We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - But!!”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Read all the reviews about the Harcourt Hotel, even the one about the noise from the Club - but still felt we would like to stay there. The Hotel is brilliantly located to reach all venues - great walk through St Stephens Green Park - The Hotel itself is very clean and well presented, bedrooms are spotlessly clean, but I have to admit the noise from the Club is bad if you are at the front of the hotel - we stayed in room 100 - first night was woken at 3.00am second night made sure we had enough guinness to help us throught it!!!! This is the only thing I can fault it on - it didn't spoil our stay but it is worth bearing in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Prendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2005

Great I would immagine if you are 18 - 30 but if you like to sleep between midnight and 3am forget it, no one monitors the on site night club.
We moved from rear room to front room to no effect.
Be warned.

Stayed: November 2005
5  Thank tezzauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Stayed here one night and booked based on the reviews here. The rooms are a bit small, but neat and tidy. Staff was accommodating and friendly. just a 5 minute walk from Grafton Street and in a safe neigborhood. there is a nightclub across the street and one in the hotel. Never had a problem with noise and in fact, slept like a baby. I would stay again if my travel plans include Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gomezkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We liked this hotel but I think a large part of that has to do with the fact that we are young and stay up very late.

The room was good sized with a full bed and single bed. Bathroom was very clean. Had a nice window view of a little courtard. The nightclub was right next door and it doesn't get quiet until about 3 am when they kick everyone out.

We could also hear the people above us very clearly so I don't think the walls are all that thick. We were in the part of the hotel that is seperate from the reception check in so we had no problem getting in late at night.

The location can't be beat; quick walk to St. Stephen's Green and Grafton St.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bodyandsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2005

I'm dissapointed that a few other Tripadvisor reviews for this hotel aren't in the same opinion as myself and many others - don't let the bad reviews put you off!

I have stayed here on many occaisions and find it a great hotel, I'm returning next month and will be staying there again!

Its excellent value - book through ------ and expect to pay approx EUR45 per person per night, although breakfast isn't included, an ample one can be bought in the restaurant for approx EUR6. The hotel facilities are what you expect - clean, tidy and standard ammenities, but compared with other hotels that I have stayed in and also its location, I can't seem to complain. There is tea and coffee provided to kick the hangover into touch!

The location is fantastic, its ideally placed 5 mins walk from the top of Grafton Street and in the better end of town. The Luas green line stops virtually outside the door and if you're travelling from the airport by Aircoach, its a short walk to the hotel from the stop.

There is also a great nightclub and bar and a good restaurant within the hotel and also for all smokers - an outside heated beer garden with outside bar! Great to sit in during summer as its a sun trap! (Yes, Dublin can be sunny!)

Probably not best to recommend this hotel to people who are insomniacs or those that complain about the slightest thing, including noise, as you have to remember, you are in a city and cities are renowned for being noisy!

I took 18 other people over earlier this year - a group that contained a variety of ages and every one had a good word to say about the hotel and would definitely stay there again - guess that speaks for its self!

A word of warning, try to get a room in the annex building as this as a seperate entrance - the main hotel entrance is locked at 11pm and entry can only be made through the entrance to the nightclub.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank gillyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2005

We have just come back from our stay and even though we asked for a quiet room (twice!!), away from the front of the building, we got a room right over the entrance.

The room was large and clean. We had to report the heating and we also had no shower curtain, but these were sorted straight away.

The room was extremly noisy. We had street noise from around 2.00am until sun rise....trams and drunken people coming out the club!!

If you like a good night sleep or if you are a light sleeper...KEEP AWAY.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield, UK
13
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nts mid-week. Great value for money. Very central location, only about 15 min walk to shopping area. The room was huge, requested to be away from the club after reading other reviews, and there was only very muffled noise heard in the room. Hotel residents can enter the club for free which was a bonus and there is a large beer garden out the back with patio heaters. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The restaurant 'Dandelion' about 10 min walk away was excellent too!

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#89 of 150 in Dublin
544 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#70 of 150 in Dublin
819 reviews
Albany House
#63 of 150 in Dublin
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,618 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
#44 of 150 in Dublin
2,094 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#131 of 150 in Dublin
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $75 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing