We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barman named Paddy!”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Barman named Paddy!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had to pass an hour waiting for a train across the road from this hotel at Dublin Connolly station so called into this hotel for a drink and was welcomed by an elderly barman who I think was called Paddy! ( hope you don't mind me saying you are elderly Paddy!) what a nice man. Friendly, welcoming, professional and great company. Was sorry to leave as would liked to have heard more stories about his trips to Bundoran and Donegal!! Well done North Star Hotel! You have a real star barman in Paddy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank manub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Customer,

Paddy has seen you kind comments, he was delighted! Many thanks. Hopefully you may have the opportunity to enjoy the full facilities and service of The North Star Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    936
    440
    193
    149
See reviews for
402
1,090
105
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We travelled to Dublin from the UK and stayed in this hotel for two nights from the 29th July and were incredibly impressed.

We travelled from the airport via the airport link bus service into the city and were able to get off nearly right outside the hotel. We arrived before ten in the morning and the very polite staff on reception allowed us to leave a bag until our check-in time.

We decided to explore immediately, and found the main tourist and shopping area of Dublin began within a five minute walk, the location of the hotel seemed to be fantastic. We loved the city itself and there was plenty to explore.

When we returned to the hotel (an hour earlier than our check-in time), our room was already ready. Our room (271, I think), had two single beds and a double although we had only booked a double, but it did mean that we had ample space. We both liked the decor, the television was not brand new but it was a good size - we barely used it anyway since there was so much to go out and do. The bathroom was very clean and tidy, and fairly modern. The window in our room was less than thirty metres from the Dart train, and we cannot understand what other reviewers are moaning about. You could barely hear it with the window closed, and it seemed to have stopped by the time we came back to the room each night.

Our room also had free aircon and a free safe.

Our package included the breakfast, which is self-service, full-English and continental style food, all of which was great.

The room was cleaned and our bed made up while we were out.

Reception staff helped us with directions and provided us with a map on one occasion and were very helpful and polite - I really felt for them, seeing how impolite people could be toward them over the slightest problem (particularly fellow Brits and Americans).

We did not book direct and did plan on paying for the wi-fi, our only slight disappointment was that it seemed to be extortionately expensive, so we didn't bother, there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and fast food places where you can use it for free.

We loved the hotel and were really impressed and felt that it was great value for money. We would love to come back again, and if we come back to Dublin we will definitely.

Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Delighted to read that The North Star hotel exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

FREE wireless internet if you book directly......yes, it is free, but it doesn't work unless you are in the resident lounge. We tried using it in our room, but it only worked for about a minute at a time.....kind of difficult to search for near by activities.
Reservation made for 4 people, only 3 towels in room. Had to ask for another set every evening!
Fitness center was flooded. Right next to train station, so it was very loud at times.
Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Bartenders were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review although I do regret to read you were not 100% satisfied. I apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with Wifi, I do hope our team were helpful in assisting you. As I explained in previous response we did experience some water damage to our gym during a recent change in weather conditions and were forced to close our gym facilities in the interest of our guests safety.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked our late July reservations in March as a part of a Groupon tour. When we arrived, they put us in a room that was literally under a commuter train track! When we asked to be moved, they were of course were completely booked and that was the only room left! Strange as we made our reservations so long ago but ... guess what? We could upgrade to a premium suite for 20 euro per night and they just so happen to have one of those rooms available! As a bonus, this room would have free wireless internet! The room was very nice and no way we could sleep with the train noise so we paid the 40 euro for two nights. What do you know? The internet does not work in that room! They allege they would have it fixed but of course never did... I cannot believe this was a coincidence.

And by the way, the fitness center just so happen to flood the night before we arrived. It may have, but I have a hard time believing that given the prior experience.

If you can, stay somewhere else. If you can't make certain you have a room reserved that is not near the train tracks...GUARANTEED, and don't count on internet use.

By the way don't eat in the restaurant. The portions are absurdly small and overpriced.

Room Tip: Away from the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mark O,

We did a very successful promotion with Groupon with included accommodation in an Executive room, and upgrade to one of our Premier Rooms was optional. I can only assume that our executive floors were full depending on which dates you stayed as had our reception team been able to you most certainly would have been offered an alternative Executive room. Dublin city has experienced some flash flooding and poor weather conditions following our spell of hot weather. Our gym is location on a lower level of the building and did incur some water damage forcing us to close the facilities for a number of days in the interests of our guests health and safety. I profusely apologise that you were disappointed with stay.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the North Star hotel a number of times over the last few years all of my stay was excellent
It's very close to the city centre area and nearby bus and train station
The bar McCoy's was very cheat for a evening meal also the hotel is very reasonable price wise

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear William H,

I note your last visit with us was in December 2013, hopefully you will have the opportunity in the near future to revisit with us and experience our new Cookhouse & Bar which launched in Spring 2013.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice and I will stay here any time I plan a trip to Dublin. 3 minute walk from Busaras and directly across the road from Connolly station. The first time we stayed here it was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. It was a double room, a little dated but done the job! The second time was on the first floor at the front of the hotel. It was a double room again but a lot more modern and comfortable. More noise at the front with window open but they are well sound proofed and we had no problem sleeping! We stayed here for a concert in the O2 (the hotel offer a shuffle bus to and from the O2 during major shows for a fee of around ( euro) The second time we stayed here was for a concert in Phoenix park and it is within walking distance to the nearest bus to the park on O'Connell street. Very convenient for people wanting to stay in the heart of the city. Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room and around 7.50euro for a hot buffet breakfast. Comfortable beds. Worth the money. Definitely staying here again when I'm in dublin next!

Room Tip: The front rooms are more modern and comfortable than at the back of the hotel. I enjoyed my stay mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear TaraConnolly,

Thank you for choosing The North Star Hotel on your Dublin visits. I'm sure over the duration of your visits you will have noticed the huge improvements due to our recent refurbishments. Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge if they can be of any assistance to you in planning your next visit. concierge@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester,sc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Really enjoyed having an evening drink and talking to the bartenders. This hotel is very clean, next door to the O'Connell train station. You are within walking distance of the city center, shops, restaurants/ pubs. We spent a little more money when we booked our room for the full Irish breakfast, which was very enjoyable. It included breads, jams, eggs, sausages,ham, potatoes,beans,a mixed fruit bar, cold cut meats, crereals, yogurts, several different kinds of juices and I'm sure I'm not mentioning some things. We did have dinner in the restaurant one night anditvwas very good. There was a conciere in the lobby who could give advise if needed. I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, there was no negatives about it. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank black_lab_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

As always we greatly appreciate the recommendations of our guests, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#115 of 151 in Dublin
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,438 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beresford Hotel
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing