We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon, fantastic location - good hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #81 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful honeymoon, fantastic location - good hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I booked six nights at Arlington Temple Bar for our honeymoon in mid-September for less than $600. We were really pleased with the hotel overall, especially after arriving as weary newlyweds coming off a trans-Atlantic flight; the staff at reception let us check in immediately rather than making us wait until a certain check-in time, which was incredibly appreciated.

Our room was on the second floor facing Lord Edward Street. I had read complaints about the street noise for rooms on the street-side of the hotel, but my husband and I really weren't bothered at all. Ambulances go by the hotel frequently, but we didn't find it to be obnoxiously loud or unbearable by any means. We slept most nights with the window open even and weren't bothered at all.

The room definitely had a little wear and tear - a little peeling paint on the ceiling in the bathroom, and the shower knob was very stiff and hard to turn (so much so that I was unsure how to turn it off and had to call the front desk, but a staff member responded to our room immediately and graciously showed us how to turn it off).

The elevator was a bit touchy. It made me nervous a couple times when it lurched going between the ground and first floor, and when it would open the doors on the first floor rather than the second where our room was, we took it as a sign to take the stairs. The elevator was out of service the morning we left, which was inconvenient when we had two large suitcases to take down two flights of stairs, but it certainly wasn't unbearable.

The bed linens were clean and comfortable - unfortunately the beds were not very comfortable. Our room had two twin beds on either side of a full bed (which gave us a very generously sized room, as far as European hotels go), and we layered the duvets from the twin beds onto our full bed. The housekeeping staff was attentive and thoughtful enough to notice that we had attempted to make the bed a little more comfortable for ourselves and even made our bed with the extra duvets on top after servicing the room. Additionally, they left us extra tops sheets when they noticed we had pulled up the sheet to sleep under when the duvet was too warm.

We enjoyed meals at the hotel regularly - my husband really liked their full Irish breakfast and raved about the bangers and mash. Their general menu is fairly reasonably priced, and has good variety. We didn't partake in the 29.95 dinner menu offered every night - we were more than happy with their general menu. There are plenty of other dining options in the area, including nice little cafes and restaurants down Dame Street, and only 5 minutes from central Temple Bar which of course is teeming with places to eat and drink.

Dublin is easy to traverse on foot, but one of the hop-on hop-off buses does stop almost immediately across from the hotel, which was incredibly convenient, and several Dublin buses stopped just outside of the hotel as well.

Incredibly accessible, very good value, and worth the slight discomfort of stiff mattresses. We had a great and very memorable honeymoon, and neither of us would change a thing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twomagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    632
    323
    95
    58
See reviews for
162
665
74
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Well, it turns out the same hotel is actually 2 seperate buildings, about a 20 min walk to the other one! Make sure you show up a the right one. There is no parking, good luck finding a garage, it isn't easy. There is lots to see nearby and lots to eat. We had a fun time walking around the surroundings. The windows in the room are a bit loose, so the room was very noisy from the busy street below. Nothing fancy here, but great location. Dublin was fun, the hotel was average.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is my third trip to Dublin, and I always visit the Arlington Hotel Bar. Just a stone's throw from the thick of the temple bar area opposite Dublin Castle.
An interesting mix of revellers from all around the world equally matched by the number of Irish that call this bar their local make the evening a diverse patchwork of converstation and laughs.

Everynight there is a genuine irish session of music and equally entertaining banter with the crowd from Brendan and the boys. Engaging everyone in the audience to feel a part of the experience - even taking song requests. Also a display of traditional irish dancing between the toe tapping fiddle playing, but the true drawcard is the fabulous live music and legendary Ithe Irish charm from the band. Listening to the Legends of Tara perform at the Arlington Hotel is a definate for any visit to the fair city of Dublin.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Our trip to Ireland from Newport Beach, Caiifornia was a graduation present to my son and his girlfriend....their first movie together was PS I Love You. This was a dream come true to ''them". We did not stay at the hotel. I just went in to the hotel's pub the first night of our stay in Ireland, when my son and his girlfriend went to clubs.

My first night in Ireland was a dream come true to" me"....I walked in and graviated to the tables as I listened to the band....it brought back my love of Ireland and the incredible hospitality of the Irish. I had been to Ireland in 1980 and 1981. The band was so engaging..the comedy, the music and the genuine talent of Brendan Lynch to make a stranger feel welcome with his fiddling and his conversation with the audience.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Hotel was very central to Temple Bar area with bus stop right outside. Room was comfortable and reception staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac055Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We(myself and 2 mates) arrived late on fri evening and was greeted by very friendly receptinist checking in was made easy.We booked a triple family room for 2 nights.It cost 258 euros ( £224 total) which was very very reasonable. The room was clean very large and smelt fresh!!
If I was to be fussy the bathroom was a bit tired decor wise but again very clean.
Flat screen tv and tea coffee facilitys 1double bed & 2 singles .
Even with a loud bar underneath us with irish dancing etc the room was still very quiet.
The bar (legends) was large and friendly with irish dancing every night.And self serve beer!!!
You are only 1min from temple bar itself which makes this hotel a fantastic location !!!!
Breakfast was varied and great value
Towels changed and rooms cleaned daily
Make sure you take loadsa money ,beers average at 5.5 euros a pint - the black stuff about 5 euros on average.We bought 3 single vodkas with 1 red bull and it cost ..........................24 euros !!!!!!!!! Which does take the p**s a bit !!!!!
DUBLIN what can I say ..... See you again ( and the hotel )

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roonie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Just perfect for whatever your doing in Dublin in the middle of everything you would possibly want to do in in Dublin!!! Walk to everything and great full breakfast is included and I mean a full breakfast not a lame continental one. If your going to Dublin book here and make sure it is this one in Temple Bar and then walk to everything( DO NOT RENT A CAR) or take the one day bus tour. !! Top of the Morning to you!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixilplix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: Lord Edward Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Arlington Hotel Temple Bar)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament offers three star accommodation in Temple Bar and is an ideally located Dublin City Centre hotel. Situated opposite Dublin Castle, on the doorstep of Temple Bar and just a short walk from such sights as Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephens Green, The O2, Museums, Theatres, Parliament Buildings and much more! This 3 star Dublin hotel offers a prime location making it one of the most conveniently located Dublin hotels in Temple Bar and a perfect place to stay while attending the many events in Dublin City. The Parliament Hotel consists of 63 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms for those seeking quality accommodation in Temple Bar. All rooms are non-smoking. This 3 star hotel Dublin has satellite TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press and much more, making The Parliament Hotel one of the finest 3 star hotels Dublin has to offer. For hotels Dublin city centre, look no further than The Parliament Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Parliament Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Parliament

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing