longer! The staff were all very friendly and our online reservations were in order with no glitches. We got a good rate and the hotel exceeded expectations. The rooms were comfortable, homey and clean with good firm mattresses and clean bathrooms. It was a perfect location for walking - right in the middle of things. The pub and restaurant were good after a full day of walking around the city. I love hotels that are not part of a chain and have their own charm and unique character. I would definitely stay at Cassidys again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel! Great location-walking distance from Temple Bar area. Had a little mini-gym which was perfect to get in a quick workout. Only stayed one night with my boyfriend- only complaint was that since we only took one shower each, doesn't make sense that the dispenser for the shower soap was empty- should always be refilled after each guest. Also upon checking in-discovered we were unable to park our car at the hotel for free- it's an additional charge. But other than that- was a cute hotel, had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Cassidys and chose it on the basis of positive reviews and a central location. Check-in was an initially a good experience and we were looking forward to our stay.

Upon arriving in our room we were greeted by the smell of smoke which was a shame as it was a non-smoking room, however sometimes people are idiots and smoke in rooms that they shouldn't have - it can't be helped. What I really took exception to was the extraordinarily poor level of cleanliness in the room (some of the issues - saucer used as an ashtray and not cleaned, exposed telephone wiring in the bathroom, someone else's clothing balled up in the bottom of the wardrobe, thick grey dust on skirting boards/pipes). I absolutely hate complaining so it is rare that I do, but I had to say something in this situation.

Thankfully once we were speaking to the manager he was very reasonable and moved us to a clean, fresh room that was of an acceptable standard and offered us a complimentary drink to compensate us for our inconvenience.

Overall, although I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, the location was very good and the complaint was handled adequately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyglittershoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

That's the hotel's tag line and it's also a fair description. Situated on Parnell Square at the north end of O'Connell Street the location is absolutely ideal for the City Centre. Given it's location it ought to be noisy but it isn't. Rooms are comfortable, if a little outdated in terms of decor. Reception staff are helpful and friendly and there's a gym, which I haven't used, a small bar and a reasonably priced restaurant. I ate in on 2 occasions but, from a personal point of view, I was a little disappointed with the quality.

Prices, for a long term stay, are very competitve. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing