We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT BAD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #60 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT BAD”
Reviewed May 4, 2007

not bad for having been a last minute booking!!
friendly staff, helpfull and....ITALIAN SPEAKING!! GREAT!!
THANK YOU
SEE YOU NEXT TIME

  • Liked — the French girl
  • Disliked — weird people working at the bar
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    913
    416
    187
    140
See reviews for
388
1,051
99
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

The location is good, not a luxurious area, but neither a dangerous or no-limits zone: in 10 minutes walking you are in O'Connel st. , and although it's in front of the rail station, we found no strange people around. The hotel is not really worth the 90 euros/night we paid, but taking a look at the hotels' prices in the city center you can accept it. I must confess I was a little bit worried about it after reading some posts, that's why I specially asked for a room in the new area of the hotel, but they took no notice of it and gave us room 104 (old area). Possibly I was expecting so bad that it looked..... just fine, correct. Ok, not for staying one month, but it's enough for a Dublin short-stay.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Naiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godalming surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Having booked this hotel for a girl's weekend away I was absolutely horrified when I read all of the negative reviews. However, glad to say that the reality was a pleasant surprise. Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from River Liffey and centre of town. Yes, it is directly underneath railway line and yes, reception does rattle a bit when a train goes by, but it's all part of the charm and as our rooms were double glazed we weren't disturbed. Air con too, so pleasantly cool. Overall this hotel is of higher quality that most 3* and all of the staff were really pleasant, especially concierge. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2007

The location of this hotel was not brilliant but it was well worth it
for us as it is far enought away form the center of dublin but close enough to walk to as well as to any were you need we went for a concert and it was ideal to get to the point depo and then to the temple bar area for a good drink.

The hotel room was very clean however we did have one layer of our double glazed window broken but it didnt not effect us in the slightest as the rooms were spacious yet cozy the breakfasts were incredible more than you could hope for with fruit, full irish breakfast and all help your self

this hotel was well worth the money we payed for it and the staff were so helpful in getting us taixes and directions to places we needed to go we only stayed for one night be could of happily stayed for more.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_egan_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

i booked this holiday to travel with our sports and social club in work. as we did not choose the hotel we were concerned when we read some of the comments made previously.

we arrived at the hotel and were greeted in a warm friendly manner. we had no problem with the reception. our room was lovely, clean and in the new part of the hotel, so no noise from the dart!! we did hear the dart when we were in reception, but this did not bother us as our room was quiet.

the room was spacious, clean and tea=making facilities were all included in the price. we were a five-ten minute walk to o'connell street and temple bar. talbot street, which is the road next to the hotel to reach o'connell street is a bit run down, but we did not feel threatened or intimidated by the locals.

the breakfast was fab, a buffet with lots of different dishes and this was already included in our price, previous comments re the price of breakfast is incorrect though as the breakfast is cheaper for residents than non residents, 10 and 15 euros respectively.

we were there for 2 nights and on our return from our first day out the hotel room had been cleaned to a very high standard. no chocs on pillow, but hey, it is only three star.

mccoys, thebar next door is not a palace, and is used by locals, some looking slightly shady, but again not intimidating in any way.

round the corner from the hotel is the airport link and a plethera of buses that will take you virtually anywhere in ireland. the dart is over the road and the concierge is a useful person to have a chat to before embarking on a trip.

on our leaving day we decided to visit malahide castle and grounds. trip price 22euros, we bought a one day rambler for 6euros, paid 10 euros to go on tours within malahide castle and used the rambler ticket to get back to the airport!!! good value. We left our luggage at the hotel and can re-assure future visitors that they now move the luggage to a storage room, rather than leave it in the lobby and you are given a ticket which you have to hand in to get your case back.

i have been to dublin many times, so my positive view of this visit is not because i have leprechaun dust in my eyes, but because it was so enjoyable, and certainly made better by this hotel,

thank you North Star Hotel

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laineylovesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

I booked this hotel as one of Last Minutes' mystery deals, then came here and wished I hadn't after reading the reviews.
However, I've come away very content about the hotel.
We stayed for one night and I called the week before to check we were in the executive wing as suggested by the reviewers, which we were. I would stress that this really does matter. You are well away from the train line and can't hear anything. Reception is literally built into one of the arches of the bridge!
On arrival the staff were very friendly, we got there about 8am and they stored our bags and we disappeared for the day. We got back around 4pm to check in and found we had been booked into a suite, which was clean and comfortable and the champagne I had asked to be in the room (as it was our anniversary) was there and perfectly chilled.
The location isnt glamorous and McCoy's isnt the place were you would spend the evening, though I'm not meaning it is dodgy, it just doesnt seem to have character. Really, I've wrote this review to reassure those who have booked here that it isnt necessarily the hell hole it has been painted as. I think a previous reviewer summed it up perfectly as Russian roulette!!

  • Liked — The service, location
  • Disliked — Not the most beautiful part of town
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Just come back from a 3 night stay there with my mother and have mixed feelings about the place.
One the one hand the rooms were quite spacious & clean
& had British TV, so we didn't miss our favourite prorammes,the bathroom was clean,though a little small, the concierge was very helpful and the barman was friendly.
However:
Breakfast was over priced. As we had not booked breakfast in advance we had to pay the same rate as non residents. There wasn't a big enough selection and what was there was wasn't nice. The service at breakfast was very slow. On our 2nd day it took 15 minutes before someone came to ask if me and my mum wanted tea or coffee.
The receptionists at the desk when we arrived did not seem to notice us for a while. The women who spoke to us had limited knowledge of English and was not helpful at all.
The information pack in our room did not help us to navigate round Dublin, I quote this directly from the pack:
'All buses are within 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.' It didn't tell you what buses to get or even where they went.
The Hotel was located in downtown Dublin. When we were told the hotel Restaurant was fully booked, after not being warned we might need to book, we were sent out, it was dark and it really did not feel safe. The area is full of graffiti, yobs hang around after dark, we even saw some being arrested. Worst of all we were not warned the hotel was right next to a railway bridge and that the windows could not keep the noise out.

  • Liked — Had British TV
  • Disliked — Next to railway bridge so noisy
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jelly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing