We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money.”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 15, 2013

cheap and cheerful.. very clean...only downfall was the member of housekeeping who walked into our room at half eight in the morning.lol.. we stayed here for a concert in the o2... there was an organised return shuttle bus from the hotel.for 7.50 but we walked it in 20 mins happily enough. very comfortable clean rooms lovely showers great location. went for brekky next morning around the corner in a BONZA PIES. got pancakes. yum.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear valued guest,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the concert. I apologise profusely that you were disturbed in the morning and will bring this to our accomodation managers attention. I do hope on your next visit you will try our breakfast, which has something for everyones taste and a varied selection at excellent value.

Kind regards,
Rhona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
There are newer reviews for North Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the North Star Hotel over Easter weekend last year and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and our room was a decent size. The only downside to our stay was that a train line ran directly behind our room and the early morning trains were a bit of a problem on the Saturday morning, but not so much on the Sunday morning. This would not be the case in all areas of the hotel and had we stayed in a different room I think that we would have given a rating of 5! We ate in the restaurant on our first night and had an enjoyable meal, although the selection was a little limited - we put this down to it being Good Friday though! I believe there is a normally wider range of choices available. The breakfasts were super - a good selection of hot and cold food, all of which was very fresh and tasty. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is a very central and convenient location, both for arriving by train and for getting around the city. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klavier21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Great to read you so enjoyed your stay with us at The North Star Hotel. Although a very limited number of rooms are located close to the train line I regret that you did not bring to our attention that you were inconvenienced, were it possible we would have promptly offered you an alternative room. I am surprised that our evening menu seemed limited, I certainly will raise the point with our Head Chef. As a hotel which is open all year round we would hope to have a range of choices suitable to each of our guests each evening.

On your next visit I am confident you will enjoy the improvements and refurbishments we have undergone since your last visit mid 2012.

Kind regards,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was exactly what u new at a great price. The location is great and the luas is right across the road . The rooms were clean and had everything we needed . The food was good in the restaurant just one slight complaint the burger was over done , the stir fry on the other hand was very good. I would definitely return to this hotel again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snazzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Snazzle12,

I am pleased to read our location was so convenient to your requirement. I apologise your meal was not completely to your satisfaction and have passed your comments to our Head Chef.

Thank your for taking the time to make your review,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having just returned with my Wife from our 3rd break in this Hotel, We both agree that it's even better now than before. There have been major renovation work throughout, still not completed, but soon will be. The room we had was a standard room, it was excellent, plenty of room, very clean and comfortable, the only thing we missed was a digital clock radio. We had a TV and of course tea/ coffee making facilities with plenty of supplies left each morning. Good shower and bath all very clean too. No complaints re the breakfast, good choice of cereal etc. We chose the porridge every morning, it was excellent. Then the full Irish Breakfast served HOT and very appetising, no cold eggs, sausages, bacon here. All the staff are lovely, very friendly and helfpful, right from the Manager to the cleaners. We would definitely return and highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Harrmole,

Indeed we have undergone significant refurbishments and it is great to read the improvements are being so well recieved, particularly by our regular guests. We do not have digital clocks as standard in our rooms however, I would be delighted if you would contact me or any member of our management team prior to your next visit and we will endeavour to as always meet our guests requirements.

Kind regards,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We managed to see everything we wanted to thanks to the hotel staff that told us the best ways of getting around Dublin, also the staff were very helpful at saying how we could save money and time getting to and from the various places. In the three days that we were in Dublin we managed to see the Guinness factory, Jameson Whiskey Distillery, Wax works, Dublina, river dance show, Killmanham Prison, Red bus tour and lastly Oliver! the musical. I think without the amazing staff and fantastic transport in Dublin this would not have been possible.
The breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice. We all said it set us up for the long days of sight seeing!! The rooms were lovely and the cleaners were brilliant. Would definately consider staying here again when in Dublin.

Room Tip: If you want rooms together the hotel is very accomodating with this.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that we at The North Star Hotel were able to enhance your Dublin experience. Although you certainly did manage to see alot in the short time you were here in Dublin our concierge would be delighted to help you maybe plan your next trip, I can assure you there is plenty more to see and do!

Thank you for your generous comments,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just wanted to say a MASSIVE thank you to the bar staff at the North Star....Paddy, Shawn, Keith, John and the new fella (Paul I think his name is!). Each and every year we descend on the hotel and pretty much take it over. Each and every year we are greeted by the warmest of welcomes by the staff who have, after all these years become an integral part of Vibe time. The work soooo hard for us, are extremely patient and work till they barely stand. These guys sure do know how to keep thier customers happy. Both they, and we, know what to expect around the 4th Jan and to be honest, we look forward to seeing the guys almost as much as seeing the band! These guys have become like friends to us regulars over the years and I for one, am truly grateful for thier proffessional attitude and cheary demeanor! Till the next one guys....have a great year! Much love, Lucy xxx

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucynbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

To all of our 'Vibe' Guests,

I would like to express on behalf of the entire team at The North Star Hotel a massive thank you for all of the kind comments and positive feedback we have recieved from your recent stay with us. It is an absolute pleasure to welcome you all back each year and one which I can positively say the team look forward to. Hopefully we may welcome you back throughout 2013 and will forward to the 2014 Vibe for Philo!

Kind regards,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just want to thank the wonderful and patient bar staff, Keith, Shawn, John, Paddy and new boy Paul for their wonderful bar-tending skills (into the wee small hours) right through the four/five long days of the Vibe For Philo, also a big thank you to all the hotel/reception staff who look after the Vibers on a yearly basis - as you all know, you've become the Vibe HQ over the past few years, and we all look forward to seeing you every January - thanks guys, for everything!!!

Room Tip: there's no pool or spa at the North Star - hence the low rating - everything else just great cra...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VibeHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#97 of 150 in Dublin
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $142 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing