We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip - Faultless Highly Recc”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights B&B Oct 10-12th. The hotel was fantastic, we were able to check in early, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had room 212 which was immaculate,spacious and recently decorated.
The hotel itself was located right at the railway station and 10 mins from Oconnell street where there are department stores and shops. It was 15 mins from Temple Bar where there is a huge selection of bars and restaurants! (We ate at Temple Quay- which was lovely and much more reasonable than the cost of eating in Oconnell street).
We could not fault this hotel we both accessed the gym and sauna, and had our breakfast here - which was amazing!
I would definitely recommend this hotel, i would also say it was a 4* hotel as it is far superior to any 3* that I have stayed in!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinterWarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Front Office Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear WinterWarmers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met with your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lorna
Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
There are newer reviews for North Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been using this hotel for events for my company for the past 6 years and every time we receive fantastic service. During our events we also spend a night or two at the hotel. The rooms are top notch and the recent renovation of the lobby area and the bar area looks fantastic. The staff are always friendly and helpful and do a great job coordinating our events. Plus it's a fantastic central location in Dublin near the train and bus station and walking distance to downtown sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all guest feedback in particular that from our regular guests. We have recently introduced new and exceptional corporate guest packages, might I suggest you contact Sarah Power directly at sarahpower@northstarhote.ie She would be delighted to tailor a package to your specific needs or if you have the opportunity on your next visit meet with you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel with a friend and we were very pleased with the hotel. The location is convenient in the city centre but still in a quiet area. The room was just as on the pictures so no surprises and the beds were comfortable.

Most of the staff were very polite and we appreciated the airport transfer at 5am. They also arranged continental breakfast for us and brought it to the room at 4.30 am without a tray charge.

I would defenitely stay at this hotel again and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The North Star Hotel for your recent trip to Dublin, I do hope you enjoyed the city. I hope if you have to opportunity to revisit Dublin you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The room was a good size and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast was included and there was a good selection. I had a snack in the foyer but service was very slow. It was a bit of a trek into the city centre which wasn't that nice as the weather was wet. It was good value for money but next time I would stay a little bit closer to the main shopping areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettytrollop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your reference to our location surprises me, as other reviewers have commented we are a 10 minute walk to Henry Street and O'Connell Street, or
alternatively the Luas which is opposite the hotel is 5mins to Jervis Street. It is unfortunate that the weather was unpleasant during your stay, certainly not ideal for taking Dublin in by foot.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Access to rooms was difficult - had to carry heavy bags up stairs to before reaching lifts. We had a lot of trouble getting wifi coverage in the rooms. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean. Reception staff didn't seem particularly friendly. They weren't rude, but not welcoming. I felt like I was interrupting their work when I wanted to pay before leaving. Car park attendants were lovely, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1960sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I regret to read that your stay was not a totally positive one. I would be most surprised if porterage assistance was not offered which is available 24hrs for luggage assistance and general assistance. Our front office team are normally praised for their customer service and I have passed your comments onto our front office manager. I sincerely hope that you may in the future allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your estimations.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, there were no towels on arrival, the toilet seat was broken and tv remote faulty but all quickly fixed by the following day. It was Very noisy in the mornings as the maids station was outside my room, they never stopped yakking. The safe parking area was good and secure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Glasserton459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I apologise for the inconveniences you incurred, most certainly not our normal standards. We have a diligent procedure in place with regards the checking and repairing of maintenance issues, I regret that on this occasion our procedure lacked. I do hope you will not be deterred from revisiting with us please do contact us directly.

Kind regrds,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I always say I will, but never actually get around to writing a review after my stay at a hotel. However, after enjoying my stay at The North Star Hotel, Dublin so much I have had to change my ways so here goes! As the title says my stay was so good in fact that I changed my original two night stay to four!

I jumped on a bus at Dublin Airport and was dropped less than two minutes walk from the Hotel. Upon arrival I was greeted by the most courteous of staff who upgraded me for free to the most amazing room with balcony on the 8th floor. The room was enormous and also came with complementary admission to the members bar which although I didn't drink at, did pop my head in, and was impressed with decor and relaxed atmosphere.

Room itself was spotless and contemporary and you wanted for nothing. It was beautifully sunny and so balcony doors open were a must. Yes you do hear passing trains but it really didn't bother me in fact I quite liked it, felt very NYC and these stopped well before I went to sleep.

I did discover a faulty flashing light bulb in the bathroom but this was dealt with so swiftly it made no impact on my stay at all.

I had a delicious salad and Prosecco in the downstairs bar and restaurant McGettigans and was also given a token for free Prosecco with main meal which was very welcome! I didn't have breakfast so can't comment but did walk past the spacious room in which it was held and noticed guest being seated immediately and other satisfied looking ones eating!

They have a small but well equipped gym and sauna which I had for my personal use every time I visited.

Brilliant location for bus station, train station and taxi’s and easy walk to convenience stores including Tesco.

I can't rate this hotel highly enough and have booked it again for my upcoming stay. Can’t wait to return!

Don't hesitate book right away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0n17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to read that your recent stay with us was so thoroughly enjoyable and indeed so much so that you extended your stay. Thank you for making the time to post your review, I do hope you have the opportunity to revisit with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#96 of 150 in Dublin
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $141 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing