We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service and outdated...”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #81 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Slow service and outdated...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

What a shocking experience!! So, arriving 2 hours prior to published check in time, our group (3 people with 3 rooms booked) weren't expecting the rooms to be ready but were hoping! Especially as we'd tried to check in at the Arlington on the river and told we were at the wrong Arlington (yes, there are two!!)... Rooms weren't ready and as the rest of our group were booked at Blooms, we agreed to leave our bags there and come back when we'd had lunch. We went back at just before 3pm as our meeting was around the corner at 3, over 2 hours after leaving out bags, to be told our rooms still weren't ready! So we grabbed what we needed and headed back down the road... We went back after 6 when our meeting had finished, we had rooms!

So, my room was large, with two single beds pushed together to make a large double except it was designed as a twin room, the headboards were miles apart and the light switches found somewhere between the pillows! The net curtains were filthy and the hems torn and hanging off! The toilet roll holder was above the cistern, behind me, so I either needed to grab paper first or reach above and behind me!! The carpet was threadbare and stained as well! For €105 per night, excluding breakfast, I wish I chosen elsewhere!!

The breakfast was €9.90 each and paltry! The black and white puddings were the size of two €2 coins stacked on top of each other and the coffee was foul!

All in all, not a great experience of Dublin hostelry, again...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    652
    331
    99
    61
See reviews for
169
687
76
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is in a good central location (not far from Temple Bar) allowing us to explore all parts of the city by foot. We had the meal and dance which we enjoyed and would recommend to anyone who wants to see some traditional Irish dancing.
The hotel room was clean and reasonable sized, the only negative is the bathroom door did not close properly and the toilet seat was not attached. The reception staff where very helpful and made recommendations. We would stay there again as the location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent three nights here, it was low 20's, but the rooms were stinking hot. Had to sleep with windows open and our room was facing the street, it was very noisy. Pillows were like rocks. However plenty of space, clean and comforable.
Reception always seemed unhappy, checking in and out. Refused to ask for tours etc as staff seemed unhappy.
It's in a great location just far enough away from the noisy Temple bar, buses out the front and hop on hop off bus at front door as well!!
Breakfast staff were fantastic, great happy service and they make the best tea. Thanks to the breakfast staff.
Their is a pub as well downstairs.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Better hope it's not too hot and bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel but found it a great stop for food and drink. We returned later for the dinner and show. We were not disappointed. The dancers were excellent and the food was good. Make sure you reserve a table. Our friends had reserved for 2. My husband and the friend returned to add 2 more however, when we arrived they still only had us for a party of 2. The staff was accommodating and quickly found us a table for 4. We would have eaten breakfast the next day but we could not figure out how to get into the dining room as the outside doors were locked. Signs pointing out the proper entrance and times would have been welcome. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This review I feel is fair although I take some responsibility! We went away for just 2 nights to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. I spent quite a while looking on line and the Arlington seemed like the best value for money and also a good location. I booked over 30 days in advance so also got breakfast thrown in. Bargain.

The staff were helpful, breakfast was good, and the location pretty perfect. The room was not great. The smallest bathroom, with a pretty awful shower, both pressure wise and look. The window looked out to another building and it was loud. The paint was flaking off the frame and walls were thin could hear the constant running water of neighbours cistern.

I would stay again if it was for business (free wifi) or maybe a stag weekend, but if you are looking for a bit of romance I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorheadache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On arrival our bags were taken by a bell boy up to our room, we were on the 3rd floor nice spacious room and good size bathroom.

We walked everywhere, so many places so easy to find, the shops on Grafton & O'Connell Streets are good. Thoroughly recommend a trip to the Guinness factory, sampled my first pint!

Temple Bar itself was fab, what a wonderful atmosphere, so friendly!

The hotel was very central to everything, Irish breakfast was lovely although after a heavy night in Temple Bar it was difficult to stomach!!

Really can't wait to return to this hotel..fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is great - right in the heart of Temple Bar with the bus line going right by it. BUT if you are planning on staying here you have to have earplugs and enjoy a lot of party noise, especially on the weekends. It's a very noisy area anytime, but worse during the weekends. The rooms are a nice size, but it is an old hotel. It has the charm of an older hotel, but I don't think I would go back because of the noise.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peakbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,124 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 151 in Dublin
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: Lord Edward Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Arlington Hotel Temple Bar)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament offers three star accommodation in Temple Bar and is an ideally located Dublin City Centre hotel. Situated opposite Dublin Castle, on the doorstep of Temple Bar and just a short walk from such sights as Grafton Street, Trinity College, Stephens Green, The O2, Museums, Theatres, Parliament Buildings and much more! This 3 star Dublin hotel offers a prime location making it one of the most conveniently located Dublin hotels in Temple Bar and a perfect place to stay while attending the many events in Dublin City. The Parliament Hotel consists of 63 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms for those seeking quality accommodation in Temple Bar. All rooms are non-smoking. This 3 star hotel Dublin has satellite TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press and much more, making The Parliament Hotel one of the finest 3 star hotels Dublin has to offer. For hotels Dublin city centre, look no further than The Parliament Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Parliament Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Parliament

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing