We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Bray, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After a spur of the moment decision, checked-in by a lovely gentleman on reception, very helpful. However the room was nothing exciting. It had everything you need but was very small. over all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    343
    285
    196
    274
See reviews for
155
325
70
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If I would have taken the advice from TripAdvisor I would not have stayed in this hotel but as I was traveling as part of a group and a member of the group had already visited three times before I gave it a go. The building is lovely and in a great location and the downstairs is full of period features. We were staying in a five bed-roomed room and were on the first floor, I thought after all the reviews that I was nt going to get much sleep. It was a little noisy on the first night which was a Thursday night and we did hear the party goers leave early in the morning, but all in all I managed to get a good seven hours of sleep a night on every night. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help us out. My only one disappointment is that the rooms could do with an upgrade but for the price I would definitely go there again with friends.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room far away from the nightclub and at the back of the hotel as the tram run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmcglinchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghera, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at hotel & left disappointed. The hotel itself is in an ideal location & is a nice period feature hotel but a few things let it down 1. The noise from adjoining bedroom was excessive 2. Night porter very unfriendly 3. Smoking area TV stayed on all night that reflected into our room 4. There was ongoing works at hotel which workmen started early morning resulting in a very poor nights sleep (along with the late night antics of neighboring couple). The only positive was that the bar staff and food servers were very nice and friendly. To be honest I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here on Easter Sunday and were flying out the next day. They room was alright, considering the price.

We had a room on the first floor and had been out for dinner and a drink. When we came back around 2am, the noise coming from the Night Club was so extreme that our entire room was vibrating from the bass. I put on headphones and turned the volume up to drown out the music from the club, but could barely hear my own music.

The club closed around 3am and then around 4 the noise from people leaving was more or less gone - and then we got to sleep!!

There is absolutely no possibility of sleep before the club closes, at least if you're on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

WE stayed 3 days in Dublin at the Harcourt Hotel and found it extremely comfortable and the staff extraordinarily pleasant and accommodating. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It was concierge service on a budget. They arranged taxi's, arranged shipping to the us, even gave me batteries for my camera. The reception staff was amazing, especially Claudio. The restaurant and night club were great as well.

Room Tip: I did not see a pool or fitness center, but there could have been one. We were too busy to use those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great night in the Harcourt Hotel, food great, night club packed, really good. The staff where great I also left behind a very expensive ski jacket. They posted it up the next day. Great customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

OK do not go here if you want to be in bed by midnight and get the full 8 hours....it isn't likely to happen, especially at weekends. But if you want somewhere that has a lively bar/disco, excellent breakfast and is within walking distance of the centre of Dublin, it's not a bad spot. The noise of the music, followed by the trams starting up early means that unless you sleepp through anything, you're going to have a disturbed night. However my room was clean, the bed was excellent - no backache after 4 nights, and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Lunch looked good too, and plenty of locals came in, but I didn't try that as I was full after (late) breakfasts. Great outdoor area with huge screen to watch the golf on too. No, I wouldn't go there if I was on business, but for a fun weekend it was great.

Room Tip: There is an annexe but I understand that isn't the quietest either
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxMountaineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
526 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#78 of 151 in Dublin
791 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 151 in Dublin
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
469 reviews
The Dean
#70 of 151 in Dublin
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing