We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in August. My daughter had made a change to the original booking date and was charged £8 for this. When we arrived ,tired after a 4am start for our flight, we were asked to pay this again. We told the receptionist we' d already paid and she said she'd sort it. 4 days later upon checking out we were asked for £8 again. We proved that it had been paid already and were assured it was sorted. Today , a week later, we found that they debited the card we paid with!
One afternoon we returned to our room at 4.30 and the room had not been serviced. A maid appeared around 5pm and asked us to leave while she cleaned. We complained to reception but we're told room servicing was carried out until 6 pm. No apology. We had to wait in the bar as these is no residents´ lounge and nobody had the courtesy to tell us when the room was ready.
And when we initially checked in they had reserved a double room when we´d asked for a twin. The receptionist acted as though she was doing us a favour to give us the type of room we had reserved. And the breakfasts were awful...tinned fruit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very good hotel with good & good breakfast, comfortable beds, neat & tidy, fast internet connection and good service. A short walk of 10 minutes & you are in the city's downtown. Cool bars & restaurants at very good prices and you get measured by noon, cannon.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank christer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and both nights were awful. 3 of us in tiny room with even smaller bathroom. TV only had one workable channel, the beds hadn't been renewed since the 70s. No sound proofing at all. We could hear anyone that walked passed our room as the floor vibrated Everytime. Walks were so thin we could hear every conversation from the next room. We were warm in the nights but couldn't open window due to there being a very loud extractor fan than was running 24/7 followed by constant construction in the daytime from somewhere inside the hotel. Also a very loud nightclub and party animals are connected to the hotel. Location is not idea for center as it's 15-20 mins walk and the tram from hotel goes in the opposite direction. Certainly not recommended for a descent nights sleep.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

After reading scattered reviews on this hotel, we rolled the dice and it turned out great. We had a family room on the basement floor and it was perfect. We saw that there was the possibility of hearing the nightclub and that wouldn't have been so good. If you're young and out late, this place would be perfect for you. The nightclub was packed, the music was pumping, the drinks were flowing, and the dance floor was full most nights. Many rooms were surrounding the nightclub area (the property covers several buildings) and I could see that some of those would be blasted by music late into the night. However, we were far away and weren't bothered a bit. We tried the bar food for dinner and weren't very impressed, but there was a nice restaurant we didn't try. We didn't do brekki there either - found other less expensive options out and about. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us camp out in the empty nightclub during the morning (getting over jet lag) while our room was prepared. The hotel was within walking distance of most everything you would want to visit - or just a quick cab ride away.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a Friday night with some friends. At about 11pm, we heard an incredibly loud thumping from the bass and speakers at a club attached to the hotel. This continued along with drunken yelling and partying in the streets right outside our window until about 4am. We did not sleep at all and wd had a misefable night. Thankfully, the hotel refunded our stay after we complained. Do not stay at this hotel unless you want to feel like your hotel room is up in da club.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday 16th August with two friends. The room was ok but needed a facelife and the bathroom was tiny. On arrival we were greeted by professional reception staff but unfortunately thats where the professionalism ended. We went to bar to order some food and while we were waiting on food to arrive a staff member approached us and asked for payment, this is unusual practice. We found the same at breakfast the next morning when we were asked to pay immediately food arrived. This was on top of the floors being washed with a strong disinfectant just as we sat down to eat. Maybe guests in the past had left without paying! We sat in the bar on the Saturday night and we were constantly approached by different staff to order drinks, if glass was empty is was swiped away immediately. Drinks on the night were expensive and tasted different depending on who served you. Overall this wasn't a good experience for any of us and we wouldn't be booking the Harcourt again.

The whole experience made me ponder the question as to why do people work in the hospitality field if they don't believe in offering a good customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here in July with my cousin who booked it on deal plan that included train from Belfast to Dublin, dinner &breakfast for two nights. First the positives.. One off dinner at restaurant was lovely and tasty. Brilliant value. Was meant to be early bird special but they let us start just a bit later. Breakfast was good value. Basic but plenty of it. Not always hot. Staff lovely and very helpful. Deal included the Dart train and spent a few hours in beach. Great location as not far walk to heart of shops. Negatives .. Very hot in room and weather around 22 c. Woke up in sweat middle of night. Couldn't leave window open as noise and even then there was no breeze. Found hair on sheets which I found disgusting. Dust in obvious looking places in room. Didn't feel clean. beds ok. Elevator not always working. Small shower. Wore ear plugs so noise level ok. Overall ok deal but can't get past hair on sheets and room way too warm for comfort.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mazziePerth_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#91 of 151 in Dublin
548 reviews
Albany House
#61 of 151 in Dublin
835 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#68 of 151 in Dublin
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#82 of 151 in Dublin
1,161 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#131 of 151 in Dublin
478 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#114 of 151 in Dublin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $71 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing