We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Dublin”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Dublin, just across the road from the main railway station and a short walk from all city centre attractions. Very comfortable and well-equipped rooms. Be aware there's some noise from the very close railway line if your room is at the back of the hotel, but we were too tired to be worried by it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, away from the railway, if you think the noise will keep you awake.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiftworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
There are newer reviews for North Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights with a friend of mine this March and I cannot find another word to describe our stay, except amazing! People at the reception and at the bar were always very helpful, giving us tips of where best to go and how to go there! All were very friendly making sure that we feel mostly welcomed and at home! Food there was pretty amazing too! Rooms were also always clean! In my opinion, it is also located in a good area too, even though some locals did not agree! But we never found any problems, it's within walking distance from most of Dublin's touristic locations, and there's the O'Connelly station just across the street!

I am recommending this hotel to my Maltese friends, and will definitely visit again myself, hopefully in the near future :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustineMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have just got back from a three day stay at the north star hotel with my partner. The check in was very proffesional and we was given a free upgrade- extremely nice gesture of the hotel! The room was immaculate, really big beds, spotless bathroom, large tv on the wall, free to use safe, tea and coffee constantly replaced! It was in an ok location- about a fifteen minute walk to the temple bar area! If you want something bang in the centre, then maybe this hotel isn't for you! But we didn't mind the walk! The staff was lovely, so helpful! If i return to Dublin again, then I would definitly consider going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie_mason_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March 2013.
Upon check-in, the staff is VERY helpful, kind and professional. We stayed in a premier suite on the 7th floor and was happy with our room. Minor interior details were noticeable by both of us...such as, the carpet and sliding door not meeting (cement was noticeable), the toilet paper handle was broke and lastly the telephone ringer DID NOT ring which was only noticed when our wakeup calls never came through. I suggest always checking the phone once you check-in to make sure the phone works.....at ANY hotel worldwide. : )
The bartenders at the hotel bar were friendly and helpful to the tourist. FREE wifi in the hotel bar when you purchase a drink....GUINESS baby....
The hotel is located in from what locals say "not the best" area but we NEVER found that to be a problem. Oconnelly station train is located directly across the street which we took to HOWTH for fresh seafood on the water. A must!
Please stay away for the Chinese restaurant (hole in the wall) located a few feet away on Amiens Street. It is called, WOK on INN. They OVER USE MSG and made us all ill for about 6 hours.
For the most part, the hotel is pleasant for your stay while visiting Dublin.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Premier Suite where you get a KING bed and also a small balcony. They offer a p...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our 4th time staying in the North Star Hotel.

We live in 3 hours from Dublin so our only option if we want to go to anything that is on in Dublin (eg Concerts) is to stay up there and we are delighted to have found the North Star.

It is in an ideal location within walking distance of the O2, Croke Park and O'Connell Street. Connolly Rail and Luas station are directly across the road with Busars just around the corner. We usually get the bus to the Red Cow Luas and get the Luas straight into Connolly which as I said was across the road.

The rooms are always clean and even though we have only ever stayed 2 nights they have always been cleaned mid stay.

We have not had breakfast at the hotel but have had lunch and dinner both of which have been excellent.

The staff have always been very helpful and friendly.

I have and will always recommend the North Star to all my family and friends

Room Tip: A room facing Croke Park
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for the Notre Dame/Navy game. Great breakfast included with the stay. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Lots of local places to shop and plenty of little joints to eat at. I had a great meal around the corner at a Shish Kabab place and had a nice conversation with both patrons and employees. The North Star Hotel has a great bar and quite the array of beer and liquor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyBallgame24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from a two night Easter break at the North Star and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out we couldnt find fault with this hotel. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, a real credit to the hotel. Rooms have been recently refurbished and are beautiful, and more importantly they are spotless! Could hear the trains on occasion but this was not intrusive and as we were out during the day this was never an issue.

Breakfast was very nice, plenty available and all hot and well prepared. The hotels bar is also very nice and reasonably priced.

Hotel is in a great location and is only a ten minute walk to the centre.

If you are looking for a clean, welcoming and central hotel this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Always a pleasure to read that our guests are confident in recommending The North Star Hotel based on their own experience with us. Thank you kindly for your review.

Regards,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#97 of 150 in Dublin
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $142 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing