We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Star Dublin Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #61 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“North Star Dublin Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The parking was a little hard to figure out when we arrived, but that was handled nicely and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating to us when we booked a dinner show with them for an evening of our stay. They delivered the tickets to us just as promised (to our room actually). We were there around the Christmas holidays and loved the location of the hotel as we were right in town to enjoy the season and observe the street decorations as we walked thru town. We would stay there again without hesitation. The breakfasts were very good and the adjoining restaurant/bar offered very good food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bumland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and we hope you had a lovely Christmas. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the festivities and decorations of the city during your stay. We hope you will choose us again should you visit.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    916
    419
    188
    140
See reviews for
391
1,055
99
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Brilliant hotel, friendly staff amazing breakfast. Stayed there for New Year's Eve and the staff in the bar were more than happy to accommodate us even when we got back very late after a skinful. Rooms weds immaculate and we had a maid service everyday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiffy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year. We are glad that your stay with us was enjoyable and that the staff were happy to accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Fantastic little hotel, staff were lovely as was food!! The bar was very nice and in an excellent location. Would recommend to friends and family and will be staying again on return to Dublin. Very clean modern and stylish hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank F1DTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear F1DTS,

Thank you for you review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable with us. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

While the North Star is right across from the rail station you wouldn't know it, the place was very quiet. It's layout is somewhat odd as they have expanded into connecting buildings beyond the original, however, this is of little consequence with the exception of having to carry your own bags up some stair IF you choose too. Not a big deal. The concierge desk was MOST helpful as was the front desk staff. Don't skip the in house restaurant, it is well worth a try, we went back more than twice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BenDare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both staff and our Cookhouse met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again and please feel free to avail of our porter service to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at the North Star twice last year and would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Dublin. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and staff always helpful. Just a short walk to city centre, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoesmith1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear zoesmith1974,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Hotel. Feedback is always greatly appreciated and it is nice to hear that you chose to stay with us again while visiting Dublin. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay over the New Year period. The welcome was great and room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee etc + decent hairdryer and iron and board all in room. Lighting in bathroom could be better (for applying make-up) and would have liked decaf coffee option in the room. Staff exceptionally friendly and bar staff very smart and efficient.
The breakfast was buffet style, very tasty with waitress bringing tea/coffee - again staff very efficient and friendly.
The town is a little walk but not a problem unless raining! The bus from the airport stops very close to the hotel which was great.
We visited the Guinness storehouse (ticket price includes a free pint!), Temple Bar, St Patricks, the famine memorial, and Trinity College (unfortunately the castle was shut).The ambience on New Year Eve was friendly and relaxed - even in the lively Temple Bar area. Loved all the live music.
Would like to visit Dublin again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, may I wish you and your family a happy and prosperous New Year. It is great to read that you enjoyed our Dublin celebrations. In particular, it is a pleasure to read such positive and pleasant comments regarding our team and service. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

HI had a very bad experience with this hotel
they charge for wifi but the wifi network did not work on my level room ( that was located on first floor, room was decorated with what looked like 2nd hand furniture)
after several complains on the wireless work ( considering I was paying for it) the hotel gave me another room on a superior level ( room was up graded, very nice size rooms, brand new and very fashionable with a very good wireless connection)
it was a shame that i has to experience the bad of the hotel to get the best out of it so if you are booking make sure you ask for a up-grade room ( superior) otherwise it will be a disapoointment
location is close to teh center, right in front of a train station but no noise can be heard so ok

Room Tip: always aks if you are beeing given the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I profusely regret that your stay with us was so hindered by WIfi Connectivity, I note that your visit was almost 12 months ago, before completion of our refurbishment. In addition, we removed Wifi charges a number of months ago and it is now complimentary throughout our hotel and bar. We have also upgraded our Wifi service to endeavour to ensure the highest delivery of service to our guests. I do hope that you may have the opportunity to revisit and experience our completed refurbishment.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.6 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing