We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome in Dublin”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights here whilst touring Ireland. It is opposite the entrance to Connolly station so perfect and only 10 minutes on the tram to Heuston station. There is a really warm welcome, nice bar and outside space for a nightcap after being out on the town. It is a 15 minute walk across the river to the main streets of Dublin, but this means the hotel area is fairly quiet. Wifi is really hit an miss, but you will log on eventually, speed is good once you jump on. Breakfast is served in a hot windowless basement, and a bit stuufy and claustraphobic. It is great though and set us up for the day. A bit expensive though,so eat all you can. All in all a great hidden gem and great for getting around.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at North Star. The staff was wonderful. Over our stay in Dublin, we were in two different rooms. Both were clean and nicely furbished. Loved our bathroom (especially with the second room:-) it was huge and beautifully remodeled. We loved the location of North Star to all the places we wanted to see in Dublin (Temple Bar, Henry Street, Grafton Street)

Room Tip: If you can stay in the newly refurbished wing, it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the North Star Hotel for your recent trip to Dublin, delighted to read that we enhanced your time in Dublin nad that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope that you may have the opportunity to revisit in the future.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

JUst back from the north star ,very clean , lovely hotel , great location , very near the train , and bus station ,Breakfast was absolutely superb with very helpful and attentive staff , We had a room in the older part of the hotel (room 210) initial reaction was clean modern and well appointed ,with small opening window ,
It Was always very warm but as the day drew on it became even hotter and stuffier (i think it must have been over a kitchen and caught afternoon sun ) , so we opened the little window , (no aircon) , Problem was its within 20 yards of a busy railway , not much of a problem in the day with double glazing but a nightmare in the evening and early morning as it was just so hot ,even with the widow wide open ,! Sleep was very interrupted which spoiled our break .
If we went again would try and stay in the newer part of the hotel (premier rooms ?)
The management really need to address these issues , as the hotel itself is a great place to stay and eat .

Room Tip: Pick a Premier room i should think , Rooms in older part to the rear are a nightmare to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andybk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and my management colleagues I assure we have taken your comments onboard constructively. We very much value all of our guest feedback in order to continue to strive to meet our high standards.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was in a very convenient location. Nice first impression and most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the air conditioner didn't work and our room was very hot. We asked if we could move to another room, but they said the hotel was booked, except for the upgraded rooms. They offered to move us for $30.00 euros more per night.

Room Tip: Make sure air works or upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CherylW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, I hope that you had an great trip in Ireland.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Staff was wonderful! They were so helpful and welcoming. Rooms are gorgeous (though, A/C was either not working or the room didn't have one-- didn't deter us from enjoying it). Great location. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Michelle K,

Greatly pleased to read you had a great recent stay with us, I do hope we may welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. Room was OK, comfortable bed and clean.
Only 7 TV channels, no sockets near the bed (had to charge phone/alarm across the room, very inconvenient), bathroom lighting was very dark.
In room Wi-Fi reception
was so appalling it was pointless trying to go on line.
Buffet breakfast was reasonably good and the Bar served excellent local food, reasonably priced with friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malky70D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Although delighted to read you had an enjoyable meal and courteous service in our Cookhouse & Bar I am sincerely disappointed to read your additional comments and assure you I have made my management colleagues aware and we certainly will take proactive measures in addressing each of the points raised. I do hope you will revisit with us and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A major facelift has brought this hotel into the 21st century. The bedrooms are well furnished with lots of space and really comfortable with good lighting. The buffet breakfast gives a wide choice that will cater for most tastes.

On arrival you will get a warm and welcoming reception and feel very much at home. Situated over the road from Connolly Station and a short walk from the central bus station this hotel is well sited to help you enjoy Dublin

Room Tip: Unless you are staying in the Premier rooms then ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and highly commend our refurbishment. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#95 of 150 in Dublin
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.2 mi away
Beresford Hotel
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 150 in Dublin
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#48 of 150 in Dublin
3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $129 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing