We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5*” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #62 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and easy to find. Across from a train station which can only be heard with the window open. Three beds to a room, one small double & 2 single beds. nice sized clean bathroom. Would definitely stay here again. The breakfast buffet was hot and the staff were friendly & helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reenie185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    907
    408
    185
    138
See reviews for
378
1,040
98
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent. uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay. Staff very friendly,breakfast excellent, room very clean with all the amenities. The location was perfect. Everything close to hand. Would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Pleasure to read that your recent stay with us at The North Star Hotel was so enjoyable, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Me and my Fiancé stayed here in December 2013. The room was lovely, and well kept, lovely big comfy bed, but, the room was like a sauna, it was very hot and just outside our room was very noisy, with the train track and busy freight traffic, but we didn't mind that, we are staying in a city, so you will have to expect noise. But for those who like a silent night, take ear plugs.

The staff are very nice, we didn't interact much with them (our choice, romantic get away) but they were helpful and polite whenever we needed them.

The hotel is an easy walk to the main bars in temple bar and easy commute to and from the airport (we used the bus, was 12E each for a return)

The breakfast was not great and quite expensive for the quality, so we didn't bother with room service on that basis. I did find the restaurant staff quite rude and dismissive.

I would stay again, but maybe mention that the room was hot and have that sorted instead of being shy, and I would take ear plugs. I would also avoid the breakfast. All in all a nice hotel. Some improvements to be made in my opinion, but my main thing was the room and couldn't fault that (except the heat) Perfect for couples

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for making the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact me directly, I am curious as to which room that you stayed in that the heating was so overpowering. Equally I would appreciate to know the issues which you encountered with our breakfast buffet so that I may make the chef aware. Our full breakfast buffet is priced at €12.50, included in this price is full and extensive hot selection and full continental options also.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel two nights ago as I was arriving in Dublin by train into Connolly Station. The hotel is right across the road. The check in staff were very efficient and friendly. Wifi was free and straightforward and the room was very comfortable. As it was pouring with rain, I broke one of my usual habits and decided to eat in the hotel. I am so glad I did. The staff were very friendly in the bar/restaurant. I ordered a smoked fish platter as a starter and steak for the main course. The barman was good enough to point out that I probably wouldn't need both but suggested I go for a large platter if I was going to skip the steak. It was quite simply wonderful. Smoked salmon, mackeral and trout - and loads of it! As much bread as anyone could cope with and a fab salad. I will certainly go back and will certainly have the smoked fish board. Full marks all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for sharing your recent experience with us at The North Star Hotel with other Tripadvisor users. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of destination Dublin, as part of a theatre package connected to the Bord Gais Theatre. It was fantastic value and we had a two course meal there as well. On arrival the receptionist was bright and very friendly, the hotel décor is recently done and gives a boutique feeling. The rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable, and the décor was very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant (two courses) and it was fantastic, a real credit to the chef. The service here was also very impressive, with staff being extremely attentive. Likewise breakfast the next morning was great, it was buffet style and you could not want for anything, with great choice available. The staff booked us a cab and came to let us know when it had arrived, so there was no need for waiting by the door. On return the staff asked if we had enjoyed the show and checked again that we had everything we needed.

The only blip was the car park, it is behind the hotel and a bit like a jigsaw puzzle, I had a hard time fitting the car into the space I was directed to (it didn't help that I was driving a car twice the size of my own) and the attendant was getting very irate with me. I did mention this to the girl on reception along with the fact that I thought I would never get the car out, she apologised and said they would get the car out. The following morning however the car was brought to the hotel door for us.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I have to say the staff made it really, we were amazed how helpful and friendly they were the whole time, a real personal touch to the service.

Room Tip: Rooms are exactly what you see on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss_M01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always an absolute pleasure to read such a glowing review. I have ensured to copy your review to our staff notice board for our teams attention. We do enndeavour at all times to meet and surpass the exceptions of our guests.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a package deal that included breakfast (wasn't great) Dinner (lovely but limited by deal) and tickets to "Wicked" the hotel was easily walking distance to the shops & the staff were super friendly and helpful. It was v clean & lovely decor. Only down side was the breakfast that was quite rubbery as was prob reheated etc. I would def recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for making your review. Great to read that you found such value in your recent stay although I am disappointed to read that you were not wholly satisfied with our breakfast buffet. I would like to take the opportunity to assure you that our full breakfast selection is freshly cooked each morning and replenished as required. I am delighted to read that our team however extended such a pleasant welcome during your stay.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hotel was clean, staff were great. the part of the hotel we were staying had a strong smell of cigarate smoke about also sauna not working properly. food was good just ashame about smell would stay again in different part of hotel


Room Tip: ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I note that you visit with us was in January, I regret that your room was affected by the smell of smoke however from the 1st of February we have introduced a strictly non-smoking policy through all of our guest bedrooms. I do hope that we may welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
1.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing