We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”
Review of North Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Star Hotel
Ranked #63 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My recent visit to the North Star Hotel was only for a couple of nights and i really enjoyed it. Its situated smack bang in the centre of Dublin. Which is what i wanted, it wasnt near Temple Bar but that was only about 15 mins walk away. Ideal for the Connolly Train station which was literally over the road. So i was able to jump on the Dart train for a day out to Howth which was only coppers to pay. The bus station and tram was only 2 mins away too. I'd definately return to the North Star Hotel and may i also had that upon my arrival, my checking in time wasnt until 2pm. But they let me into my room at 10.30am!! and at no extra charge.This is a brill gesture to someone who had just arrived in a strange city and had been travelling since 5.30am that morning. The rooms where clean, welcoming and homely, short and sweet........... i loved it :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, brilliant to read that your experience with The North Star Hotel was so enjoyable. Just a tip for next time you stay with us, check out our website, we regularly update with special offers. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for the Nicki Minaj Concert on 05/11/12. Arrived and I don't know why people complained about having to go upstairs to reception when there is only about 6 steps.. Such nice interior and such nice and friendly staff! We got our room cards not a problem, rooms were lovely, two tvs in the room, a balcony, a safe, a fridge, an ironing board and an iron, and two sinks and the comfiest bed ever!! Could live in it no problem! Also woman at reception was so hot (Brown hair and glasses..) Breakfast the next morning was beautiful. They also do room service to 3am! Only complaint is that I only booked one night wish I had stayed a few more nights! Don't know why people complained about trains either I only heard about 3 or 4 of them they don't wake you from your sleep but you do hear them if you were awake! But after all you are in Dublin city! Thank you North Star hotel!!

Room Tip: I got the "Jonathan Swift" Room... Superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Aine47,

As always, we very much appreciate our guests taking the time to leave their feedback. Hope you enjoyed the concert and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rhona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here when attending concerts in the o2, normally there is a shuttle bus running to the gigs, but this time there wasn't due to low demand, but there was a taxi rank right across from the hotel which was handy. Had a lovely room,109 I think. It looked like it was just newly refurbished. The room was to the front of the hotel, there was noise from the road but that didn't bother us. A continental breakfast was included in our package, but we didn't avail of it as we had to catch a flight home. Ordered of the room service menu, was very nice. Only thing that was wrong was there was no phone in our room so had to order the room service down at reception,but that wouldn't put me of staying here again. Will stay here again as its a good location for exploring the city and getting to the o2.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdreShiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Deirdre,

Apologies that the shuttle service was not available the evening you stayed wit us, I can assure you it is very rare that we do not have the shuttle available. Yes, 109 is one of our recently refurbished rooms, I am pleased to say we are nearing completion of the refurbishment of all of our rooms. Just to note for your next visit - there is no problem with booking an early continental breakfast which can be served to your room at a time of your choosing.

Thank you,
Rhona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is located just across the street from the train station which was very handy since we were back packing. It was also a pleasant walk into areas that we wanted to visit, including Trinity College and Temple Bar. However, the thing that I'll always remember is that en route from the airport to the hotel (via a city bus just outside the airport) I forgot a small bag. After a few hours touring, I returned to the hotel and the concierge had located my bag and returned it to me. Wow! That was a great welcome into what I came to find as a very, very friendly and warm city.

A cab driver reported that this was not a good neighborhood, but it certainly worked out well for our overnight visit so that we could easily board the train the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStarhotel, Manager at North Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Elizabeth,

Hope you enjoyed Ireland! I am pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality of The North Star Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rhona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the street the hotel doesn't look much but we were given a very warm welcome and the problem of the dozen or so steps up to the reception was overcome by a porter who immediately took our cases to our rooms. We had no problem with noise despite the proximity of the railway lines. Our rooms were clean although the decor was a bit tired. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. The bar, which is pub like, was an interesting place to finish the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0 mi away
The Address at Dublin 1
The Address at Dublin 1
#94 of 152 in Dublin
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.5 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#40 of 152 in Dublin
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 152 in Dublin
4,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 152 in Dublin
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Amiens Street | Dublin 1, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $125 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is also complimentary water & hot beverages available 24hrs in our Premier Club Lounge on Level 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Hotel - Premier Club Dublin
North Star Hotel Dublin
Northstar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing