We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maple Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,892)
Filter reviews
2,892 results
Traveler rating
1,012
1,017
481
222
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,012
1,017
481
222
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconnolly stationpremier roomtrain noisetrain lineo'connell streetbreakfast roomcity centretemple barlovely hotelhotel restaurantbooked this hotelfantastic staytea coffeewe arrived earlyfull irish breakfastfollowing morningcroke park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,760 - 1,765 of 2,892 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

In Dublin for a congress & hotel was near the venue, my room was spacious & nicely decorated & the staff were friendly & very helpful. My room was at the front of the hotel & it was a little noisy at night. Breakfast was yummy & had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was reasonably priced & lovely. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_sunbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Great to read you so enjoyed you recent stay with us and that our standards and facilities met your standards. For your future business trips to Dublin might i suggest you contact our Director of Sales for information on our corporate rates and packages, sarahpower@northstarhotel.ie Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome as a future client.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We got our room through secret rooms on lastminute.com it was only £60 so we didn't expect much and alot of people tried to put us off by saying it is far away from everything! How wrong we all were, our room was huge with two double (extremely comfortable) beds and a single along with a sofa and dining table. We decided to have dinner as we didn't have much time to venture out before heading to the o2 for a concert, we were going to have the two courses for 20 euro but there unfortunately wasn't alot to chose from on that menu so we both went for fish and chips, my only complaint was I could have ate twice as much it was really lovely! The hotel is convenient to everything; right beside the station and it took only 20 minutes to walk to the o2 and 15 to get into Dublin center. We ventured into town the next day but returned shortly after due to the poor weather, we sat in the cosy bar and were served by two lovely bar men who were only to eager to please, I sampled an appletini which was the best made appletini I have ever tried (and trust me I've had a few) and my partner had a few Guinness which didn't disappoint!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone its so handy to the station you can leave your bags there during the day if you have checked out then pick them up really easily before catching the train again, the staff are lovely and so are the rooms! I will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Great to read you so enjoyed your stay and that any false perceptions were dispelled. I am very surprised that you were so ill advised of our location however. Our bar team will particularly appreciate your kind comments as will the whole team at The North Star Hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and great to read that you will be revisiting with us.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is right by the train station and the couple we were with couldn't sleep from the train going over their room. We didn't hear it in ours. The breakfast was good. We arrived early and they held our bags for us until check in which was nice. Staff up front was pleasant. The parking was weird but right on site. There were a lot of stairs that couldn't be avoided so if stairs are an issue, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madtownponydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The North Star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night prior to Railtours trip. No rooms were available when we arrived so we had to walk around Dublin for several hours on a chilly morning. We did get to rest in the lounge which was decent. The rooms are nice but very small, location near Connolly station is ok for small shops and pubs, seems like an area that is improving, but still a bit away from Central Dublin and Grafton Street.

This is an ok choice for a short term stay but don't do a Dublin only trip here, they're a better locations and choices.

Room Tip: ask for something away from the train noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donofrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback although I am surprised to read your disappointment and most certainly would appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss in detail. Our checkin time is 2pm each day as is clearly stated, where possible as other reviewers have said we always make our rooms available before this time when we can, I can only assume that you arrived to the hotel before 2pm. Once again as correctly commented in other reviews our location is 10/15mins walk to Dublins main thoroughfare O'Connell Street and the shopping district of Henry Street. Grafton Street is 20 mins walk from our location or no more than 10min by bus accessible directlly outside of the hotel. I can be contacted direct at rhona@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the ground floor - we requested this when we booked. The room was nice and clean. The ceilings are quite low which makes the place feel a bit claustrophobic, otherwise fine.
The price we paid for bed and continental breakfast was good. The hotel is a manageable walk to everywhere and we would certainly stay again. A million times better than the grotty b&b we stayed in last year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenshireArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your recent review, delighted to read our service and facilities met and surpassed your standards. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews