We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of TLC”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
County Durham
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“In Need of TLC”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel, the furnishings, decor and bedding where all very tired...the bathroom was tatty and old. The bottom sheet on our bed was as rough as could be !!
We arrived late as our flight was delayed and when I went to the reception to check in I was told that I must be in the wrong hotel as they where full ( obviously I wasn't !! ) no good evening or how was your trip !!
On positive points it was near to Temple Bar and our room was nice and quite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    663
    335
    101
    64
See reviews for
173
694
79
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed our last two nights in Ireland at this hotel because of the location to various sites we had yet to see and the Temple Bar attraction. We had stayed near Trinity College upon our arrival in Dublin at the beginning of our trip. Maybe most people arrive in a cab but we had our own rental car and drove twice around a few blocks of the city in order to find a place to park to check in as there is not a place in front and the traffic moves quickly. Nevertheless, we pulled over on the side street, checked in, and promptly moved our car to a parking garage about 1/4 mile down the road. The room was the smallest we had in the 7 nights of touring Ireland. Not easy to maneuver around the beds, desks and our two suitcases. Bathroom the same smallness. The mattress was extremely soft with no support. There is a wonderful Irish music and dance show in the hotel bar/lounge and we enjoyed that very much. Also loved the 'Queen of Tarts' restaurant about 50 feet from the door of the hotel. The MOST delicious scones with cream and jam.

Room Tip: Be persistent in asking for a larger room. Evidently, there are larger ones after reading Tripadvis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here just one night before our returning flight. We wanted to be close to Temple Bar as well as transportation to the airport in the morning. The bed in the room was large and comfortable, but there wasn't much room for luggage. We stayed toward the back of the hotel, but our windows opened up to the alley. It was quiet, but we stayed on a Tuesday night. There were bums that gathered under our windows (but they weren't obnoxiously loud). Even so, the hotel was secure and in a central location. I imagine on the weekends and during summer, it could be loud. But the location is fabulous and the price makes it even better. Breakfast wasn't included. But you MUST try the Queen of Hearts next door. We visit that place every time we're in Dublin.

Room Tip: We were in room 118. It faced the alleyway. I'm not sure what the rooms across from us faced. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was an OK size. The mattress was hard (it was like sleeping on solid wood). The fan in the bathroom wasn’t working (and looked like it hadn’t been dusted in about a year). There was mould growing on the ceiling of the shower (probably because the fan was broken).

The hotel staff was super friendly. Breakfast was included in the stay and was very good; made to order! Location of the hotel was great. It was within walking distance to everything!! Temple Bar was just around the corner, but you are far enough away to not hear the noise. We walked to the Guinness Storehouse from the hotel and St. Stephen’s Green no problem. Hotel comes with free Wi-Fi, which was a bonus.

Dublin hotels are expensive, but I would suggest paying a bit more money and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked this hotel through travel republic and got a very good deal. Great location for Temple Bar and the other main attractions. It is worth booking the meal and Irish music/Dance show which is on seven nights a week. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if we returned to Dublin

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel, the front is a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAnn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had occasion to stay here for four nights, two each with two couples we know, who we were helping get acquainted with Dublin. Setting expectations: this is not a new hotel, not a large one. Both these facts were pluses to us. The staff were wonderful - supremely personable, helpful. available. The rooms though not palatial, were more than adequate, comfortable, cozy. The elevator was a treat, though the staircase was interesting as well, carpeted in a scarlet, patterned wall to wall that made it seem very broad. The included breakfast was the usual breads, fruit, juices, and so on, plus the very enjoyable "cooked" or "Irish" breakfast of eggs and your choice of bacon, ham, blood pudding, or sausage. I recommend the blood pudding, though forewarn the uninitiated, this may be an acquired taste. Try it once, at least, for sure! Of note: the hotel is across the street from a stop on the HopOn HopOff bus, which I strongly recommend for those on first visit to Dublin, and to veteran travelers as well - it covers a lot of ground, figuratively and literally as well. There is no more convenient nor economical way to get around Dublin than this bus. Tickets available from drivers on first entry. Lastly, the Arlington offers a very good show - Celtic Nights - in the Legends Bar (main floor of the hotel, and conducted in the same dining room as breakfasts). This can be seen as a dinner show, or you can forgo dining, and come a bit later, for the show alone. I strongly recommend taking the dining option: the food is (though not inexpensive [what is in Dublin?]) excellent, and the staff, once again, are wonderful. Reserve early, if you choose this option. STRONGLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel gives off a very "hostel-ish" vibe. They have "dinner and a show" every night (think shepard's pie and step dancing) - and even went so far as to solicit the guests to attend my slipping "invitations" under our door. The "king size" bed was two smaller ones pushed together. The bathroom was TINY (when the door was open is obstructed the shower and almost grazed the front of the toilet bowl). Breakfast was served in the bar area - we ate at a table with a Guinness tap in the middle.
That being said, the service was great. Everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful, even the waitresses at breakfast. The location is perfect for getting around the city - we literally walked everywhere. And if you're looking to try a lot of different beers, I believe the bar downstairs has one of the city's largest menus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,136 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 151 in Dublin
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: Lord Edward Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Arlington Hotel Temple Bar)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament offers three star accommodation in Temple Bar and is an ideally located Dublin City Centre hotel. Situated opposite Dublin Castle, on the doorstep of Temple Bar and just a short walk from such sights as Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephens Green, The O2, Museums, Theatres, Parliament Buildings and much more! This 3 star Dublin hotel offers a prime location making it one of the most conveniently located Dublin hotels in Temple Bar and a perfect place to stay while attending the many events in Dublin City. The Parliament Hotel consists of 63 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms for those seeking quality accommodation in Temple Bar. All rooms are non-smoking. This 3 star hotel Dublin has satellite TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press and much more, making The Parliament Hotel one of the finest 3 star hotels Dublin has to offer. For hotels Dublin city centre, look no further than The Parliament Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Parliament Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Parliament

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing