We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here on the weekend form my hen do with 8 other girls.

The venue is great for the location as Harcourt Street is just on top of Grafton Street and St Stephens Green. It is also across from Coppers which is one of the best known clubs in Dublin. Handy for when you want to get home quickly after a night out!

The price is reasonable however in consideration, is probably a bit much for what you actually get.
The hotel rooms are not in great shape and to be honest are very run down. This is surprising considering the hall ways are decorated very well and the bar linked to the hotel is also well maintained.
The massive downside when we went was that there was loud, very loud, building works going on which stopped us from sleeping! The hotel had put ear plugs in the drawers so seemingly were expecting the noise but failed to tell us which was disappointing.

I would say that if you want a hotel for it's location only, then the Harcourt is for you!

P.s, Just a tip, there is a Tesco just around the corner too so you don't have to go far for food/drink!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel fronts Harcourt Street, a four-storey corridor where sleek transit trains stop frequently with the clang of a bell. From the hotel it's about two blocks to the beautiful oasis of St. Stephen's Green. Passing along the edge of the green, you soon reach Grafton Street, a major shopping district. Walk a few blocks further to reach O'Connell Bridge and the heart of Dublin. In short, the Harcourt Hotel anchors the south end of the best stroll in Dublin.

Inside, high ceilings trimmed with elaborate molding and dark wood wainscoting set the backdrop. A large portrait of George Bernard Shaw overlooks the comfortably worn stuffed chairs and couch in the lobby. The elegant front desk is staffed around the clock.

The rooms are small but well-furnished with a comfortable bed, petite table and chairs, a wardrobe, and a vanity, all in harmony. The bathroom is ample and modern. Large windows overlook the street.

The hallways are a little bit of a maze. There is no wifi in the rooms, and the wifi in the lobby has a glitch that prevents sending email.

The dining room is well-staffed for breakfast. A hearty full breakfast is laid out and served by a host on real plates. It's delicious, with the full array of meats from sausage link to bacon, though I didn't finish the little 'pudding' patties. The beans might well have come out of a Campbell's can. An alternate continental breakfast is also available. The coffee is plentiful but mediocre.

The bar rocks through the wee hours of Saturday morning, but surprisingly little of the dance music and ruckus makes it upstairs to the sleeping rooms. The disturbance comes from drunks on the front sidewalk singing as loud as they can. Hotel guests roam back and forth through the lobby between the dance party and the elevator to their rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view, but can get noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed one Night there. the services available are good. everything fine other than access. There no access ( path way) for a disabled or for a parent who need to carry baby in a buggy. Entrance is also just after some door steps. When you step in the there are few locations where you have to walk few steps ups and downs. Finding the location is also a little messy as the displayed name board is just small and can not see from a distant place. After stepping in there will be a good room, calm environment. Location is seemed to be a better option as it is at city centre where there are enough transport options such as taxies, luvas, buses etc. If you walk out you can easily reach the place where hand paintings are displayed for sales.park is also close by.

Room Tip: find a room to which you have less steps to take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadhane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My company had booked me into this hotel for one night on a business trip and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone! It's difficult to know where to start but the main points were:
- torn wallpaper and cracks in the bedroom
- a very noisy machine outside of the bedroom windows which was on all night (room 102)
- a nasty looking stain down the side of the bed
- very old fashion and tired looking patterned bedspread and blankets which didn't match with the terribly patterned chair
- the hotel advertises it has wifi but this only works in the busy public bar
- the breakfast was served in the public bar and was possibly one of the worst breakfasts I have seen in a while. Some of the highlights were out of date yogurts, no semi skimmed milk, no porridge, all the cooked food floating in grease, etc.
- the hairdryer was one of the pipe type things which takes 2 hours to dry your hair
- the grouting in the tiles in the bathroom was black

I understand that the hotel is popular with hen and stag weekends but even if I was on one of these and wanted a cheap option surely there must be better places to stay in Dublin than this!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonaH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in a very popular area of Dublin. Good if you want to party but not good if you want to sight-see and have early nights. I stayed with a friend over the All-Ireland Final weekend and the place was bouncing although being woke up at 4am on Monday morning by people leaving a nearby nightclub was a down point. The hotel is on the tramline for those who have difficulty walking. Food was good in the evening but the breakfast was a buffet and some items were cold even though we were the first ones in htere at 7.30am. 3* at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwerty9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

In some ways this is a more than reasonable hotel. It is quite well located (and will be better connected when the tram line extends northwards from St Stephens Green). The rooms are well furnished and equipped, although I am not keen on a fixed shower head. Meals in the bar, particularly the "early bird menu" served to 10pm during he week, are good value and also available in the associated Little Caesar restaurant. Breakfast is a bit hit or miss - avoid the srambled eggs and learn to use the toaster. Staff were generally OK although there were signs of quite a high staff turnover. The major downside is the noise at night from the street, not only from the hotel's own nightclub at weekends but also from those who leave other clubs in the area. Getting a room at the back on one of the upper floors would be advisable. One other point is that taxis dropping or picking up passengers have to stop on the opposite side of the road because of the tram lines which may be of concern to some.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facin the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. There were 2 adults and 2 children. We were concerned about the reviews about the noise but i think we were lucky. I had a room facing the back and didnt get any of the noise of the bars.etc outside but my friend did get a bit of it at the front so we`ll know next time. Considering there`s a nightclub/bar underneath we didn`t hear a thing from there.The staff were very good and very friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble.The day we arrived we were too early for the rooms. The staff recommended that we went and had a coffee in the bar. We decided to eat there as well. The food was lovely and very reasonable.
The rooms were absolutely fine,very clean and nicely decorated. The reception area was decorated nicely. At the back of the bar area there was a lovely outside bar area and lovely patio.The hotel is in a decent area near St. Stephens Green. The impression i got is that this hotel has a decent class of clientele. We booked this hotel because of the price but we got a nice surprise.We would definatley stay here again in fact we wish we`d have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking and they will make sure that you get one. Perhaps a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicarabbit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Albany House
#64 of 150 in Dublin
835 reviews
Harrington Hall
#91 of 150 in Dublin
551 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#63 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,167 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: 60 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $66 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing