We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, central, quiet”
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cassidys Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central, quiet”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for just the one night. Quiet and comfortable room, free wifi, good showers, warm and generous. Helpful staff. Short walk to shops, good pubs, restaurants, cinemas, PO and most other attractions. Also on bus route and plenty of taxis. Only fly in the ointment for us was that the room had recently been painter and was still quite fumey - we would have stayed here another night if not for this.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    1,078
    387
    113
    66
See reviews for
425
1,144
105
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed there two days and had a very good experience of Cassidys. The staff is friendly, very good price value, and ideally situated on O'connell street and a very short walking distance to Temple Bar! Clean and lovely bathroom, very comfy bed, would definitely recommand it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bo0mCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently travelled to Dublin to celebrate my Mum's 60th and the four of us had a fantastic stay at Cassidy's. Good location for shopping and a 10-15 min walk to Temple Bar although there are also a few good bars right on the doorstep. The staff were all friendly and helpful but Darren in particular helped to make our stay extra special. He has a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble, he even chilled the champagne we bought at the airport for us to enjoy at breakfast on the big day!! All in all we had a brilliant time and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Smokers can request a smoking room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharGardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just come back from a long weekend at hotel cassidys,
Upon arrival we had been upgraded to a lovely spacious room.
Lovely bathroom comfy bed and nicely decorated.
Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday was an amazing buffet,greated by a lovely gentleman upon arrival into the breakfast room, on Monday we didn't have a choice of a buffet Irish breakfast which was very dissapointing.
However the Breakfast was delicious the whole time!
10 minute walk to temple bar which is a fantastic place.
Food at cassidys in the groomes bar was fab!!!!!
Very friendly staff all very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel it is fantastic.
I booked through olotels.com very good prices
Hotel Cassidy is in the centre of everything nothing is to far away and perfectly located so it is not noisy.
Can't wait to return to dublin
Keep your eyes peeled for dave Browne fantastic live singer at temple bar.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiea08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place clean room staff very helpful food was ok beds comfy was here from 24 th jan to 27 th jan close to all centre nice and warm despite the cold weather would go back again any one who moans about this place must be really fussy
Thank you for a great stay mr howard

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Terrible room very dusty and not well kept. You can hear next doors TV when its on and hear proples talking. The pipes make a terrible racket when the tolilet is flushed or when the shower is used. No hot water in the morning of my second day there. I checked out early as I had enough. Asked for an iron and was told to use the ironing room on the second floor, the ironing board is a wreck and ther is no where to put your clothes if you have more than one item to iron. Avoid at all costs is my advice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamwaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I found this "Boutique " Hotel on the internet. On the face of it, it appeared to be ok. it was cheap and I was working. I was keen to find a good hotel but it had to be the right price. I should have known better.
I went in the front door and was greeted quite pleasantly by the person behind reception.
I got my key and went to the room thinking id have a shower and then get some rest.
I opened the door and there was a laminate area and then some carpet. The laminate had chewing gum stuck to it which had been there for some time as it was dirty and hardened. Obviously no attempt had ever ben made to clean it off.
The room was tired and on the face of it tired and grubby with old fashioned fittings. the carpet was tired and coming away from the walls.
I thought as I was only here for two nights that it would be bearable, but then decided to have a bath. I turned on the tap only to be soaked by freezing cold water from the shower head. The bath was grubby and all the enamel had worn off down to a dirty matt appearance. There were pubic hairs in the bath and on the walls and the grout had really bad mould. All the areas which were siliconed had turned black with years of mildew and instead of being redone, the silicone had been painted over with gloss paint which had also grown mildew. There was a really old dirty phone in the bathroom with the wires stuffed into a hole behind the phone itself. The toilet seat was really dirty from years of pee and people sitting on it and it actually had changed colour in places to a dirty yellow.
Everything about the bathroom was disgusting. When the people in the next room used the toilet it was like they were using my Bathroom as the walls are paper thin and the toilet cistern from the next door bathroom was in my bathroom so every time they flushed the loo i was woken up by the cistern filling up.
The corridors were really noisy too so sleeping was difficult.
The view from the bedroom window was awful. It was of derelict buidings and the whole place had the air of a homeless shelter rather than a gem in the heart of Dublin.
This was truly one of the worst experiences I have had in a hotel. I decided not to risk my health and made my excuses early the following morning and checed into the Gibson Hotel instead.
My advice to you if you are fooled by the Hype "The Hidden Gem in the heart of Dublin" . Keep it hidden. Dont go there its truly a dump!
This place has a 3 star rating..... you must be joking!!! it really is like a hostel.
When i was leaving i heard other residents complaining about the bathroom.... incidentally .. if you want a shower, turn on the taps about 30 minutes before you actually want to get in it, as it takes about that time for any hot water to get to you. I almost gave up but decided to leave it running just to see how long it took to warm up...... Really a nasty grubby place.
On a positive point... the staff were pleasant and the food was ok but if the rooms are as disgusting as they were , i worry about the cleanliness of the kitchen.
Advice : Go somewhere else, pay a bit more and dont make the same mistake I did.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Pay a bit more unless you are happy to sleep in a pigsty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassidys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassidys Hotel

Property: Cassidys Hotel
Address: Cavendish Row, Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassidys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with Georgian facade, in the heart of city center, convenient to The Writers Museum, Hugh Lane Gallery of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cassidys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassidys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing