We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Very Friendly but Hotel badly in need of improvement”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Staff Very Friendly but Hotel badly in need of improvement”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I found the reception staff lovely and was greeted with smiles. After requesting a quiet room, I was given Room 350 which I was pleasantly surprised was at the very end of a corridor away from noise. Unfortunately I did not get any sleep due to the noise outside, the window was not sound proof, and I could even hear a lady walking by in high heels. I was extremely disappointed and extremely tired the next day! Beware and take your own hairdryer as I can honestly say it is the worst hairdresser I ever had to use in any hotel, I left with a very tired head and messy hair as was unable to dry it properly with the low heat... I ate in the residents lounge as they were doing renovations to the main bar, food was very average and lacked any variety for vegetarians. Though I have to mention the bar man was lovely and very hospitable. Would not stay here again due to being unable to get any sleep with the noise outside.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 350!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicelady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I am disappointed to read that you left us with such a dissatisfied experience. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your esteem, it would be my pleasure if you you contact me directly when booking and I will ensure that your next experience with us is to the high standards we set ourdelves. rhona@northstarhotel.ie

Kind regards,
Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    925
    425
    190
    143
See reviews for
394
1,069
102
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for one night and was very impressed. Doesn't look great from the outside but the inside is lovely, really surprised at how big the room was, all very clean and really comfy bed and modern bathroom. The staff are very friendly as helpful and the restaurant is quite good. The bar isn't great as it's a bit make-shift. The area is very handy for the central train and bus stations and fine for walking to the shopping area during the day although it's not a great area for walking around at night as it's a bit rough, and too long a walk to the pubs and clubs for girls wearing heels!

Room Tip: We stayed in the new 'premier suites', I don't know what the other rooms are like but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Irelan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on a study visit to Dublin with a group. Perfect location for excessing the city, rooms were spacious, clean and modern.
Our group had dinner there which was exceptional, breakfast was also good. The best attribute of this hotel are the staff, every member was extremely helpful and brought a professional touch to every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymc9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was pleasant to stay in this hotel. Everybpody was friendly and ready to help.
The breakfast was good and sufficient. The rooms (for 4 persons) are simple.
I will be stay again anytime. Thank you for all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night! The room was large and spotless, the bed the comfiest I have ever slept in. From the outside it does not do itself justice, because once inside its comfort all the way. Breakfast was of a very high standard with a selection of fruit, nine cereals and a very good hot buffet!
Only negitive was the bar is closed for renovations, when we arrived the residents lounge was open but later in the evening this was closed and the option was to have a drink in a dingy room down stairs, we declined!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahubbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the North Star for two nights 19th & 20th Jan for my 22nd Birthday, it was our first time to Dublin & first impressions were great, location fab just far enough down from O'Connell street to be away from noise. Bus service to and from the airport easy, cheap and reliable.
We had a premier club room on the 7th floor with a balcony (which we later found not so great as the people in the room next door to us were out smoking, shouting, dancing on it at 3am which woke us up on the first night)..however the room was beautiful, the bed was so comfy and the shower was amazing!
The hotel itself is decorated lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful with loads of information on what to do and see, we didn't catch the gentlemans name that helped fill us in on the best way to get around and what there is to see but he is a real asset to the hotel.
We had room service on the first night, it was very quick and the food was beautiful highly recommend the stone baked pizza!
Unfortunately the only thing that slightly ruined our stay was on the second night at 2.30am the fire alarms went off because someone intelligent was smoking in their non smoking room, we understand this isn't really the hotels fault but it did ruin a lovely stay and lovely nights sleep as by the time it stopped we couldn't go back to sleep as we had to get up at 3.30am to get ready to go the airport, the staff on reception were very apologetic & we understand it was just one of those things (hope the idiot smoking in his room was fined in some way for waking everyone up I expect the hotel did a lot of apologising to guests for his error).
Other than that Loved dublin will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Train station is in front of the hotel it may bother some guests although we found it ok as no train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

cheap and cheerful.. very clean...only downfall was the member of housekeeping who walked into our room at half eight in the morning.lol.. we stayed here for a concert in the o2... there was an organised return shuttle bus from the hotel.for 7.50 but we walked it in 20 mins happily enough. very comfortable clean rooms lovely showers great location. went for brekky next morning around the corner in a BONZA PIES. got pancakes. yum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the concert. I apologise profusely that you were disturbed in the morning and will bring this to our accomodation managers attention. I do hope on your next visit you will try our breakfast, which has something for everyones taste and a varied selection at excellent value.

Kind regards,
Rhona,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.6 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Property: North Star Hotel
Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing